Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Having trouble with IG
Closed Thread
Old 01 Oct 2006, 17:48   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

Send a message via AIM to SMRCommander
Default Having trouble with IG

Having browsed some tactics and sch recently, I find that my main problem with making an IG list is the fact I have been doing marines for the last 2 years. So I am having some difficulty adjust and to create an effective list.

My main problem is I don't know how to equip regular platoon squads effetively, and what are good points cost per unit to stick around. Also, i have had trouble with figuring out roles and uses for elites units and how to effectively use a command squad. A lot of problems in general. I feel that once I grasp all these points, I will have at least some basic understanding of Imperial Guard Tactics.

Also, i would like some basic info on what types of units I should use and such based on my tactics and such. Honestly, I'm looking for a cityfight army here, and would like it to be effective at cityfights. I also am split between a mobile guard army and a more defensive shooty list, or a drop troops list. All three hold appeal to me, but I'm not sure which would be most effective in cityfight, or if there is a better type that would be better in cityfight. Models and stuff are no restrictions-I have not yet bought any IG.

I've always wanted to start a IG army, and nows my chance. I'd really appreciate it if you guys could help me out. Thanks in advanced.

Thinking of something appropriate to put into ym sig as of now...
Old 01 Oct 2006, 19:07   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal

Default Re: Having trouble with IG

I can't give you much detail on the platoon front, because i play a grenadier/tank army. But i highly recomend that you take the stormtroopers and kit them out with two plasma guns and a chimera, very fast when needed and dishes out a fair bit of punishment!