Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Imperial Guard - Frequently Asked Questions [4th Edition]
Reply
Old 26 Jan 2008, 04:43   #11 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,246
Default Re: Imperial Guard - Frequently Asked Questions[Draft]

1) Our tanks can not fire ordanance after moving more then 6". But refer to your rule book. It can be fire defensive/main weapons after moving a certain amount. (I.e. 6" or less)

2) Only if they move 6" or less. Sentinals can only move up to 6" anyway, so the answer is yes.

3) Small.

4) There is still only 10 men in the squad. One guardsman replaces his lasgun with the desired heavy weapon whilethe other guy can fire his lasgun normally.

5) It comes down to personal preference, and what you'd like to achieve with your sponsons. Just remember that the battlecannon and demolisher cannon are both ordanance weapons, meaning you can fire either them or the hull/sponsons weapons each turn. Never both at once.

6) It's not a universal special rule mentioned in the IG codex, but it basically means you can kill some of your enemy off before the first turn. ( via bombardment)
__________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act, but a habit.
-Will Durant
Aftercresent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Apr 2008, 11:33   #12 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 147
Default Re: Imperial Guard - Frequently Asked Questions[Draft]

it's a question on docterines (i can hear the boooos now). I'm writin a short story bout the inquisition (mostly IG tho) n i'm wantin to make them using docterines.

1) if i take grenadiers must i also take storm troopers to use them as troops?

2) do storm troopers count as gaurd infantry units (for special equipment, etc.) or is that only for the infantry platoon?

3) if i use grenadiers to use storm troopers as my troops do i still need to include an infantry platoon in my army?

Thank you for the help, its much Appreciated . and the story shud b up soon ^_^
__________________
"LIMEY MAN TO THE RESCUE!!!! I've come to kick arse and drink tea...and I'm all out of tea"


Please correct me with my spelling! (I know it's terrible)
gumgum921 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Apr 2008, 11:36   #13 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Imperial Guard - Frequently Asked Questions[Draft]

Quote:
Originally Posted by gumgum921
1) if i take grenadiers must i also take storm troopers to use them as troops?
No. Stormtroopers and Grenadiers are separate units.

Quote:
2) do storm troopers count as gaurd infantry units (for special equipment, etc.) or is that only for the infantry platoon?
No. Stormtroopers are not Guard Infantry.

Quote:
3) if i use grenadiers to use storm troopers as my troops do i still need to include an infantry platoon in my army?
No. There is no minimum requirement for Infantry Platoons. However, you will not be able to field Armoured Fist Squads if you do not field Infantry Platoons.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Apr 2008, 11:36   #14 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8,901
Send a message via MSN to Jeff Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff
Default Re: Imperial Guard - Frequently Asked Questions[Draft]

Quote:
Originally Posted by gumgum921
it's a question on docterines (i can hear the boooos now). I'm writin a short story bout the inquisition (mostly IG tho) n i'm wantin to make them using docterines.

1) if i take grenadiers must i also take storm troopers to use them as troops?

2) do storm troopers count as gaurd infantry units (for special equipment, etc.) or is that only for the infantry platoon?

3) if i use grenadiers to use storm troopers as my troops do i still need to include an infantry platoon in my army?

Thank you for the help, its much Appreciated . and the story shud b up soon ^_^
1) No. Grenadiers allows you to take Storm troopers as troops (without infiltrate or deep strike) AS WELL as Elites.

2) No. Unfortunately. Veterans, Infantry, Heavy Weapon squads etc count as IG infantry.

3) No. This is the way you make the smallest army in the IG. 15 models. 5 command squad, 2x 5 Grenadier squads.
__________________
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Apr 2008, 02:06   #15 (permalink)
Zen
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12,937
Send a message via MSN to Zen
Default Re: Imperial Guard - Frequently Asked Questions[Draft]

Is a Support Squad really worth and the points is better use for another Infantry Squad?
Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Apr 2008, 14:13   #16 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 1,481
Default Re: Imperial Guard - Frequently Asked Questions[Draft]

Going back to the questions on regiments.

In Codex: Imperial Guard, a portion of the Cadian 8th Regiment is shown. The codex states that roughly half of the regiment, 4000 men is present. Therefore you can make the assumption that a Regiment consists of roughly 8000 men, not included attached armor.

This is not really of any importance however, because nobody has enough time to field an army with 8000 models. Therefore us Guardsmen must be content with fielding companies rather than entire regiments.
__________________
"I really doubt your credibility as a sane person" - Crisis Vyper

"For those who believe, no explanation is necessary.
For those who do not, none will suffice."

"So this is how liberty dies. To a thunderous applause."



100% of posters have false statistics in their signatures. If you're one of the 0% that doesn't, copy and paste this into your sig.
Vallessian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Apr 2008, 14:16   #17 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Imperial Guard - Frequently Asked Questions[Draft]

Oh, and on the Heavy Weapon Platoon thing, I noticed a mistake.

A Heavy Weapon base is not a 2-wound model; it is two models on the same base. This is very important, because if you treat it as a 2-wound model you lose out on your Lasgun shots, and you are more vulnerable to Instant Death.

So remember; two models on one base.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2009, 18:42   #18 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 500
Default Re: Imperial Guard - Frequently Asked Questions[Draft]

I just started reading the Guard Codex (however, it could be a waste with the new book due out shortly. ) Very interesting stuff, if I may say so.
Although it may seem pedestrian, I have a question about the Psyker:
I see that he rolls D6 to determine his power, however I don't see anything that says when or how often he does this. Does he make one roll at the beginning of the game and use the same power throughout? If you have more than one Psyker in your army, do they each roll individually?
__________________
DarthIbis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Mar 2009, 23:09   #19 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 89
Default Re: Imperial Guard - Frequently Asked Questions[Draft]

The Psyker rolls his power at the start of the game with your opponent watching or a GM if you like to keep it secret for the fun of it. Each psyker can only use the power indicated for the whole game - so no random roll each turn as with the ork weirdboy psykers!

Each psyker in your army rolls individually.

You can then assign each psyker to the units as per the rules where his power is best used.

Keep a commisar close to relieve those witches from being possessed by deamons!!!

Tassadar
Tassadar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Oct 2009, 14:21   #20 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Imperial Guard - Frequently Asked Questions [4th Edition]

Someone I was playing with told me that Ordinance is so powerful it doesn't allow cover saves in area terrain (ie: Forests). I can't find anywhere that it says that in the rulebook, can someone please help me with a solid answer or reference to the rule if it's true?
Agarn_Fortez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A First Look at the 5th Edition Imperial Guard Codex Zen Imperial Guard 64 20 May 2009 05:16
A Competitive Review of the 5th Edition Imperial Guard Codex Hoarday Imperial Guard 19 26 Apr 2009 01:02
Codex: Imperial Guard 5th Edition - What you expect and what do you fear? Zen Imperial Guard 461 27 May 2008 21:54
2008: 5th Edition, Imperial Guard Space Wolves and more... trash-candle Games Workshop News and Rumours 2 22 Dec 2007 19:01