Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Pivoting with Pask?
Closed Thread
Old 29 May 2010, 06:18   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spring, Tx
Posts: 2,264
Default Pivoting with Pask?

Since pivoting your tank does not count as moving I'm figuring it wouldn't effect with crack shot. So my question is do you get crack shot if you pivot your russ in the shooting phase.
__________________
Beware of O'Shova and his furry!
chicop76 is offline  
Old 29 May 2010, 06:31   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Malaysia & Singapore
Posts: 460
Default Re: Pivoting with Prassk?

Pivoting doesn't count as moving, so that's the keyword there. Crackshot will still apply unless someone thinks otherwise.
__________________
"Failure is a weakness of the enemy."
Dobb is offline  
Old 29 May 2010, 06:36   #3 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Behind you
Posts: 19,399
Send a message via MSN to ForbiddenKnowledge
Default Re: Pivoting with Prassk?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chicop76
Since pivoting your tank does not count as moving I'm figuring it wouldn't effect with crack shot. So my question is do you get crack shot if you pivot your russ in the shooting phase.
Why do you need to pivot with a turret? Or can crack shot be used with the lascannon?
__________________
[quote]Thou shalt not crave thy neighbour

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim.
Rafe is damn sexy once he gets into his night attire.
ForbiddenKnowledge is offline  
Old 29 May 2010, 07:08   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spring, Tx
Posts: 2,264
Default Re: Pivoting with Prassk?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe
Quote:
Originally Posted by chicop76
Since pivoting your tank does not count as moving I'm figuring it wouldn't effect with crack shot. So my question is do you get crack shot if you pivot your russ in the shooting phase.
Why do you need to pivot with a turret? Or can crack shot be used with the lascannon?
If I take prassk with a vanquisher and have a lascannon and two multimelta sponsons shooting at a vehicle 24" away I want to know if I would be able to pivot so I can get 3 str 9 shots and 1 str 10 heading towards a vehicle.
__________________
Beware of O'Shova and his furry!
chicop76 is offline  
Old 29 May 2010, 07:15   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,629
Send a message via MSN to Lord Zambia
Default Re: Pivoting with Prassk?

Pivoting doesnt count as moving.

You can move 12 inches, pivotting and changing direction after every inch you move and it still counts as a 12'' move.

Unfortunately i had a stubborn opponent who actually packed up and left the store because he declared that you cannot pivot a vehicle and then move 12'' and count as cruising (it was a DE raider, a fast vehicle) he declared because my front was further away than it was to start with it was more than a 12'' move. Me and other ppl tried everything to get him to understand. We tried explaining it slowly, doing things step by step. In the end i gave up and pivoted it backwards, then he complained that the back had moved further than 12''. After about an hour of debate, he packed up and left, leaving everybody else with a "wtf" kinda face.

Pivoting does not count as moving

(P.s. Isnt it "Pask"?)

Lord Zambia
__________________
Learn about the world from a different prospective - www.uncyclopedia.org

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhontauel
4 lightening claws LMAO. wouldn't the inquisition get involved?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedibean
Killing terminators with flamers is like trying to stop a charging elephant with a fly swatter.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Genmotty
if your not going to change your ammo between battles then you deserve to be giving people rashes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tetrino
Ah, that's a shame. It's kind of funny, because I'd imagine that running headfirst into a force field would pretty much ruin your initiative.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fire at Will
Why not take over France? You could do it with a pistol, which in doing would make you the most armed man in the country.
Want to play Robot Wars using 40k Concepts? PM me for details on how you can get your FREE copy of the rules.
Lord Zambia is offline  
Old 29 May 2010, 10:52   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: No Where and Everywhere
Posts: 177
Default Re: Pivoting with Prassk?

*Sigh*...

It's Pask.
__________________
Yeah, bringing you another disturbing creation from the mind of one sick animal who can't tell the difference and gets stupified.
The_Warmaster is offline  
Old 29 May 2010, 11:55   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spring, Tx
Posts: 2,264
Default Re: Pivoting with Prassk?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Zambia
Pivoting doesnt count as moving.

You can move 12 inches, pivotting and changing direction after every inch you move and it still counts as a 12'' move.

