Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Dual wielding pistols?
Reply
Old 25 Oct 2008, 19:58   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 67
Default Dual wielding pistols?

Can you have a model have two different pistols?
ie... a bolt pistol and a laspistol on a comander
I know that you cant use the same weapon upgrade twice but if its like i said could you do it?
would you be able to fire both or only one of the pistols?
I wasnt sure and i was tempted to try it but id like to see if thered be a rule breaking problem...
__________________
We are the Imperial Guard and unlike you Heritics, mutants, and aliens...
CASULTIES MEAN NOTHING TO US!!!
SmartSCrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Oct 2008, 20:09   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,928
Default Re: Dual wielding pistols?

Modelling wise, it's an awesome idea. Game wise, yes your model can have two pistols, but can only use one per turn. I'm not sure, but if you get 2 bolt pistols it might count as twin-linked.
__________________
sarnas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Oct 2008, 20:12   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Valdres, Norway
Posts: 199
Send a message via MSN to Oddball
Default Re: Dual wielding pistols?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gecko- New and Improved
Modelling wise, it's an awesome idea. Game wise, yes your model can have two pistols, but can only use one per turn. I'm not sure, but if you get 2 bolt pistols it might count as twin-linked.
I'm afraid it wouldn't count as twin-linked, would count as an additional hand-weapon though.
__________________


Life is a waste of time, time is a waste of life, so get wasted all of the time and have the time of your life.
- Billy Connolly
Oddball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Oct 2008, 20:14   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 67
Default Re: Dual wielding pistols?

Quote:
Modelling wise, it's an awesome idea. Game wise, yes your model can have two pistols, but can only use one per turn. I'm not sure, but if you get 2 bolt pistols it might count as twin-linked.


I'm afraid it wouldn't count as twin-linked, would count as an additional hand-weapon though.
I didnt think you could buy 2 of the same weapons from the armoury though...
__________________
We are the Imperial Guard and unlike you Heritics, mutants, and aliens...
CASULTIES MEAN NOTHING TO US!!!
SmartSCrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Oct 2008, 20:18   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,928
Default Re: Dual wielding pistols?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oddball
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gecko- New and Improved
Modelling wise, it's an awesome idea. Game wise, yes your model can have two pistols, but can only use one per turn. I'm not sure, but if you get 2 bolt pistols it might count as twin-linked.
I'm afraid it wouldn't count as twin-linked, would count as an additional hand-weapon though.
Ah, OK. Thanks for correcting that.
__________________
sarnas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Oct 2008, 21:29   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Some random location with internet capalbilitys
Posts: 1,542
Default Re: Dual wielding pistols?

well if you master crafted the pistol, it would have the same effect as Twin-linked which creed has for using duel hellpistols.

if you want to do that my advice is to take a master crafted pistol and a ccw.

you get the reroll for the "extra pistol" and the additional weapon for using a pistol and ccw("extra pistol" once again. You can just model it with two pistols.

I modeled an assualt marine with twin plasma pistols once, he looks awesome... and a little suicidal :P
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dancing Bush
"Get a codex. Read it. Read it again."
-Better advise has never been spoken. It answers most rules questions we are forced to answer.
Johnnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Oct 2008, 16:27   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,915
Default Re: Dual wielding pistols?

Well, I think if we refer to the Codex, at least Creed's profile, dual pistols of the same type count as twin-linked, as Johnnyboy said. He carries two hellpistols, which the list says count as 'twin linked'.

Now, as far as two different pistols go, I think it's safe to say that you may only use one per turn, the other counting as an extra CCW when your in Close Combat.

Stankov
__________________
"The common soldier must fear his officer more than his enemy." King Frederick the Great, Prussia

[img width=650 height=288]http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a99/GeneralStankov/finalcopy.jpg[/img]
Ge. Stankov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Oct 2008, 16:52   #8 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 67
Default Re: Dual wielding pistols?

