Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Camo Cloak and Order Question?
Reply
Old 31 Mar 2010, 15:58   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spring, Tx
Posts: 2,264
Default Camo Cloak and Order Question?

I've been actually reading the orders and realised camo cloaks is better than I realized.

The guard have an order which allows pinning to give you a +2 cover save. With a camo cloak you can get a +4 cover save for being out in the open.

So my question is. Can I move x unit doing the movement phase. Doing my shooting phase I give them the +2 cover save. Than doing the next turn I issue the order to recover the unit which unpinned the unit. After x unit is unpinned can I still shoot or run with it.

The reason why I ask is no one would really suspect the +4 cover save. Also it would be like the unit is playing posseum where the enemy may ignore it. Than on the next turn you jump start the unit where you can use it to fire, assault, or run to an objective. Also I was thinking if using Al'rashem in connection with these orders so the unit can fire and run at the same time.
__________________
Beware of O'Shova and his furry!
chicop76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Mar 2010, 16:04   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: O'Fallon, IL, USA
Posts: 288
Default Re: Camo Cloak and Order Question?

Sounds legit to me. Odd, and probably not the most practical thing due to potential failure, but legit.
Schev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Mar 2010, 16:07   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spring, Tx
Posts: 2,264
Default Re: Camo Cloak and Order Question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schev
Sounds legit to me. Odd, and probably not the most practical thing due to potential failure, but legit.
That's why you use a vox in this case. Creed and Krell or Commissar Lord would also help out nicely.
__________________
Beware of O'Shova and his furry!
chicop76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Mar 2010, 18:01   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MI, USA
Posts: 91
Default Re: Camo Cloak and Order Question?

The sticking point is that any given unit may only receive 1 order per turn. You won't be able to Get Back In the Fight and then Like the Wind to the same unit.

Here's a scenario:
You walk a unit into the open, issue Incoming (for +2 save). That ends their turn (you miss out on running/shooting with that unit). The next turn, you miss out on their movement (since orders go out at the beginning of shooting). You then issue Get Back in the Fight, which regroups you and allows you to act normally.

In the scenario, you lose 1 turn's worth of running/shooting and 1 turn's worth of movement. I'm not sure that the 4+ cover save is worth that.

However, you can get a 5+ cover save with camo + normal go to ground, which you can declare if anyone shoots at your unit. With this approach, you miss only one turn of movement, or possibly none if your unit is ignored for some reason.
corsairmarks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Mar 2010, 18:16   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: That bitter taste in the back of your throat, the one kinda wrapped around your uvula that is all that's left of your Pride.
Posts: 5,841
Default Re: Camo Cloak and Order Question?

Quote:
The sticking point is that any given unit may only receive 1 order per turn
OK, thats it, i am now going to sit down and read every last damn page of the IG dex. Im sick to the back teeth of losing, only to discover that im being cheated.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circus
It is (and this is an objective statement, looking at examples over the last century) really ****ing hard to terrorise the British.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shas'o Ahab
In parting, I've discovered why Farsight started his breakaway faction...
*Farsight looks at Dawn Blade* "Shiny..."*Farsight picks up Dawn Blade and looks around* "... let's be bad guys."
Quote:
Originally Posted by The man they call Waffles
Jayne you y'xa'uuk legend
The Man They Call Jayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Mar 2010, 18:28   #6 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MI, USA
Posts: 91
Default Re: Camo Cloak and Order Question?

Page 29, top paragraph of the 2nd column of the subsection on orders, second to last sentence.
corsairmarks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Mar 2010, 18:32   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: That bitter taste in the back of your throat, the one kinda wrapped around your uvula that is all that's left of your Pride.
Posts: 5,841
Default Re: Camo Cloak and Order Question?

Got it. Ah I see.

Im going to have a certain Treadheads balls on a plate.. >
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circus
It is (and this is an objective statement, looking at examples over the last century) really ****ing hard to terrorise the British.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shas'o Ahab
In parting, I've discovered why Farsight started his breakaway faction...
*Farsight looks at Dawn Blade* "Shiny..."*Farsight picks up Dawn Blade and looks around* "... let's be bad guys."
Quote:
Originally Posted by The man they call Waffles
Jayne you y'xa'uuk legend
The Man They Call Jayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Mar 2010, 20:15   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ramstein, DE
Posts: 2,618
Default Re: Camo Cloak and Order Question?

Incoming is best used when you want to sit a squad on an objective and you are certain it's going to get shot the hell the next turn.

Get back in the fight is there so you can go to ground during your enemy's shooting phase and still have a chance to get back up on your turn so they can shoot.
__________________
Take a look at my IG/Ork project log
http://forums.tauonline.org/index.ph...c,75787.0.html

USAFTACP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Apr 2010, 14:56   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 179
Default Re: Camo Cloak and Order Question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Man They Call Jayne
Im going to have a certain Treadheads balls on a plate.. >
I'm with you man. We have four IG players at the LGS, and they all seem to have "accidentally" forgotten this part of the rules.
Quote:
Originally Posted by corsairmarks
Page 29, top paragraph of the 2nd column of the subsection on orders, second to last sentence.
Thanks for the location. Some shit is going down this Friday.
__________________
"We needed him intact and alive for questioning!"
"It's a rotator cannon, it doesn't do intact"
ChaplainKenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Apr 2010, 16:29   #10 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MI, USA
Posts: 91
Default Re: Camo Cloak and Order Question?

Another fun order fact: cannot be given to squads in a transport or to vehicles. Cannot be given from vehicles, except Chimeras have a special rule.

One of the first things I've done since picking the hobby back up is study my army's rules and the general rules. Can't play if you don't know what your stuff does.
corsairmarks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Painting a cloak Tech_Marine Painting 16 27 Feb 2009 19:19
How do you make a cloak? korik1 Conversion 11 09 May 2007 11:29
Tanith Camo Cloak Conversion Help TheMav80 Conversion 4 19 Mar 2007 20:43
Rules Question: Right pre-game order of things... CmdrBonesaw General 40K 9 22 Jan 2007 20:54
Order question Rogue_FireWarrior Tau 14 14 May 2006 12:04