Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Platoons, Reserves and al'Raheam
Reply
Old 21 Apr 2010, 18:51   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rushden United Kingdom
Posts: 69
Default Platoons, Reserves and al'Raheam

OK, I'm just trying to get my head around rolling for reserves with platoons. and i basically want to know if my understanding is correct or if I'm a mile out.

I have been told that platoons only roll one dice for the reserve roll, so roll one 4+ on turn two and your platoon command squad + any infantry squads in that platoon may enter play.

Does this then mean that if any part of a platoon starts on the table then the whole platoon must start on the table? or as they act independently can some of them start on he table and some in reserve?

And thirdly, al'raheam. If only one dice is rolled for reseves so that they all come it at the same time, does this also mean that the platoon rolls a single dice for the outflank move as well? or is this then done individually?

P.S. I like to call myself an experienced player, but by the look of these questions i am still very much a beginner.
Tactical genius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2010, 21:33   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Platoons, Reserves and al'Raheam

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tactical genius
Does this then mean that if any part of a platoon starts on the table then the whole platoon must start on the table? or as they act independently can some of them start on he table and some in reserve?
Unless they have a special rule that state otherwise, yes they must either all start in reserve or all start on the table since you cannot split an FOC slot like that.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2010, 21:39   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,741
Default Re: Platoons, Reserves and al'Raheam

Boneguard, since when may a single FoC choice not be split? As far as I know and have known that entirely legal. They're separate units for all intents and purposes despite being under one Troops choice. Or else we wouldn't have empty Drop Pods, and IG would seriously have their hands tied in this instance.

EDIT: Didn't see the IG army list entry that the Platoon is a single unit for deployment and reserves purposes.
Droids_Rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2010, 21:47   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via MSN to ollieb8
Default Re: Platoons, Reserves and al'Raheam

"Each Infantry counts as a single Troops choice on the Force Organisation Chart when deploying, and is rolled for collectively when rolling for reserves."

So, I'd have to go with Boneguard on this one and state that the unit is deployed as a whole, just like a unit of Tactical marines would be, it is just the command of one platoon (and it's organisation) is much larger.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe
Edit: Silk Spectre wins the thread.
[spoiler=40K Clones]Wanna play as clones in 40K?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circus
I'm amazed at how balanced this is. I salute you.
[/spoiler]
ollieb8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2010, 22:20   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rushden United Kingdom
Posts: 69
Default Re: Platoons, Reserves and al'Raheam

So is the same true for the outflank rolls? one dice and 55 men turn up on one board edge?
Tactical genius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2010, 23:04   #6 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MI, USA
Posts: 91
Default Re: Platoons, Reserves and al'Raheam

It was my understanding that the platoon arrived on the same turn and entered by the same board edge. This would logically make sense with Al'rahem's fluff indicating his platoon will stalk the enemy: they are stalking together. Yes, I am aware of the hazards of applying logic to 40k.

This isn't 100% clear though. If Space Marines are allowed to, say, deploy 5 men of a combat squad via drop pod and have the other 5 walk in then platoons can arrive on separate edges. But the codex is clear on arrival time: they all arrive at the same time.
corsairmarks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Apr 2010, 02:30   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: That bitter taste in the back of your throat, the one kinda wrapped around your uvula that is all that's left of your Pride.
Posts: 5,841
Default Re: Platoons, Reserves and al'Raheam

Space Marines cant do that though.

For the Combat Squad thing to work they have to deploy as 10 men then split into 2 units of 5 after deployment.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circus
It is (and this is an objective statement, looking at examples over the last century) really ****ing hard to terrorise the British.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shas'o Ahab
In parting, I've discovered why Farsight started his breakaway faction...
*Farsight looks at Dawn Blade* "Shiny..."*Farsight picks up Dawn Blade and looks around* "... let's be bad guys."
Quote:
Originally Posted by The man they call Waffles
Jayne you y'xa'uuk legend
The Man They Call Jayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Apr 2010, 22:13   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Platoons, Reserves and al'Raheam

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tactical genius
So is the same true for the outflank rolls? one dice and 55 men turn up on one board edge?
By my understanding of the rules I would say: Yep sounds about right.

Quote:
Originally Posted by corsairmarks
This isn't 100% clear though. If Space Marines are allowed to, say, deploy 5 men of a combat squad via drop pod and have the other 5 walk in then platoons can arrive on separate edges. But the codex is clear on arrival time: they all arrive at the same time.
But Space marine combat squad follow their own explicite rules and what can be done with them is not by default true with other army.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Apr 2010, 22:20   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,629
Send a message via MSN to Lord Zambia
Default Re: Platoons, Reserves and al'Raheam

Tactical Genuis, this has already been covered.
http://forums.tauonline.org/index.ph...c,94523.0.html

Basicaly you do this

Lets say this is your infantry platoon
Command
2x infantry
1x heavy
2x special
1x consrcipts

Now you roll for reserves. 1 dice for the platoon
(5)

they come, so now roll for side - for each option
Alrahem's platoon command (left, right, choose)
Infantry squad 1 (left, right, choose)
Infantry squad 2 (left, right, choose)
etc.

If you used "combined squads" then it would be like this
Alrahem's platoon command (left, right, choose)
Combined Infantry squads 1&2 (as one unit) (left, right, choose)
Heavy Weapon Team (left, right, choose)
etc


Hope this clears it up (btw take an astropath, VERY good with an army using Al'rahem)

Lord Zambia
__________________
Learn about the world from a different prospective - www.uncyclopedia.org

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhontauel
4 lightening claws LMAO. wouldn't the inquisition get involved?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedibean
Killing terminators with flamers is like trying to stop a charging elephant with a fly swatter.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Genmotty
if your not going to change your ammo between battles then you deserve to be giving people rashes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tetrino
Ah, that's a shame. It's kind of funny, because I'd imagine that running headfirst into a force field would pretty much ruin your initiative.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fire at Will
Why not take over France? You could do it with a pistol, which in doing would make you the most armed man in the country.
Want to play Robot Wars using 40k Concepts? PM me for details on how you can get your FREE copy of the rules.
Lord Zambia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Apr 2010, 21:07   #10 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rushden United Kingdom
Posts: 69
Default Re: Platoons, Reserves and al'Raheam

Ah right ok, thanks for the clear up guys
Tactical genius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Al'raheam, how does he work exactly? field marshel R Ironballs Imperial Guard 10 24 Mar 2010 01:08
Any other role for platoons? Knight Actual Imperial Guard 9 12 Sep 2009 02:21
Platoons Malchior Imperial Guard 10 21 Oct 2007 23:55
Infantry Platoons Aquila_XV8 Imperial Guard 9 17 Aug 2006 19:14