Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Question on Carapace armor.
Closed Thread
Old 04 Jul 2006, 15:48   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 359
Default Question on Carapace armor.

If I take the Carapace Armor doctrine, do all my Guard Infantry units have to take it, or can I choose?
Another thing: If I give carapace armor to a unit, can I choose to not give it to a select few models, and use the Mixed Armor rule?
General_Dakari is offline  
Old 04 Jul 2006, 15:52   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 551
Default Re: Question on Carapace armor.

pretty sure they all have to take it.

you can't give some guys carapace and some guys not in the same unit. (well armory acess aside)

__________________
"Recite the Litany of Stealth to decrease your chances of being heard."
-Imperial Infantryman's Uplifting Primer

http://www.maj.com/gallery/Tauroc/Si..._berserker.gif
HailTheRuss is offline  
Old 04 Jul 2006, 16:30   #3 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Question on Carapace armor.

If purchased as a Doctrine, then all Guard Infantry units must take it.

If you purchase from the Armoury, only the model in question gets the upgrade (eg: the JO, SO or HSO).
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline  
Old 04 Jul 2006, 20:00   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Íland, Sweden
Posts: 70
Default Re: Question on Carapace armor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
If purchased as a Doctrine, then all Guard Infantry units must take it.

If you purchase from the Armoury, only the model in question gets the upgrade (eg: the JO, SO or HSO).
No, I wouldn't think that's the case. In the codex, it says nothing about whether all units must take this upgrade or not, and armybuilder allows some units to have it while others do not.

It's perfectly fine to only use the doctrine on the units you wish to use it on.

To answer the Generals second question; No. You may not use the doctrine on a select fem troopers in your squads as the upgrade is purchased for the entire squad and not for each individual.
If purchased from the armoury though, as others pointed out, it's perfectly fine.
Rioteer is offline  
Old 04 Jul 2006, 21:47   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: BlackBurn, Lancashire, England
Posts: 3,060
Send a message via MSN to Elessar
Default Re: Question on Carapace armor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rioteer
No, I wouldn't think that's the case. In the codex, it says nothing about whether all units must take this upgrade or not, and armybuilder allows some units to have it while others do not.

It's perfectly fine to only use the doctrine on the units you wish to use it on.
Ehem: "If this Doctrine is taken then each special peice of equipment must be applied to every available model so if you choose cameleoline then every model that can have it, must have it." - IG codex, page 57, Special Equipment, 3 paragraph.
__________________
http://world2.monstersgame.co.uk/?ac=vid&vid=31118495
go to the above to help me on a browser game
Download my codex! http://www.box.net/public/d6c1ki0iah Click on the .pub file and hit Save to Disk.

Elessar is offline  
Old 04 Jul 2006, 21:58   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8,901
Send a message via MSN to Jeff Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff
Default Re: Question on Carapace armor.

Elessar is correct... If you purchase it for anything other than rough riders, than EVERYTHING that can take... must take it
__________________
Jeff is offline  
Old 04 Jul 2006, 22:28   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: England
Posts: 824
Send a message via MSN to Anberlin
Default Re: Question on Carapace armor.

read your codex, if you take the doctrine every unit that can has too.
__________________
Anberlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Models with carapace armor. forrestfire Imperial Guard 9 23 May 2009 10:58
tau armor question razgriz_cipher 40K Universe 11 05 May 2009 06:11
Armor Pen Question SpacePuppy General 40K 8 23 Jan 2007 20:00
Carapace armor rule/price Chton Imperial Guard 5 26 Jan 2006 21:24
Carapace Armor MechTau Imperial Guard 8 25 Oct 2005 19:04