Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Victory Points
Closed Thread
Old 12 Mar 2006, 16:50   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,401
Default Victory Points

Just curious as this came up in the hall of heroes tourny yesterday. Independant Characters cannot hold ground, contest nor do they count VP as a scoring unit for your side.

In a take and hold mission, you got extra VP for scoring units wholly within 12" of the center of the table. Since JSO are independent characters, and cannot hold ground and since you pay 40 pts for the squad and 4 guys, do you get any points for the command squad being within 12" or no points. I couldn't find the rules so I didn't count them as scoring but I was curious.

Other armies would have the IC w/wo retinue and the retinue points would count towards VP as a scoring unit but IG doesn't have retinues so can Command squad whether regimental or platoon not hold, contest or count as scoring units for VP purposes?

The only other way I can think of it is a Guardsman 6pts x4 for the # in squad = 24 pts means the JSO is worth 16pts and so would count the 24 pts to your side. Anyone know for sure?
Go Guard Or Go Home is offline  
Old 12 Mar 2006, 17:08   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Victory Points

So long as at least one squad member besides the Officer is alive, he does not count as an Independent Character. He only becomes an IC if his squad is completely wiped out, including any Advisors.

In other words, an Officer and his squad are a scoring unit.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline  
Old 12 Mar 2006, 19:30   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: BlackBurn, Lancashire, England
Posts: 3,060
Send a message via MSN to Elessar
Default Re: Victory Points

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
So long as at least one squad member besides the Officer is alive, he does not count as an Independent Character.
does this work for closecombat aswell?
__________________
http://world2.monstersgame.co.uk/?ac=vid&vid=31118495
go to the above to help me on a browser game
Download my codex! http://www.box.net/public/d6c1ki0iah Click on the .pub file and hit Save to Disk.

Elessar is offline  
Old 12 Mar 2006, 19:45   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,401
Default Re: Victory Points

I am wondering about that too Elessar. It would seem to since you aren't buying an IC when you buy the command squad. You are buying a 5 man squad. Other armies have a single model as a leader and you can add retinues or have them join other squads. This means I have played incorrectly and makes surviving CC a little easier so I can get my 4 Power Fist attacks if they can't single out the HSO, JSO, SO since he isn't an IC. Sort of makes them like Vet Sgts. Not IC, but can buy wargear
Go Guard Or Go Home is offline  
Old 12 Mar 2006, 20:27   #5 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Victory Points

Officers are always Independent Characters. However, they cannot leave their Command Squad under any circumstances.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline  
Old 12 Mar 2006, 20:58   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,401
Default Re: Victory Points

But wargamer if officers are Independant Characters and independant charaters cannot hold, contest or score points for VP then back to my original question how many points do you get if you have a command squad within 12" of the objective since our army list is the only army list where you buy squads as HQs and not Independant Characters?

If 40 pts gives you an Independant Character and 4 guardsmen, then if they are within 12" of the center do I get 40 pts for having a scoring unit? If so then this violates the rule that says IC points do not count toward scoring values of the squad.

Example. Canoness (45pts) with 9 sister retinue (117 pts) total = 162 pts if within 12" and the squad above 50% str I would 117 Victory Points at the end of the game. The value of the retinue but nothing for the IC.

In the IG case that 5 man squad costs 40pts but according to the rules the officer could not count his point value to scoring victory points since he is an Independant Character. Therefore how many points are the 4 guardsman worth so I can get the points for them.

Maybe I am missing something but like I said the IG is the only army that buys entire squads as an HQ compared to single characters and adding extra models like retinues or just other squads
Go Guard Or Go Home is offline  
Old 12 Mar 2006, 21:05   #7 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Victory Points

Treat the Command Squad as a 5-man unit (plus Advisors) for the purposes of Victory Points and objectives.


Basically, when you buy the Officer, he automatically gets a retinue of four men, thus forming a 5-man scoring unit. You can then add Advisors.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline  
Old 14 Mar 2006, 05:54   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 243
Default Re: Victory Points

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elessar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
So long as at least one squad member besides the Officer is alive, he does not count as an Independent Character.
does this work for closecombat aswell?
No when he get's into combat he becomes an Independant Character
Carnex is offline  
Old 14 Mar 2006, 14:31   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,246
Default Re: Victory Points

Can a command squad join a regular squad of infantry-because then the medic is really effective.
__________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act, but a habit.
-Will Durant
Aftercresent is offline  
Old 14 Mar 2006, 14:34   #10 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Victory Points

Quote:
Originally Posted by AfterCresent
Can a command squad join a regular squad of infantry-because then the medic is really effective.
No.

The command squad is a squad, just like Guard infantry squads, or Heavy Weapon squads, or Stormtrooper squads, etc.

The Officer is an Independent Character. However, he cannot leave the unit by any means unless all members of the command squad are dead.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Victory Points Redux Wargamer General 40K 21 15 Nov 2009 17:52
Victory points with WWB machete Necrons 6 08 Sep 2008 22:35
WWB and Victory Points Black Behemoth Necrons 10 20 Jan 2006 20:18
Victory Points? Warsmith Tyranus General 40K 16 03 Jan 2006 08:05