Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Command Squad Veterans, i am a little confused
Old 27 Feb 2008, 20:39   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El

Default Command Squad Veterans, i am a little confused

As you may know, i am new to guard, i cam e up with a list and then had it ridiculed for having two medics in the command squad, is this not aloud? i was under the impression that if you paid the points for them to be veterans then they could choose to fill any of the slots.

and aside from that, i have given my JO the honorifica imperialis, and i was thinking to spread his high LD, could i give his squad a second Master vox? my HQ has a master vox, but can he have one as well? this would be so that i can spread the moral to two squad a turn instead of one, would this work?
Old 27 Feb 2008, 22:22   #2 (permalink)
Cal
Shas'Ui

Default Re: Command Squad Veterans, i am a little confused

No sorry. In both cases, only one model may take the specific wargear per squad. I'm pretty sure it says "one model may". Also a Master-Vox can be used to communicate to any number of squads a turn, unlike a normal Vox, which can only communicate to one. So therefore it would be worthless taking a second anyway.

I'll back my arguments up soon with some quotes, I know my codex is around here somewhere.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Comissar Gaunt to an unknown Fortis Binary trooper
"Hold Fast!"
"They're killing us!"
"So kill them back!"
Cal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Feb 2008, 22:37   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

In general though, the Guard medic is not a smart idea as such a unit is small and will attract a lot of dakka anyway, and a single saved wound really won't make a difference in the grander scheme of things.

The most cost-effective command squads are either assaulty (Powersword/BP commander, with flamer guard), or shooty (Storm Bolter commander w/ Grenade Launcher guard).
Old 27 Feb 2008, 23:56   #4 (permalink)