Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Rules FAQ - Post Rules Questions Here
Reply
Old 12 Mar 2005, 15:57   #1 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Alachua, Florida
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to MalVeauX
Default Rules FAQ - Post Rules Questions Here

Before asking specific Questions, please refer to the latest official FAQs and updates from Games-Workshop:
[size=7pt]These FAQs can be found at GW's Chapter Approved Site[/size]

The latest update, for 4th Edition, is v4.00 on the website, but the actual PDF will actually be shown as v4.0.1 FAQ.

The following is covered should your answer involve one of these topics, if so, please refer to the appropriate FAQ to answer your question:
[list]
Special Rules Clarifications:
  • Mancatcher
  • Pintle-Mounted Storm Bolter
  • Holy Rage
  • Righteous Fury
  • Celestians
  • Seraphim and Saint Celestine
  • Penitent Engines
  • Strength in Solitude (Special Character Inquisitor Karamazov)
  • Psyocculum (major update*)
  • Sacred Standard
  • Psykers
  • Priests (major update*)
  • Immolators as Transport Choices
Second Print Run Changes:
  • Faith Points (major update*)

*Psyocculums now extend their ability to the entire squad, not just the Inquisitor--very helpful!
*Priests can be taken as an ally to another army to gain access to Arco-flaggalents!
*Faith Points are available in both Witch Hunter armies -and- other armies when taken as an ally.

If your question isn't covered here, or if it is still not clear, then post your question and keep it fairly specific if possible for clarity.

[size=7pt]*This may change as GW updates, so feel free to add information or request additions![/size]

__________________
[table][tr][td][/td][td][table][tr][td] [/td][td]Apocalypse is the only way to forty-kay.[/td][/tr][/table][/td][/tr][/table]
MalVeauX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Mar 2005, 15:33   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Alachua, Florida
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to MalVeauX
Default Re: Rules FAQ - Post Rules Questions Here

Question:

Can we take inducted Space Marines if an Exoricst is included in our army? It says it has Sisters of Battle as crew members, so wouldn't that prevent us from taking marines when we take this tank? Is this tank subject to any rules of the Adepta Sororitas?

Answer:

Here's the (un)official ruling from the Hobby Specialists at Games Workshop via email:

"Having checked the witch hunters codex (page 36 for the exorcist) then I can safely say that it is not a Adeptus Sororitas unit (as it lacks the Adeptus Sororitas special rule). As a result of this you can actually use the Exorcist in an army with allied Space Marines."

(*bold added by me for emphasis)

So feel free to take your Exoricst in any army you wish as long as Witch Hunters are the parent list. One more note, is that this is a rule, but the fluff and character is still on the sister's side and that's why it has a crew of sisters. But the rules are in place to allow us to have a single generic heavy choice without being restricted to special units or various allies or inducted units.
__________________
[table][tr][td][/td][td][table][tr][td] [/td][td]Apocalypse is the only way to forty-kay.[/td][/tr][/table][/td][/tr][/table]
MalVeauX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Mar 2005, 18:22   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greece
Posts: 87
Default Re: Rules FAQ - Post Rules Questions Here

Can a canoness, without having any retinue of her own, join an inquisitor and his retinue?
__________________
Give me a thousand men who are crazy enought to want to conquer hell and we will do it!
Manolis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Mar 2005, 20:38   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 2,232
Default Re: Rules FAQ - Post Rules Questions Here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manolis
Can a canoness, without having any retinue of her own, join an inquisitor and his retinue?
A Cannoness without a Retinue acts like an Independant Character, therefore entiltling her to join any squad you choose, including an Inquisistor and his Retinue...Am I correct, Mal?
Shasel_Aunat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Mar 2005, 21:36   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Alachua, Florida
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to MalVeauX
Default Re: Rules FAQ - Post Rules Questions Here

I believe you are correct. The only stipulation to keep characters from joining one another is if they are both lone characters (in which case they may not join together to form a unit). So in this case, so long as the Inquisitor has a retinue, the Heroine may join him.

