Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

mixing different armies
Closed Thread
Old 13 Nov 2004, 01:49   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: TAU system
Posts: 50
Default mixing different armies

My WH40K mate bought himself some space marine armoured vehicle and tactical squad. Later , he bought a Leman Rus, mortar (earthshaker?) and catachan snipers.

He argue with me that he can use all of them in single battle - because they all imperial .

Maybe it sound right - but it looks like he's picking up all* the elite units ...

Is it by the rules* ?
undead is offline  
Old 13 Nov 2004, 04:12   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Burtonsville, MD
Posts: 239
Send a message via AIM to Aegis Guard
Default Re: mixing different armies

no that is completely against standard rules. but you can make house rules to cover this if you want.
__________________
The Emperor Protects, I destroy
Aegis Guard is offline  
Old 13 Nov 2004, 08:25   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: TAU system
Posts: 50
Default Re: mixing different armies

Alright, but can he use Leman Rus tanks , and catachan snipers ? They both imperial guard ?
undead is offline  
Old 13 Nov 2004, 08:42   #4 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: mixing different armies

Yes. The Russ is a Heavy Support choice, and Snipers are used in Special Weapon Squads, or Light Infantry squads.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline  
Old 13 Nov 2004, 15:21   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,052
Send a message via MSN to Kre Mont re
Default Re: mixing different armies

Quote:
Originally Posted by undead
Alright, but can he use Leman Rus tanks , and catachan snipers ? They both imperial guard* ?
+++I don't think you can mix and match the Catachan and standard IG codexes, although if you just use the snipers as part of a standard IG army then yes it's allowed as WG said+++

+++As for whether you can mix and match IG and SM, it would be reasonably fluffy although only allowed by the rules in a game of 2 or more FOCs, where one of them is SM and the other IG, or in a multiplayer battle with one person commanding each army+++
__________________
.
Kre Mont re is offline  
Old 18 Nov 2004, 10:49   #6 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: TAU system
Posts: 50
Default Re: mixing different armies

One more question about the snipers...They take part in battle as imperial snipers, or they use catachan snipers rules than ?
undead is offline  
Old 18 Nov 2004, 11:39   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 876
Default Re: mixing different armies

That depends on him.... but actually if he is using a Leman Russ, then he already isn't using the Deathworld veterans list and so they are just guard snipers... which means they aren't legal unless you give them 1 more guards man each to fill the squad...
__________________
.:Veteran of Agrippina, Cadia and Medusa:.

Hail Olianus Pious! Patron Saint of the Imperial Guard! Savior of the Emperor!
Trillian_1369 is offline  
Old 21 Nov 2004, 14:39   #8 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: TAU system
Posts: 50
Default Re: mixing different armies

Can he use the catachan snipers and their skills with leman russ tank and basilisk , if he just add one guardsman to the team ?

Could you explain it a bit more?
undead is offline  
Old 23 Nov 2004, 10:30   #9 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: mixing different armies

Snipers come in Special Weapon Squads. These squads have 6 men, up to three of which may have a Sniper Rifle.

The only way to get "Catachan Snipers" is to use the Deathworld Veteran army, which cannot be combined with normal Guard (due to the change in Codex).
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline  
Old 26 Nov 2004, 21:15   #10 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: TAU system
Posts: 50
Default Re: mixing different armies

Thanks
undead is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mixing codexes skullthumper Space Marines 5 25 Jun 2010 15:18
Need some mixing help! Sting2 Painting 5 20 Sep 2008 03:16
Mixing The SoB and the GK Clear The Inquisition 19 20 Oct 2006 17:30
Mixing units 07mikevick07 Forces of Chaos 9 28 Jan 2006 06:10
Mixing Races and Armies Taleran General 40K 7 10 Nov 2004 23:52