Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Settle a bet - Lumbering Behemoth special rule
Reply
Old 12 May 2009, 07:52   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Inside Your Head
Posts: 562
Default Settle a bet - Lumbering Behemoth special rule

quote from new guard codex, p48:
"A Leman Russ that moved at combat speed or remained stationary can fire its turret weapon in addition to any other weapons it is usually allowed to fire (even if the turret weapon is ordnance!)"

does this mean that a Russ could move up to 6", fire its main weapon and its hull-mounted weapon all in one turn?
__________________
Quote:
I'm the voice inside your head
That you refuse to hear
I'm the face that you have to face
Mirrored in your stare
I'm what's left, I'm what's right
I'm the enemy
I'm the hand that'll take you down,
Bring you to your knees.
Arnorath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2009, 08:11   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradford, W.Yorks
Posts: 759
Default Re: Settle a bet - Lumbering Behemoth special rule

My interpretation of the rule as intended, is that it merely allows you to fire other weapons even though you have fired Ordnance (which is usually not allowed).

However, it is not that simply worded which has led to an interpretation that allows the Turret weapon to fire "in addition" to any weapons that are normally allowed i.e. allowing an extra main-weapon shot.

So, under this interpretation you could move up to 6" and fire a hull lascannon, all defensive-weapons, plus your turret (even if it's ordnance). Or, if you stayed still, everything including your turret (even if it's ordnance).

I'm leaning towards the second interpretation for the now, as it seems like they've gone to a lot of effort to muddy the waters, and if my first interporetation were coprrect I think the rule would be a lot more concise. Then there is the issue that not all turret weapons are ordnance, so these would lose out by comparison to the Ordnance Russes.
__________________
Plunder of Penn IX sample rules here: http://forums.tauonline.org/index.ph...c,88254.0.html

Extartius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2009, 08:16   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: York, England
Posts: 353
Default Re: Settle a bet - Lumbering Behemoth special rule

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extartius
So, under this interpretation you could move up to 6" and fire a hull lascannon, all defensive-weapons, plus your turret (even if it's ordnance). Or, if you stayed still, everything including your turret (even if it's ordnance).
That's correct, you use the normal vehicle shooting rules but you can fire your turret as well!
Sardis Varrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2009, 08:30   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Inside Your Head
Posts: 562
Default Re: Settle a bet - Lumbering Behemoth special rule

thanks for that
__________________
Quote:
I'm the voice inside your head
That you refuse to hear
I'm the face that you have to face
Mirrored in your stare
I'm what's left, I'm what's right
I'm the enemy
I'm the hand that'll take you down,
Bring you to your knees.
Arnorath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2009, 08:43   #5 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Settle a bet - Lumbering Behemoth special rule

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extartius
My interpretation of the rule as intended, is that it merely allows you to fire other weapons even though you have fired Ordnance (which is usually not allowed).
Well then I'm afraid you're wrong. Read carefully;

"A Leman Russ that moved at combat speed or remained stationary can fire its turret weapon in addition to any other weapons it is usually allowed to fire (even if the turret weapon is ordnance!)"
[/quote]

No arguments here; it does not specify what type of Turret weapon, it just says turret weapon.

So, you can fire your Turret, plus one Hull weapon, + Defensive weapons when moving up to 6", or everything when stationary.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2009, 19:44   #6 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: West Los Angeles
Posts: 481
Default Re: Settle a bet - Lumbering Behemoth special rule

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
No arguments here; it does not specify what type of Turret weapon, it just says turret weapon.
Which is an important distinction, as only 2 of the Russ options are actually Ordnance - the basic Russ, and the Demolisher. All of the new or reintroduced variants - the Executioner, Exterminator, Eradicator, Vanquisher, and Punisher - are Heavy.
__________________
Hunt your preferred prey at Aliens vs Predator: The MUD (http://avpmud.com/)
Or play right now by pointing your MUD client or Telnet at "avpmud.com 4000"
Maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 May 2009, 08:20   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradford, W.Yorks
Posts: 759
Default Re: Settle a bet - Lumbering Behemoth special rule

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Extartius
My interpretation of the rule as intended, is that it merely allows you to fire other weapons even though you have fired Ordnance (which is usually not allowed).
Well then I'm afraid you're wrong. Read carefully;

"A Leman Russ that moved at combat speed or remained stationary can fire its turret weapon in addition to any other weapons it is usually allowed to fire (even if the turret weapon is ordnance!)"
No arguments here; it does not specify what type of Turret weapon, it just says turret weapon.

So, you can fire your Turret, plus one Hull weapon, + Defensive weapons when moving up to 6", or everything when stationary.
[/quote]

Which is exactly the interpretation I talked myself around to in the same post you quoted
__________________
Plunder of Penn IX sample rules here: http://forums.tauonline.org/index.ph...c,88254.0.html

Extartius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lumbering Behemoth chicop76 Imperial Guard 5 15 Apr 2010 11:37
Railgun special rule. The Man They Call Jayne House Rules 271 24 Jul 2009 12:21
We'll Be Back Special Rule chich0 Necrons 20 08 Aug 2008 00:23
Scouts Universal Special Rule & 5th Darkeldar Tau 5 03 Jul 2008 15:50
A new special rule: Interceptors Amaliel House Rules 5 25 Jan 2007 03:46