Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Rough Riders (kinda tactics but not really)
Closed Thread
Old 09 May 2006, 16:33   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La

Send a message via MSN to smurf
Default Rough Riders (kinda tactics but not really)

I know a lot of people who say rough riders are never worth using, mainly because the models cost too much for the points. I use a squad of 5 of them on bikes, and Ive never seen a game where they hadn't got their points back. They've killed heroes (necron lords, ork warbosses, Sm masters etc), monoliths, a couple of dreadnoughts and sometimes whole squads of marines. This post is kinda like saying why i use them, possibly tempting you into using them. I'm no expert and any other peoples comments would be appreciated

The Squad

I only use 5 of them, but this is simply because i cant afford to buy more. I equip them like this:

5 rough riders
Veteran Sergeant
Honorifica Imperialis
Power Weapon
Bionics
Melta Bombs
Hunting Lances

This squad cost a little more than 120 pts, fairly expensive for 5 models in a guard army, but easily affordable in 1500 pts

How i use them

My method really depends upon the situation. Generally i use them as counter assault, generally in conjunction with my HSO. I find this particularly effective against speed freaks. I deploy them a small way back, so they generally dont get immediately assaulted.