Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

They have it all?!
Closed Thread
Old 26 Aug 2005, 17:36   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 71
Default They have it all?!

My friend is a daemonhunters player and i don't think he is using them quite right.
he only uses grey knights and an assassin and 2, 5 man storm trooper squads. why 2, 5 man squads of storm troopers? to fill up the mandatory 2 troop choices so he can put his grey knights in his fast attack choice and deep strike. however this is not what I'm here to complain about i have a few questions about the daemonhunters.

1. Do all greyknights get access to the armoury? my friend says they do because nowhere does it say they can't and it doesn't say they can so I've let him give his guys wargear. but I'm tired of losing!!!! my friend is a do whatever it takes to win kinda guy, which pisses me off!!! he doesn't have the rule book so he doesn't know the most important rule have fun!! and says under that rule that nobody likes someone who tries to win at all costs

any way if greyknights do have access or don't to the armoury, where does it say?

Thank you

P.S. I'm not bagging on how cheap daemonhunters are
__________________
"All to hell we must sail,
for the shore of sweet Barbados,
where the sugar grain grows tall
and the god we once believed in,
the butcher and his crown
raped the land we used to sleep in,
and tomorrow chimes the ghostly crimes
that haunt tobacco island."
~Flogging Molly, Tobacco Island

www.floggingmolly.com
14th cadre is offline  
Old 26 Aug 2005, 17:47   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec
Posts: 80
Send a message via MSN to Xygenic
Default Re: They have it all?!

Only the Justicar in the GK squad can purcahse wargear...not the whole sqaud!
__________________
We all live to die another day.
Xygenic is offline  
Old 26 Aug 2005, 18:04   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 71
Default Re: They have it all?!

Do you know where in the codex it says that?
__________________
"All to hell we must sail,
for the shore of sweet Barbados,
where the sugar grain grows tall
and the god we once believed in,
the butcher and his crown
raped the land we used to sleep in,
and tomorrow chimes the ghostly crimes
that haunt tobacco island."
~Flogging Molly, Tobacco Island

www.floggingmolly.com
14th cadre is offline  
Old 26 Aug 2005, 18:29   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 876
Default Re: They have it all?!

It doesn't say that.. the point is it ONLY says the Justicar can.. its a given that the others can't.. oi.. powergamer cheaters...

Look, page 29. Under Grey Knights, Character:

"The Justicar may be given any equipment allowd from the Daemonhunters Armoury."
__________________
.:Veteran of Agrippina, Cadia and Medusa:.

Hail Olianus Pious! Patron Saint of the Imperial Guard! Savior of the Emperor!
Trillian_1369 is offline  
Old 26 Aug 2005, 22:23   #5 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: They have it all?!

Ah... he's using the old "It doesn't say I can't" routine...

okay then, next time he does that, give all your men Starcannons. After all, nowhere does it say you can't give every model a Starcannon...
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline  
Old 26 Aug 2005, 22:29   #6 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 67
Default Re: They have it all?!

on the DH codex armoury page, i believe page 16. in astrieks it speifically stats that grey knights in power armor (refering to justicars) can only take equipment from the daemonhunter armory from the "wargear" section, this means the justicars cannot take any weapons out of the armory.
__________________
nothing worse than headin out for a day of heretical no-no's only to have a big laser come down from orbit and blast your honda in half.
Madeinchina is offline  
Old 27 Aug 2005, 16:15   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Alachua, Florida
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to MalVeauX
Default Re: They have it all?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14th cadre
My friend is a daemonhunters player and i don't think he is using them quite right.
he only uses grey knights and an assassin and 2, 5 man storm trooper squads. why 2, 5 man squads of storm troopers? to fill up the mandatory 2 troop choices so he can put his grey knights in his fast attack choice and deep strike. however this is not what I'm here to complain about i have a few questions about the daemonhunters.

1. Do all greyknights get access to the armoury? my friend says they do because nowhere does it say they can't and it doesn't say they can so I've let him give his guys wargear. but I'm tired of losing!!!! my friend is a do whatever it takes to win kinda guy, which pisses me off!!! he doesn't have the rule book so he doesn't know the most important rule have fun!! and says under that rule that nobody likes someone who tries to win at all costs

any way if greyknights do have access or don't to the armoury, where does it say?

Thank you

P.S. I'm not bagging on how cheap daemonhunters are
A sad day... When someone cheats to make the Daemonhunters win, they don't deserve to even be known that they play the Ordo Malleus. Shame on him.

First of all, in WH, only a character will have access to the armory. Characters are defined in the codex entry of the unit. For Grey Knights, the Justicar is the character and he is mandatory. In the profile on the unit, it states that he can access the Amory. It's not that the codex doesn't say it, it's that the Rule Book says it and the codex doesn't need to restate it. And as mentioned, Justicars (the character) have limited access to the armory due to the grey knights in power armor rule on page 16 of the codex.

Now, what army are you playing?

It really pays to stay up to date on your 4th edition rules, because he may be doing all kinds of strange things that are not possible. The force you described is a decent one, but by not means something that should stomp you every game, unless your army or tactics just allow him too.

And if he doesn't have a rule-book, then probably 80% of what he's doing isn't actually legal I would suggest. If you have the rules, make notes of everything he does. Double check it later and let him know.

Otherwise, feel free to post situations and questions here and we can help you on them.

Cheers!
__________________
[table][tr][td][/td][td][table][tr][td] [/td][td]Apocalypse is the only way to forty-kay.[/td][/tr][/table][/td][/tr][/table]
MalVeauX is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On