Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

New to IG
Closed Thread
Old 09 Jan 2007, 02:19   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default New to IG

Im just starting IG and i would like a few tips on tactics and building a solid force. I wan't a big guard army with a lot of guardsmen and many tanks.

Thanks.

If you need any Black templar advice, just PM me. I've got over 4 years of BT experience!
Old 09 Jan 2007, 03:59   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La

Default Re: New to IG

Lol, thats a pretty typical answer. Now heres some basic army themes

-Heavy Weapons (IG is good at this)
-Armoured Company (all vehicles)
-Mechanized Army (all infantry is placed in a chimera)
-Mass Guardsmen
-Drop Troop
-Light Infantry

Now i dont really know if the above counts but i can give you a start on some of them. Or you can be more specific about what kind of army you want.
Old 09 Jan 2007, 06:41   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El

best advice i can suggest is dont go overboard on upgrades/weapons... just get yer basic lemans and chims, and load up on low-cost squads supported by a hefty hq. that will get you lots of tanks and lots of guys. this may end up being moved to the army lists page but whatever: here's a base to work with

1500 points euro-tourney standard

3 lemans w lascans and heavy bolter sponsons
1 hso + commissar
1 jo w flamer squad and ccw
4-5 squads w missiles/autocans/gls/flams/etc depending on your preference
1 chim for an armored fist squad, flavored to taste (mine go heavy flam x2 but i can see how the multilaser/hbolter pattern is nice too)
1 armored fist squad w cool upgrades like meltagun and vox and vet sgt. etc (since they will often be on their own) - this fills up your 2nd troop req.

1 vet squad or stormie squad as tough and mean as you can make them... and NONE of them should be wielding a lasgun