Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Exterminators, Can I take one or are they restricted
Reply
Old 07 Feb 2007, 20:34   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,401
Default Exterminators, Can I take one or are they restricted

I have been looking for more Dakka and remember the days of yore when the IG used to be able to field the Exterminator tank. Now I see it is not in the dex but it is listed for the AC. Question is may I field this infantry support tank in my standard IG army or do i need opponents permission (ie not tournament legal) or is it AC only?

Really blows my mind why GW moved the exterminator and Griffon out of the IG army list considering they are Infantry Support Vehicles like the hellhound compared to some of the vehicles they let us have

PS On a side note if you can help me flesh out my remade list i would appreciate it or just have any comments http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=39414.0
Go Guard Or Go Home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Feb 2007, 20:45   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,961
Send a message via MSN to icer190
Default Re: Exterminators, Can I take one or are they restricted

I think that you can if you have Imperial Armour(no idea which one....) and your oppenents agreement
icer190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Feb 2007, 21:05   #3 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 11,122
Default Re: Exterminators, Can I take one or are they restricted

I don't think theres a big black marker saying:

[size=35pt]NO![/size]

But have a check with your opponent beforehand, they should be okay as they aren't gonna destroy the entire army single handedly (unless they are nids.. and you take three)

You can find the rules on the games workshop website, under armoured companies in the guard section.

hope that help!
Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Feb 2007, 23:19   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Fort Collins Colorado
Posts: 882
Default Re: Exterminators, Can I take one or are they restricted

I honestly think that the exterminator is completely nerfed by 4th edition because normal Russ' can move and shoot the battle cannon. It certainly isn't an overpowered tank against any army.
__________________
When you wish upon a star, your wish may come true. Unless that star is a meteorite hurtling towards the earth. In that case you're just screwed; unless you wished for death by meteorite.
Commander_Vimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Feb 2007, 23:27   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,401
Default Re: Exterminators, Can I take one or are they restricted

The big issue is whether it is GW tournament legal. Their website says you have to follow the dex. I want to play a lot of hall of hereos and conflicts etc. Don't want to buy the model if I can't use it regularly
Go Guard Or Go Home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Feb 2007, 23:45   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,460
Default Re: Exterminators, Can I take one or are they restricted

Sorry, chances are they arn't good for tournies. If you look at the sign up forms most (all that i've seen) specifically state that it has to be from the current GW issued codex, and no forge world rules may be used.
GeekyGator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Feb 2007, 01:58   #7 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 445
Default Re: Exterminators, Can I take one or are they restricted

Yeah, but it IS in their Armored Company list on THEIR site. You could argue that it's just another tank.
__________________
If you're feeling lucky, click here to get yourself mugged!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"No, you can't put a Lascannon there; the Machine God will have a tantrum and turn the universe inside out."

balistafreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Feb 2007, 02:06   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bonn, Germany
Posts: 2,725
Send a message via MSN to legio mortis
Default Re: Exterminators, Can I take one or are they restricted

If they are used as a part of an armored company, they are still tourney legal, but not otherwise.
__________________
But seriously, a Guardsman, I'm willing to bet, could a) outshoot me, b) give me the beating of my life, and c) shove more squad-based tactics down my throat than I'd ever care to digest. Guard are hard, hard men. Whether or not GW's inconsistent, Marine-worshipping fluff keeps with that, mkay?

Real men fight in tanks!


sig by Kais

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nox
Legio why do I always imagine you shouting when I read your posts? :P
legio mortis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Feb 2007, 02:39   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,807
Default Re: Exterminators, Can I take one or are they restricted

Think about it this way: Put down the Exterminator on the table, and if your opponent bawks, tell him:

"What, afraid of twin-linked Autocannons? Ah well, shucks. I suppose a Battlecannon will have to surfice instead..."
AuinMyrrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Feb 2007, 13:50   #10 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Telford, England
Posts: 85
Send a message via MSN to Stella Cadente
Default Re: Exterminators, Can I take one or are they restricted

I find it curious why people say that Imperial armour tanks require permission, I read the section at the beginning of the Imperial armour books, and it says that the vehicles can be used, the only ones that require permission is the super heavies.

if you wanna read it, pick up your imperial armour volume 1, look under using the book, and read the second Paragraph VERY CLOSELY don't just skim it, take it all in.
__________________
Stella Cadente is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Chaos restricted to "fun" armies? crazyguy832 Forces of Chaos 12 03 Nov 2009 20:14
Restricted Wargear Anpu42 Space Marines 28 20 Jul 2009 06:54
Restricted troops question. BLACK_TEMPLAR Imperial Guard 13 17 Oct 2007 17:48
In a farsight army why would the kroot be restricted? Rogue_FireWarrior Tau 11 23 Mar 2007 04:05