Unfortunately i had a stubborn opponent who actually packed up and left the store because he declared that you cannot pivot a vehicle and then move 12'' and count as cruising (it was a DE raider, a fast vehicle) he declared because my front was further away than it was to start with it was more than a 12'' move. Me and other ppl tried everything to get him to understand. We tried explaining it slowly, doing things step by step. In the end i gave up and pivoted it backwards, then he complained that the back had moved further than 12''. After about an hour of debate, he packed up and left, leaving everybody else with a "wtf" kinda face.

Pivoting does not count as moving

(P.s. Isnt it "Pask"?)

Lord Zambia

Sounds like me with the 50% rule. They want to define intervening terrain as area terrain. So if 50% or more of the vehicle is in cover they get a save or behind area terrain even if the tank sticks out clear as day.

I thought people from Louisiana was bad. People from Texas is so smart they're stupid. Louisianans have common sense at least. Here in Houston it seems to much education makes them over look at something to the point of stupidity. I never had to argue about the basic rules like this.

I noticed people like to throw in older rules or just make up stuff and declare they're not making it up. An example is when a drop pod lands off table of someone is stupid enough to land on top a model. How can you move minimum distance if you're on top a model. They state you move an inch a way which is moving the model extra movement. If the scatter hit you hit. They also argue if it hits you go by the small arrow on the hit dice. I told thin stop making crap up and point to me anywhere it states you go by the small arrow.
__________________
Beware of O'Shova and his furry!
chicop76 is offline  
Old 29 May 2010, 18:09   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9,814
Default Re: Pivoting with Prassk?

Actually, it sounds to me like the guy was right.
You measure from one point on the vehicle, both pivoting and moving (though different for both in the rules). Otherwise you could move more than your allotted speed.

It sounds like an fairly honest mistake of "measure to the front, move from the back", but a mistake nonetheless.


I applaud your asking so many questions about playing, in so many threads, though Chico. Many players wouldn't address a lack of knowledge in the areas and would likely bluster their way through (or will have learned it incorrectly).

Edit- Apparently he was just a sore loser and Zambia played it legal.
__________________


Seventh Sanctum signature oddities.
Alignment: Neutral Pessimistic
Area of Magical Study: Practical Chronomancy
Favorite Spells: Divine Spell of the Cotton Candy Golem and Field of Bacon.

Proud supporter of Joe Wood!

Makes this your one good deed a day.
http://www.thehungersite.com/
enderwiggin is offline  
Old 29 May 2010, 18:55   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ramstein, DE
Posts: 2,618
Default Re: Pivoting with Prassk?

IIRC pivoting can only be done in the movement phase. I don't believe that you can pivot in the shooting phase unless you have a turret or something of that nature.
__________________
Take a look at my IG/Ork project log
http://forums.tauonline.org/index.ph...c,75787.0.html

USAFTACP is offline  
Old 29 May 2010, 20:42   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,741
Default Re: Pivoting with Prassk?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dexter Morgan
I applaud your asking so many questions about playing, in so many threads, though Chico. Many players wouldn't address a lack of knowledge in the areas and would likely bluster their way through (or will have learned it incorrectly).
Very true, though it would be vastly preferable if he would keep it to one thread. Chicop, in the future, just make one big question list thread. I'm sure people will be glad to answer and you don't have to fill half of General 40k with your posts.

[hr]

Quote:
Originally Posted by USAFTACP
IIRC pivoting can only be done in the movement phase. I don't believe that you can pivot in the shooting phase unless you have a turret or something of that nature.
Indeed. Pivoting occurs during the movement phase.

[hr]

Chicop, you are correct. Pivoting does not count as movement for the purpose of vehicles and as such does not affect Pask's (not Prassk), special rule.
Droids_Rule is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vanquishers and Pask pettsy Imperial Guard 3 02 Nov 2009 13:01
pivoting hammerhead. Maxitaxi Tau 6 08 Jul 2009 21:22
Immobilised Walker pivoting to shoot karnij7877 General 40K 14 31 May 2009 05:01
Commander Pask gas19d Imperial Guard 14 21 May 2009 23:28
Knight Commander Pask and Hunter-Killer missiles Commissar_Will Imperial Guard 6 09 May 2009 00:40