Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Old 29 Apr 2007, 15:37   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default newbie

Hey,

I'm new to the guard (having played marines for a while) and I've looked at the 'starting a guard army' topics which are very informative but i was wondering what kind of fire support squads you run with your HQ. I'm torn between Mortars, Heavy Bolters and Autocannons.

Also do you take heavy weapons in your infantry platoons and what kind of heavies do you take.

And i was thinking of taking a couple of sentinals with las-cannons as some mobile tank killing-ness (thinking of one on each flank) is this worth it, or would they get blown to pieces?

Thanks guys ;D

Neepalm.
"Back on Karonus IV We were ambushed by Orks and my whole squad was destroyed, i was out of ammo, but i beat the last green skin to death with his own leg. And i don't know if you know but that takes a hell-ov-a long time" - Veteran Sergeant Neepalm
Sgt. Neepalm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Apr 2007, 18:07   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O

Default Re: newbie

The Imperial Guard has heavy weapons coming out the yin-yang, so I think it'd best to nestle such high-profile heavy weapons as lascannons within infantry squads where they cannot be so readily picked out and silenced. Vehicles are bullet magnets at the best of times, but when they're that poorly armoured, open topped and armed with an expensive and powerful weapon, they've got the life expectancy of a goose egg on a golf course.