Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Colonel's Schaeffer's last Chancers, scoring or not?
Reply
Old 31 Oct 2008, 06:43   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 755
Default Colonel's Schaeffer's last Chancers, scoring or not?

We all know the last chancers, and if you look on page 54 of the imperial guard codex, there is a rule which points to the fact that if a certain number of models are taken, then the last chancers take up more than just a HQ FOC slot.

My question is, with the new (not so much now) rule of only troops scoring, Does a last chancer unit (for example 9 models) count as scoring? if not, why not? Do only some sub-units count as scoring? Or do you get an extra scoring unit for just paying a little over 10 points extra?

In a pure Last Chancer's army, you would assume that some units would be counted as scoring, but would all?

In a hybrid army, what happens, does some sub-units gain scoring abilities?
__________________

Darth_Riah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Oct 2008, 12:08   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Colonel's Schaeffer's last Chancers, scoring or not?

Well it's quite simple.

Does the last Chancer a troop Unit or a HQ+retinue unit?

If they are a HQ+Retinue unit, then they are not scoring.
if they are a Troop unit, then they are scoring.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Oct 2008, 12:37   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Some random location with internet capalbilitys
Posts: 1,542
Default Re: Colonel's Schaeffer's last Chancers, scoring or not?

Boneguard that's what he's asking.

I'd say troops if you take the minimum number of last chancers to make them count as troops in the FOC. Any less and they are only an HQ an then no.

The way I see it if they take up a troop FOC in your army they are troops. Though I may not be right so feel free to call me on it.

*looks around for Tom*
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dancing Bush
"Get a codex. Read it. Read it again."
-Better advise has never been spoken. It answers most rules questions we are forced to answer.
Johnnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Oct 2008, 12:44   #4 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Colonel's Schaeffer's last Chancers, scoring or not?

Well if the rule say after a certain number of models they count as troop, then I guess they can be scoring under certain circumstance.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Oct 2008, 12:50   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 433
Default Re: Colonel's Schaeffer's last Chancers, scoring or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneguard
Well if the rule say after a certain number of models they count as troop, then I guess they can be scoring under certain circumstance.
That I'd have to say would be my take on it.
__________________

[img width=650 height=30]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v628/colgravis/Misc%2040k/awards.jpg[/img]
Col.Gravis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Oct 2008, 13:24   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hertford, UK
Posts: 5,086
Default Re: Colonel's Schaeffer's last Chancers, scoring or not?

Well now that's a really good question. I think the answer seems straightforward enough though - The rulebook says that only models coming from the Troops allowance count as scoring units, and the codex tells us that a unit of more than eight last chancers counts as a Troops selection as well as an HQ selection. No models or sub units are discounted from this blanket statement; so technically there's nothing to stop you from breaking the unit into five scoring sub-units if you want.

I'm not entirely sure how Kill Points interact with this aging unit though. My take is that Kage and Schaeffer are worth one KP each (as they are independent characters) and all the rest of the Last Chancers are collectively worth one more. My logic here is that a sub-unit isn't the same as a unit and therefore isn't worth a KP on its own.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel_Sanders
When all was finished, the battlefield was a smoking crater. UDC, Valoran, US Army, Tau, the Nazis, a random pirate ship, and a bunch of ninjas, all were enemies to the Vulture. All were turned into scrap metal. Or plastic. Depends which game system you play.
Tom Norman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Oct 2008, 14:04   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ota, Gunma Prefecture, Japan
Posts: 3,764
Default Re: Colonel's Schaeffer's last Chancers, scoring or not?

Do people even bother checking the FAQs anymore? This question is asked, and clearly answered, in the Imperial Guard FAQ, downloadable here.

__________________
[table][tr][td]Regards,
MT.[/td][td] [[/td][/tr][/table][hr]What's an abelian group with an associative, distributive secondary operator and the power to corrupt mortals?
[spoiler=Answer]The One Ring![/spoiler]
[hr]
Masked Thespian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Oct 2008, 15:39   #8 (permalink)
Zen
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12,937
Send a message via MSN to Zen
Default Re: Colonel's Schaeffer's last Chancers, scoring or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imperial Guard 5th Edition FAQ
Q. Do Last Chancers sub-units count as scoring unit for purposes of claiming objectives?
A. As long as more than 8 models are selected, the Last Chancers count as Troop as well as HQ therefore count as scoring units.
So, Schaeffer, Kage and 6 Last Chancers count as scoring units. And MT is right; you guys should read the FAQs.
Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Nov 2008, 03:49   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 755
Default Re: Colonel's Schaeffer's last Chancers, scoring or not?

No need to get annoyed. The FAQ's aren't on the Aussie site, I had to go to the US one to find what you mentioned.

Either way, I think it seems a bit ... unorthodox. It probably is the best way to approach it, but paying a little over 10 points to gain 5 different scoring units, plus a free single wound model, is a bit... again I struggle to find the right word, but you know what I mean. Also, Tom raises a good point, KP's.

If the KP's are one for the characters, and one for the last chancers as a whole, you could potentially have 5 scoring units, each with at least 5 models each, and still only lose 3 KP if you lose them. Again, whatever the word I was looking before is used here ;D

__________________

Darth_Riah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Nov 2008, 09:50   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hertford, UK
Posts: 5,086
Default Re: Colonel's Schaeffer's last Chancers, scoring or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth_Riah
No need to get annoyed. The FAQ's aren't on the Aussie site, I had to go to the US one to find what you mentioned.

Either way, I think it seems a bit ... unorthodox. It probably is the best way to approach it, but paying a little over 10 points to gain 5 different scoring units, plus a free single wound model, is a bit... again I struggle to find the right word, but you know what I mean. Also, Tom raises a good point, KP's.

If the KP's are one for the characters, and one for the last chancers as a whole, you could potentially have 5 scoring units, each with at least 5 models each, and still only lose 3 KP if you lose them. Again, whatever the word I was looking before is used here ;D
Never ever forget though how fragile Guardsmen are. The option to split up into five scoring units isn't really worth much when you consider that each of those units will comprise of only four or five men. Such sub-units will get turned to mush if a Space Marine so much as sneezes in their vicinity. Even if you split into only a couple sub-units, you're not really gaining any kind of advantage that you couldn't get by just adding infantry squads to your existing platoon(s) (in terms of number of scoring units).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel_Sanders
When all was finished, the battlefield was a smoking crater. UDC, Valoran, US Army, Tau, the Nazis, a random pirate ship, and a bunch of ninjas, all were enemies to the Vulture. All were turned into scrap metal. Or plastic. Depends which game system you play.
Tom Norman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Last Chancers Aun LeKeth Serious Roleplay 28 03 Nov 2008 21:44
last chancers. jacktheodd Imperial Guard 0 28 Oct 2007 19:14
Schaeffer's Last Chancers - 1000 Points Yaifrog Imperial Guard Army Lists 4 15 Aug 2007 06:31
Last Chancers? 3mp3ror Imperial Guard 25 11 Jul 2007 17:56
Scoring Points and Scoring with Tau wind777 General 40K 10 30 Oct 2005 05:20