Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Illegal army? maybe maybe not?
Closed Thread
Old 07 Aug 2005, 00:03   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to CommanderNightstalker Send a message via Yahoo to CommanderNightstalker
Default Illegal army? maybe maybe not?

I was playing a 750 pts battle with my Tau yesterday against some "Regimental Variant Guard." This isn't going to be a battle report however, but rather a legality query. Now, on to the good stuff! (or shady stuff, depending on your view). As I was playing, he told me that his Command Squad had Light Infantry skills/drills so he could infiltrate them during deployment: All fine and dandy. Then, when we rolled off and I got first turn, I moved all that I wanted to move and proceeded to the Shooting phase. It was then that he said, "My troops have Carapace Armor." That brought out a red flag. Being one of those crazy 40k players that takes the time to read through all Codices, I distinctly remember that under the Light Infantry rules, it says that it may not be combined with "Special Equipment: Carapace Armor."

Does that mean that the abillities cannot be stacked? or that you cannot select those 2 Doctrines in the same army? I was opting for the army bit, as light infantry wouldn't be sneaking about in Carapace armor. That's been bugging me ever since that battle. <.< so if someone could please resolve this dilemma so I can sleep better at night, that would be most appreciated.
__________________
"Duty. Honor. Vigilance. These are the three values that you of the Shas Caste should have burned within your hearts. To live these values is to be a Fire Warrior of Ta'ran. It is these values that set us apart from our Sept Brethren. With Duty, Honor, and Vigilance on our minds, nothing can stand in our way."

- Commander Nightstalker
CommanderNightstalker is offline  
Old 07 Aug 2005, 00:13   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8,901
Send a message via MSN to Jeff Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff
Default Re: Illegal army? maybe maybe not?

Your friend has used an illegal doctrine. Carapace cannot be combined by either Jungle fighters or Light infantry. He was able to however infiltrate his command squad however. But if somthing like this comes up and your unsure consult his codex. If he dosnt let you say all of your units have S10 T10 and a 2+ save. If he disagrees with this then tell him to show you his codex. If he still doesnt comply you should win that game by default.
__________________
Jeff is offline  
Old 07 Aug 2005, 00:28   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,807
Default Re: Illegal army? maybe maybe not?

Quote:
all of your units have S10 T10 and a 2+ save.
You forgot the most important part - also point out that your standard fire warriors carry submunition railguns.

You can't stack Carapace Armour and Light Infantry - he can roll saves all he wants, but feel free to knock off models for him.
AuinMyrrath is offline  
Old 07 Aug 2005, 00:37   #4 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8,901
Send a message via MSN to Jeff Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff
Default Re: Illegal army? maybe maybe not?

Well im not a tau player so i got no idea whats happening there. But allways read his list first and make sure it comlpies with the codex. If he has somthing you feel is illegal tell him to change it to somthing else.
__________________
Jeff is offline  
Old 07 Aug 2005, 09:18   #5 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Illegal army? maybe maybe not?

It is technically legal, but not via Doctrines...

If everyone in the Command Squad was a Veteran, they could all be given Carapace Armour from the Armoury. Nowhere in the Codex does it say Carapace stops you from using Light Infantry, only you cannot use it with the Carapace Doctrine.

However, in order to pull this off he would have had to spend 49pts extra onto his Command Squad... and that's assuming there were no Advisors.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline  
Old 07 Aug 2005, 09:23   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,102
Default Re: Illegal army? maybe maybe not?

Plus it would have to have been in his army list.

Only units able to infiltrate with Carapace Armour are:

Storm Troopers (Elites only), Command Squads with veterans + wargear upgrades and Veterans with Carapace Armour doctrine. Nothing else.

Then again, alot of players never actually read all the rules - just the parts they want to read.

~Andromidius
__________________
Tactica Imperial Guard: Conscripts
http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=9751.0
Andromidius is offline  
Old 07 Aug 2005, 16:38   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 146
Default Re: Illegal army? maybe maybe not?

Well? Did he say he had Carapace from a doctrine? Otherwise, its perfectly legal, as they can be purchased as wargear from the armory. But as Wargamer said, it is expensive. Also, if he did this, he couldn't of had any special weapons or voxcasters, so if he still had those in his squad, then it is illegal.
__________________
No need to worry with Lucky on the scene.

Some wise words:

If at first you don't succeed... I wouldn't recommend skydiving.

A bird in the hand is safer than one overhead.

Anger is a condition where the tongue works faster than the mind.

A closed mouth gathers no feet.

Wise men learn by other men's mistakes, fools by their own. Wise men don't need advice. Fools won't take it.
theluckyleprechaun is offline  
Old 07 Aug 2005, 17:56   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,102
Default Re: Illegal army? maybe maybe not?

It's not legal, because Carapace Armour and Light Infantry doctrines cannot both be taken.

~Andromidius
__________________
Tactica Imperial Guard: Conscripts
http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=9751.0
Andromidius is offline  
Old 07 Aug 2005, 23:22   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Crozet, Va, USA
Posts: 148
Send a message via AIM to tolson88 Send a message via MSN to tolson88
Default Re: Illegal army? maybe maybe not?

The thing about veterans and carapace armor is that it means he could have no special or heavy weapons, and no vox casters. However, i believe he said "My Troops have Carapace Armor. This would me he took both the light infantry and carapace armor doctrines. That would be illegal. In both cases, ask to see his codex and his army list.
__________________
"I saw somebody peeing in Jermyn Street the other day. I thought, is this the end of civilisation as we know it? Or is it just somebody peeing in Jermyn Street?"
Alan Bennett
tolson88 is offline  
Old 08 Aug 2005, 04:05   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to CommanderNightstalker Send a message via Yahoo to CommanderNightstalker
Default Re: Illegal army? maybe maybe not?

That's what I thought. But in a way, the wording is kinda murky to the point where either viewpoint could be legal. I think i'll ask the Roolzboyz for official confirmation. I'd ask the Roolzboyz because i know i'd never get the developers of the IG Codex to answer it (would be nice, but it's about as probable as getting Markerlights as "Assault weapons").
__________________
"Duty. Honor. Vigilance. These are the three values that you of the Shas Caste should have burned within your hearts. To live these values is to be a Fire Warrior of Ta'ran. It is these values that set us apart from our Sept Brethren. With Duty, Honor, and Vigilance on our minds, nothing can stand in our way."

- Commander Nightstalker
CommanderNightstalker is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would this be completely illegal... Bubgum General 40K 9 23 Feb 2008 06:42
Illegal Aliens Evisser Serious Debate and Discussion 65 12 Sep 2006 13:38
Illegal Immgration Lord Of War Serious Debate and Discussion 42 23 May 2006 11:59