Note, if a Heroine joins an Inquisitorial squad (or any squad for that matter) that are not Adepta Sororitas, she may -not- use her Acts of Faith to benefit the squad and this was confirmed with GW. So attaching her to a squad doesn't really help. She's better off near them, and taking advantage of her Independent Character Status instead.
__________________
[table][tr][td][/td][td][table][tr][td] [/td][td]Apocalypse is the only way to forty-kay.[/td][/tr][/table][/td][/tr][/table]
MalVeauX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Mar 2005, 14:57   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 789
Default Re: Rules FAQ - Post Rules Questions Here

But if she joins the Inquisitor and his retinue she can hitch hike in there transport right?
__________________
Order of the Purple Angel!!
Pontus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Mar 2005, 15:38   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Alachua, Florida
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to MalVeauX
Default Re: Rules FAQ - Post Rules Questions Here

Yes she can, so long as the total squad size fits in the transport (10 in a rhino, 12 in chimera, 10 in a landraider).
__________________
[table][tr][td][/td][td][table][tr][td] [/td][td]Apocalypse is the only way to forty-kay.[/td][/tr][/table][/td][/tr][/table]
MalVeauX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Apr 2005, 16:41   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 789
Default Re: Rules FAQ - Post Rules Questions Here

can I make a rules question about the mancatcher when we are at it? it "steals" an attack from a model within two inches? or in closecombat with the unit? it changed a bit with FAQ 4.01.
__________________
Order of the Purple Angel!!
Pontus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Apr 2005, 17:11   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Alachua, Florida
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to MalVeauX
Default Re: Rules FAQ - Post Rules Questions Here

Q: How does the mancatch work in combat?

A: The mancatcher is treated exactly as a "special close combat" attack in terms of 4th edition rules. That means, it can deny an enemy a single attack, to a minimum of one, so long as it is in base to base contact with an enemy model, or at least within 2 inches of a friendly model that is in base to base contact with an enemy model. Or in other words engaged in combat.

It was just updated so that people could refer to how special attacks are made in 4th, compared to how they work in 3rd really (since some people still by 3rd rules with the Witch Hunter codex). There was also a lot of debate since the codex says it requires base to base contact to work, but again, this is more of a 3rd edition rule--so the FAQ updates us to 4th edition, where mancatchers work like normal special close combat attacks and this makes them much better, much more versatile and much more attractive to take on your acolyte.
__________________
[table][tr][td][/td][td][table][tr][td] [/td][td]Apocalypse is the only way to forty-kay.[/td][/tr][/table][/td][/tr][/table]
MalVeauX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Apr 2005, 00:27   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lockport, NY USA
Posts: 127
Default Re: Rules FAQ - Post Rules Questions Here

I've got a couple of odd questions about psychers, their powers, and how they do or do not effect Sisters of Batte.

The Sisters receive a 5+ saving throw versus all psychic powers that target them. The question arises about psychic powers that are not attacks, but do potentially effect a Sisters unit. Specifically, the Grey Knights ability of the Shrouding. This is not an attack but is, as I understand it, a psychic effect. Do the Sisters get their save versus it? Or am I totally off base here?

Also, I've seen this subject touched on in other places but never clarified, does the Tyrannid army list contain any units that are considered to be psychers?
__________________
Thought for the Day: Comburo tibi comburo
Starchilde is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got some rules questions... Inqui General 40K 95 05 Jun 2009 00:05
Eldar FAQ and Rules Questions. Ask all Rules Questions HERE. sinfox Craftworld Eldar 181 30 Jul 2008 15:52
Chaos Rules FAQ - Ask Rules Questions Here Kre Mont re Forces of Chaos 295 05 Jun 2008 08:25
Rules FAQ - Post all rule questions here Lord Of War Necrons 13 20 May 2007 16:17
IG rules questions Skyblazer Imperial Guard 8 24 Sep 2005 09:41