Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

heavy weapons
Reply
Old 06 Mar 2008, 23:19   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 155
Default heavy weapons

There has been a conflict within my friends' and my type of gameplay. If your heavy weapons team was an imperial guard or eldar one, would it hit both units automatically or would the crew count as one model with two wounds, not like the ork one? ???
__________________
Every body has a strategy- until they get punched in the face.

-Mike Tyson
Super heavy gunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Mar 2008, 23:31   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Niagara Falls
Posts: 1,513
Send a message via MSN to Hoarday
Default Re: heavy weapons

Well Imperial Guard weapon teams count as 2 models even if they're on one base. I'm not 100% on the eldar rules, but I believe any gaurdian acts as crew for the platform so it doesn't matter.
__________________
We Will Hold The Line With Blood and Bullets
Hoarday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Mar 2008, 00:46   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ota, Gunma Prefecture, Japan
Posts: 3,764
Default Re: heavy weapons

For Eldar, it's fairly easy; there are two members of the Guardian squad who are "armed" with the Heavy Weapon. They can draw Line of Sight from either of them. You have to kill both of them to remove the weapon.

If you were talking about the Support Weapon Platforms (as a Heavy Support choice, and armed with a D-Cannon, Vibro Cannon, or a Shadow Weaver) then the rules for these are covered by the rules on page 56 of the rulebook.


For Imperial Guard, it's slightly different. One model is armed with the Heavy Weapon whilst the other is the "loader". The loader has no appreciable value (other than being a standard Imperial Guardsman) and is a remnant of Second Edition rules. Yeah, it's two editions out of date. If you kill the one guy armed with the Heavy Weapon (say, with the Torrent of Fire rules), it's gone.

If you have both models on the 60mm base, then the IG FAQ covers this situation with: "Treat them as two separate models that are based together for convenience of movement".

Thus, you take the casualties separately.

Hope this helps!
__________________
[table][tr][td]Regards,
MT.[/td][td] [[/td][/tr][/table][hr]What's an abelian group with an associative, distributive secondary operator and the power to corrupt mortals?
[spoiler=Answer]The One Ring![/spoiler]
[hr]
Masked Thespian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Mar 2008, 09:10   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 433
Default Re: heavy weapons

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masked Thespian
For Imperial Guard, it's slightly different. One model is armed with the Heavy Weapon whilst the other is the "loader". The loader has no appreciable value (other than being a standard Imperial Guardsman) and is a remnant of Second Edition rules. Yeah, it's two editions out of date. If you kill the one guy armed with the Heavy Weapon (say, with the Torrent of Fire rules), it's gone.
Thats not correct I'm afraid Masked Thespian, IG Heavy Weapons were the subject of quite alot of debate a while back and at the time I emailed the design studio at an email address given out at a UK GT Seminar with a number of relating questions to clear it up, the response was printed in UK WD306 on page 127.

Quote:
Q 1. Do both heavy weapons crew have a lasgun?
Q 2. Can both heavy weapon crewmen fire their lasguns (if they have them) instead of firing their heavy weapon?
Q 3. Are both crewmen required to fire heavy weapons?
Q 4. Although it is not specified in the codex, assuming one crewman is the 'gunner' (ie, who fire the weapon) and the other the 'loader' (who just carries the ammo), if the gunner is killed by an attack that can specify the target (eg, Vindicare Assasin, Mind War etc) or by a template weapon, can the loader continue to fire the heavy weapon in the gunner's abscence?


A. Guardsmen all have lasguns initally, however one member of a weapons team must give up his lasgun to take a heavy weapon(only one two-handed weapon allowed). One member of the team can fire his lasgun while the other fires the heavy weapon. Both have to be killed to disable the heavy weapon.
Thus, as long as one of the two crewmen is alive, the gun can be fired, 'gunner' and 'loader' are merely names, and have little relervance to gameplay.
__________________

[img width=650 height=30]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v628/colgravis/Misc%2040k/awards.jpg[/img]
Col.Gravis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Mar 2008, 12:22   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ota, Gunma Prefecture, Japan
Posts: 3,764
Default Re: heavy weapons

If that is GW's official stance on things, then how come the FAQ has not been updated with the pertinent information? Not everyone has access to that particular White Dwarf (indeed, I seem unable to find my copy to verify the quote : ).
__________________
[table][tr][td]Regards,
MT.[/td][td] [[/td][/tr][/table][hr]What's an abelian group with an associative, distributive secondary operator and the power to corrupt mortals?
[spoiler=Answer]The One Ring![/spoiler]
[hr]
Masked Thespian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Mar 2008, 13:53   #6 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 433
Default Re: heavy weapons

When was the last time a FAQ was updated other then shortly after release? The fact is GW provide lousy FAQ support. That aside it is the only GW written and published answer to the issue, so should be taken as such.
__________________

[img width=650 height=30]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v628/colgravis/Misc%2040k/awards.jpg[/img]
Col.Gravis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Mar 2008, 12:58   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 155
Default Re: heavy weapons

That answer still doesn't answer my question. If being flamed, would it count as two seperate models or a crew with two wounds? ???
__________________
Every body has a strategy- until they get punched in the face.

-Mike Tyson
Super heavy gunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Mar 2008, 13:22   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ota, Gunma Prefecture, Japan
Posts: 3,764
Default Re: heavy weapons

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super heavy gunner
That answer still doesn't answer my question. If being flamed, would it count as two seperate models or a crew with two wounds? ???
Ahem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masked Thespian
The IG FAQ covers this situation with: "Treat them as two separate models that are based together for convenience of movement".
__________________
[table][tr][td]Regards,
MT.[/td][td] [[/td][/tr][/table][hr]What's an abelian group with an associative, distributive secondary operator and the power to corrupt mortals?
[spoiler=Answer]The One Ring![/spoiler]
[hr]
Masked Thespian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Mar 2008, 13:43   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Greater London
Posts: 2,065
Send a message via MSN to Commissar_Will
Default Re: heavy weapons

Agreed. For the purposes of flamers, I'd say that it actually has to cover both of the men themselves, not just the base, to hit both of them. However, because of the "measure from the base" thing, I'd say that seeing as the models are often quite a way away from the front of the base with IG heavy weapon teams, for the sake of fairness if the template touches the base, but no men, then it hits one man.
__________________
RIP KJ and Israfel. We will remember them.

My Space Marine project log
Commissar_Will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Mar 2008, 13:49   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Some random location with internet capalbilitys
Posts: 1,542
Default Re: heavy weapons

because of this rule I'm thinking about buying a lot of the large infantry bases(can anyone tell the mm size), you know the ones terminators are on. and cut my weapon teams off the large base and put the weapon and gunner on the large infantry base and the loader a normal infantry base.

just to avoid the problem in the future. and it will be easier to spot losses and look better than just puting a die on the base.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dancing Bush
"Get a codex. Read it. Read it again."
-Better advise has never been spoken. It answers most rules questions we are forced to answer.
Johnnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Magnetised Weapons (Swappable) Weapons on the Valkyrie! [Done!/Pic heavy!] mace Conversion 9 27 May 2009 17:47
Where to put my heavy weapons bc99 Imperial Guard 18 09 Nov 2007 16:00
What heavy weapons should I use? Aose Space Marines 5 20 Jul 2007 04:06
heavy weapons grimreaper Forces of Chaos 2 17 Oct 2006 05:17
tau heavy weapons? 14th cadre Tau 58 14 Mar 2005 21:00