Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Throwing a Demo Charge out a Chimera
Reply
Old 19 Mar 2010, 14:06   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 93
Default Throwing a Demo Charge out a Chimera

Presuming that this is resolved through the usual rules for shooting from the Chimera, is there any conceivable situation where this would be preferable to getting out of the Chimera and throwing it normally?
Tetrino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2010, 14:16   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: O'Fallon, IL, USA
Posts: 288
Default Re: Throwing a Demo Charge out a Chimera

If it scatters back it really has to do so far enough for the center hole to make it over the Chimera to put it at significant risk. The blast template just has to touch an infantry model to ruin it's day. Though you lose ~1" of viable range from throwing it out of the Chimera.
Schev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2010, 14:18   #3 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 12,488
Default Re: Throwing a Demo Charge out a Chimera

Though the Chimaira would count as open-topped if the blast did come back at it.
__________________
KJ - Friend, Brother, Ork. Never forget you mate.
Restayvien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2010, 14:20   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: O'Fallon, IL, USA
Posts: 288
Default Re: Throwing a Demo Charge out a Chimera

Shooting from the hatch (fire point) of a Chimera does not make it open topped.
Schev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2010, 14:32   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,741
Default Re: Throwing a Demo Charge out a Chimera

That rule existed in 4th edition but isn't part of the 5th edition rules. Firing out of transports does not make you Open-topped.
Droids_Rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2010, 14:44   #6 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 12,488
Default Re: Throwing a Demo Charge out a Chimera

Ah right, I haven't ever played a 5th Ed game. ^^ My mistake.
__________________
KJ - Friend, Brother, Ork. Never forget you mate.
Restayvien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2010, 15:55   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ramstein, DE
Posts: 2,618
Default Re: Throwing a Demo Charge out a Chimera

I don't have my codex handy to verify, but don't you measure from the hull of the vehicle? Or does the rulebook specifically say where to measure from?
__________________
Take a look at my IG/Ork project log
http://forums.tauonline.org/index.ph...c,75787.0.html

USAFTACP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2010, 16:02   #8 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: O'Fallon, IL, USA
Posts: 288
Default Re: Throwing a Demo Charge out a Chimera

If shooting from a firepoint, you measure from the firepoint. You measure from the hull for open-topped transports.
Schev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2010, 16:22   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: That bitter taste in the back of your throat, the one kinda wrapped around your uvula that is all that's left of your Pride.
Posts: 5,841
Default Re: Throwing a Demo Charge out a Chimera

That opentopped thing makes no sense. If the hatch isnt open, the only thing you can logically fire are the hull mounted lasguns, which you cant use, but are still included on the new model.

So why take away the real drawback to firing from the Chimera for no obvious reason. DAMN YOU GW!

[/rant]
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circus
It is (and this is an objective statement, looking at examples over the last century) really ****ing hard to terrorise the British.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shas'o Ahab
In parting, I've discovered why Farsight started his breakaway faction...
*Farsight looks at Dawn Blade* "Shiny..."*Farsight picks up Dawn Blade and looks around* "... let's be bad guys."
Quote:
Originally Posted by The man they call Waffles
Jayne you y'xa'uuk legend
The Man They Call Jayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2010, 16:32   #10 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: O'Fallon, IL, USA
Posts: 288
Default Re: Throwing a Demo Charge out a Chimera

I think the real failure, as you mentioned is not removing the Lasguns from the Chimera in the new kit. I've always thought they made the model look pretty dumb, like an ineffectual porcupine.

I think it makes some sense that it doesn't count as open topped. The hatch is only a small portion of the area of the vehicle, so even if it were open it would not have the same critical impact of a truly open topped vehicle.
Schev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
throwing together what i have currently(1500) Death-Merchant Tyranid Army Lists 13 10 Dec 2009 01:53
Throwing Grenades (again, I know) Falstead House Rules 18 13 Jan 2008 02:39
Throwing Grenades? Vyrion 40K Creations 24 28 Feb 2007 01:00
Throwing in the towel..... General Stupidity General 40K 18 31 Jul 2006 13:25