Quote:
Well, I think if we refer to the Codex, at least Creed's profile, dual pistols of the same type count as twin-linked, as Johnnyboy said. He carries two hellpistols, which the list says count as 'twin linked'.

Now, as far as two different pistols go, I think it's safe to say that you may only use one per turn, the other counting as an extra CCW when your in Close Combat.
yeah thats what I thought though it was worth asking...
It would be cool if you could fire both pistols instead of twin linked...
__________________
We are the Imperial Guard and unlike you Heritics, mutants, and aliens...
CASULTIES MEAN NOTHING TO US!!!
SmartSCrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Oct 2008, 00:08   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hertford, UK
Posts: 5,086
Default Re: Dual wielding pistols?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Generalissimo Stankov
Well, I think if we refer to the Codex, at least Creed's profile, dual pistols of the same type count as twin-linked, as Johnnyboy said. He carries two hellpistols, which the list says count as 'twin linked'.

Now, as far as two different pistols go, I think it's safe to say that you may only use one per turn, the other counting as an extra CCW when your in Close Combat.

Stankov
No, no, no. Why does this keep coming up? Just because it's true for Tau, doesn't mean it's true for Guard. Just because Tyranids can do it, doesn't mean Guard can do it. And just because a single IG special characer has unique rules representing his personal wargear, doesn't mean they extend to every other IG unit in the codex!

Nowhere in Codex: Imperial Guard does it say that two pistols of the same type count as twin-linked. Creed's matched hellpistols have their own independent rules that specify that they fire as a single twin-linked hellpistol and count as an additional close combat weapon. If this rule were to govern every unit uniformally then it'd be stated in the main rulebook, or at the very least in the armoury section of the Codex, but the fact that it only appears as a unique rule for a special character makes it abundantly clear that it's for Creed and Creed alone. Should we consider all models with bionics to benefit from the Bale Eye special rule found in Yarrick's unit entry? Should all models with power swords benefit from +1 strength like Gaunt? No, of course not! Gaunt doesn't have a power sword after all - he has a unique weapon called the Sword of Heironymo. It may essentailly be a powersword, but it has it's own special rules. By the same token, Creed doesn't just have a pair hellpistols; he has 'two matched hellpistols'...again, weapons unique to him.

Now please let's have no more citing of non-existent rules. :P

NOTE - The rule that all pistols count as close combat weapons in assault, however, can be found in the rulebook. So no dramas there.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel_Sanders
When all was finished, the battlefield was a smoking crater. UDC, Valoran, US Army, Tau, the Nazis, a random pirate ship, and a bunch of ninjas, all were enemies to the Vulture. All were turned into scrap metal. Or plastic. Depends which game system you play.
Tom Norman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Oct 2008, 02:35   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Some random location with internet capalbilitys
Posts: 1,542
Default Re: Dual wielding pistols?

thats why I suggested master crafting a weapon tom. Then it opperates like creeds special rule(if you want to represent duel weapons like him).

I'm not saying that 2 guns are twin linked(though it could be what with the rule that you can't select the same item from the armory twice, but lets not get into the hypothetical here). I'm just saying if you want to represent duel pistols like creed's 2 pistol rule just make the pistol master-crafted and give him a ccw to count as the extra attack for an extra pistol.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dancing Bush
"Get a codex. Read it. Read it again."
-Better advise has never been spoken. It answers most rules questions we are forced to answer.
Johnnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual weapons thedog90 Tau 6 24 Jun 2009 03:51
Angels of Death - 5th ed update - Wielding the sharpest of cheddar trex238 House Rules 7 18 Apr 2009 06:36
Jetbike riders wielding 2 weapons discussion Velocirapture Craftworld Eldar 7 17 Aug 2008 16:21
Dual Pulse Pistols ARCtrooper Conversion 6 19 Jan 2007 19:11
Dual Core? freeman Computers, Science and Technology 3 07 Sep 2006 16:07