Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

I don't understand?
Closed Thread
Old 07 Dec 2006, 16:17   #1 (permalink)
General Stupidity
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default I don't understand?

Heya,

Well I was thinking of taking an Armoured Fist squad, and heard that the squad should take a lascannon. But what I don't get is that say if I fire the lascannon, I can't because they count as moving and you can't move and fire heavy weapons?

So whats the deal with taking Lascannons in AF squads, sounds like a waste of points to me?
 
Old 07 Dec 2006, 16:20   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,098
Send a message via AIM to T pok Send a message via MSN to T pok
Default Re: I don't understand?

First,who said this?
Was it a gaurd player?

As you said this goes aganist Common sense and I would not do it,ever.
__________________
http://mylifelm.wordpress.com/
Quote:
Originally Posted by Savon Saal
brave kid, i don't know if i could do that. whichever girl gets you for life is the luckiest in the world.
T pok is offline  
Old 07 Dec 2006, 16:27   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 306
Send a message via MSN to Elcampbello
Default Re: I don't understand?

Well you don't need to actuly use the chimeira as a transport it is an awesome weapons platform. So a Lascannon could be used but not if you want them nipping around the place.
__________________
Elcampbello is offline  
Old 07 Dec 2006, 21:04   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,880
Default Re: I don't understand?

they can fire from the tophatch or so i was led to believe. the downside being that they are easy lucky kills if something unfortunate happens to the chim.
Guitardian is offline  
Old 07 Dec 2006, 21:30   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: IL (U.S.)
Posts: 534
Send a message via MSN to Mrgame
Default Re: I don't understand?

yeah you could but then the chimera counts as a open topped vehicle for that turn if you want to fire it out the top hatch not worth it IMO.
Mrgame is offline  
Old 07 Dec 2006, 22:29   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,246
Default Re: I don't understand?

Many people use the armoured fist squad as a regular infantry squad, and only mount up near the end of the game to nab an objective.
__________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act, but a habit.
-Will Durant
Aftercresent is offline  
Old 09 Dec 2006, 00:34   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Posts: 203
Default Re: I don't understand?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Centurion
they can fire from the tophatch or so i was led to believe. the downside being that they are easy lucky kills if something unfortunate happens to the chim.
I believe troops in a vehicle count as moving, so you can't really fire a heavy weapon unless you stop, get out, and wait till the next turn. Correct me if I am wrong, as I don't use transports.
saffo is offline  
Old 09 Dec 2006, 01:10   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8,901
Send a message via MSN to Jeff Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff
Default Re: I don't understand?

Okay, If you disembark before the vechile moves the squad counts as being stationary. If you Disembark after, then it counts as moving for all shooting and assulting purposes.

You may fire ANY weapon in your squad from the fire points on a chimera. 6 weapons from the side and 2 from the top (if you fire from the top it counts as open topped for the next turn)

So you can fire a heavy and special weapon from the fire ports in the hull and not be classed as open topped. Great strategy.
__________________
Jeff is offline  
Old 09 Dec 2006, 03:45   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 551
Default Re: I don't understand?

really? i thought the chimera has got 6 hull mount lasguns, not 6 hull fire points.....
__________________
"Recite the Litany of Stealth to decrease your chances of being heard."
-Imperial Infantryman's Uplifting Primer

http://www.maj.com/gallery/Tauroc/Si..._berserker.gif
HailTheRuss is offline  
Old 09 Dec 2006, 11:48   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,246
Default Re: I don't understand?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HailTheRuss
really? i thought the chimera has got 6 hull mount lasguns, not 6 hull fire points.....
I'm not sure what JD is talking about either.

The side firing points from the Chimnera can only shoot the pre-mounted lasguns, while you can shoot any one(1) weapon that the squad inside is equiped with out the top hatch.
__________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act, but a habit.
-Will Durant
Aftercresent is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I don't understand the Positional Relay Farsight4520 Tau 6 10 Aug 2009 15:54
Do Orks Understand Women? BigToof Orks 13 12 Dec 2008 14:19
I Don't Understand.... dragoniccam General 40K 1 17 Jul 2008 21:46
Good too complex to understand? the emperors flame Serious Debate and Discussion 5 05 Feb 2007 22:28
Something that I will never understand... General_Dakari Imperial Guard 33 29 Dec 2006 15:48