Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Tau player with poor record, looking forward to using this forum
Old 25 Jun 2007, 20:27   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Tau player with poor record, looking forward to using this forum

Hi all! I joined over the weekend when I sought some feedback on a recent army list I put together (thanks, Xan!). A quick blurb about me:

I began playing 40K at the same time the first Tau codex was released, and I decided to play Tau because it was the newest (I had been told the newer the codex, the juicier the options) and it was a mobile, shooty army type. I value ranged attacks over assault just on the basic principles of the 40K game design, and mobility is a big part of that.
My friends/opponents (whom I have been playing RPGs with for 25+ years now) are long-time players, some going back to rogue-trader days. We do a regular sports-season-like extended tourney with everyone in the area, and we get together once a year in central California for a weekend long tourney (so that those who have moved to less-fortunate areas can join in - it's sort of a gamers reunion, with many casualties).

With my first Tau army attempts, I did not have a lot of luck. First, I was not experienced and built my lists on limited understanding of how the stats were applied. Second, Tau requires a finesse of strategy that did not match well with my playing style (as a beginner) or my experience - if that is not redundant.

After a couple of years, I switched to playing Chaos SM, mainly Slaanesh-oriented forces. I like the versatility, the models' variety, the daemonettes and the sonic weaponry. I was much more successful.

Now I am switching back to Tau for a while. I think markerlight changes, the piranahs, the addition of advanced stabilization systems and more XV8 wargear variety has enticed me. Who can get enough of move-fire-move?