Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Question
Closed Thread
Old 20 Apr 2006, 10:12   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ballarat-Victoria-Australia
Posts: 907
Default Question

Hey guys, I was writting up my list and need to waste some points, so for the purposes of iron discipline do sergeants count as officers
__________________
All time is an illusion, lunch time doubly so

Turning and Turning in the widening gyre, the falcon cannot hear the falconer; Things fall apart; The centre cannot hold; Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world.
W.B. Yeates
The Second Coming

Thanks to Drobot for the sig
Inquisitor Walsy is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2006, 10:40   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8,901
Send a message via MSN to Jeff Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff
Default Re: Question

No. The only units that count as officers are all
-Junior Officers
-Senior Officers
-Heroic Senior Officers
-Commissars
__________________
Jeff is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2006, 10:45   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ballarat-Victoria-Australia
Posts: 907
Default Re: Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by ??
No. The only units that count as officers are all
-Junior Officers
-Senior Officers
-Heroic Senior Officers
-Commissars
Cheers mate
__________________
All time is an illusion, lunch time doubly so

Turning and Turning in the widening gyre, the falcon cannot hear the falconer; Things fall apart; The centre cannot hold; Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world.
W.B. Yeates
The Second Coming

Thanks to Drobot for the sig
Inquisitor Walsy is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2006, 11:48   #4 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,246
Default Re: Question

I thought veteran Stormtrooper sarges were as well...they can take power weapons!
__________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act, but a habit.
-Will Durant
Aftercresent is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2006, 11:50   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,742
Default Re: Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by AfterCresent
I thoguht veteran Stormtrooper sarges were as well...they can take power weapons!
they have access to the officer only armory, but they are not able to take doctrines.

w
Shaso Wanax is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2006, 12:06   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8,901
Send a message via MSN to Jeff Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff
Default Re: Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kriegspieler
Quote:
Originally Posted by AfterCresent
I thoguht veteran Stormtrooper sarges were as well...they can take power weapons!
they have access to the officer only armory, but they are not able to take doctrines.

w
Not entirly correct. they may take doctrines but not Iron Disiciplin. But yes they access to the power sword from the ARMOURY (which it states they are able to take), this excludes doctrines effecting officers only.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AfterCresent
I thoguht veteran Stormtrooper sarges were as well...they can take power weapons!
No where does it actually quote they can take officer only items, And the power sword is not officer only.
__________________
Jeff is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2006, 12:06   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ballarat-Victoria-Australia
Posts: 907
Default Re: Question

guess ill have to think up some points consuming, low $ cost way of making a bigger army
__________________
All time is an illusion, lunch time doubly so

Turning and Turning in the widening gyre, the falcon cannot hear the falconer; Things fall apart; The centre cannot hold; Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world.
W.B. Yeates
The Second Coming

Thanks to Drobot for the sig
Inquisitor Walsy is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2006, 12:10   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8,901
Send a message via MSN to Jeff Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff
Default Re: Question

Do you own a Catachan Codex?

If so... you probly have a squad of Catachans. Put these in as allied deathworld veterans and then add a set of traps.
__________________
Jeff is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2006, 12:17   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,742
Default Re: Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by ??

Not entirly correct. they may take doctrines but not Iron Disiciplin. But yes they access to the power sword from the ARMOURY (which it states they are able to take), this excludes doctrines effecting officers only.
Better check again. Stormtroopers can take NO doctrines that indicate "guard infantry".

"guard infantry...definition includes any command squad along with its officer....AT squads, fire support squads, special weapons squads....mortar squads, hardened veteran squads, normal infantry platoon squads and armored fist squads."

No storm troopers listed. Stormers can take: chem inhailers, warrior weapons, veterans, independant commisars, grenadiers. Of these, none give benefit to stormtrooper's statlines at a cost per value basis.

W
Shaso Wanax is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2006, 12:24   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8,901
Send a message via MSN to Jeff Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff
Default Re: Question

However if they are grenadeir squads do they not count as infantry?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kriegspieler
No storm troopers listed. Stormers can take: chem inhailers, warrior weapons, veterans, independant commisars, grenadiers. Of these, none give benefit to stormtrooper's statlines at a cost per value basis.
W
Does it state anywhere in the argument that the doctrines listed have to make a change to the stat line?
Hence they may still take doctrines... Iron disicpline is one they cannot take... along with others.
__________________
Jeff is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tzeentch Lord Question and Daemone weapon question. majonga Forces of Chaos 2 12 Apr 2008 00:32
Rules Question. (possible noob question) TheLetterV Tau 8 22 Dec 2006 23:34