Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Some new ideas on Guard - Stupid or just different?-
Old 06 Jul 2008, 16:12   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El

Default Some new ideas on Guard - Stupid or just different?-

Hey guys. I recently became inspired to finish my IG army during the summer, and to just get them done so they will look cool and then I can actually use them.

But I want to be different. No SIGAFH or any other set kind of army. I need to stay true to my background, and to be different and have fun doing it. My background is well, Space Romans.

I already know my doctrines because of this background. Iron Discipline, for the officers rallying their men, Die Hards because Romans were well known for holding against larger numbers, close order drill because of their fighting style, rough riders because I need cavalry, and veterans just because they are a good unit and fit into the experience of the maniples of the Roman legion.

You can get a lot of information from here: http://www.roman-empire.net/army/army.html

So my one idea was a full fast attack of rough riders. Yup. Thirty of them. But one of them will be lead by a sergeant with the Honorifica Imperialis, becoming an HSO. The model will be:

I will give the HSO carapace armor and maybe a few other goodies. So this gives me a fairly good assault unit, with thirty rough riders armed with a mix of meltas, shotguns and maybe lances on one of the squads.

So this should be a bit different, but it does not stop there. My basic infantry squads will be looking for a fight. They will move forward (alternating between moving and shooting, I think) using cover as best as possible. If they are recieving a charge, I'll form them into the Close Order Drill, otherwise they are spread out to avoid template weapons. On the charge they will from into a COD in contact with the enemy. That should give me a bit of staying power.