Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Can you fire a mortar from a chimera?
Closed Thread
Old 10 Mar 2006, 14:41   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 980
Default Can you fire a mortar from a chimera?

Well, plans go slowly forward for my veteran Hounds of the Emperor pan-segmentum regiment.

I have decided that the regiment is divided into three battalions.

A ranger battalion: Represented by the catachan codex

A light infantry battalion: Using the doctrines Light infantry, drop troops, dire hards, Xenos fighter:Tyranids, and veterans

A Mobile grenadier battalion: Using Grenadiers, Veterans, drop troops, Xenos fighter:Tyranids and Special weapon squads

I think I do a grenadier formation first, since I need less men to do it.

I have an idea of having my HQ squad more or less permanently ridding in Command vehicle, represented by a chimera with loads of antennas, maybe no tower but a open mounted heavy bolter.
But I would like to have a Mortar, so I can stand behind a hill, using vox to guide the troops, and firing a round or two in support.
Can you use a mortar and fire from the hatch on the back of the Chimera? I just says a passenger can use it but it will count as open toped.
I think it should be legal... and cool. What do you veteran guardsmen think?
__________________
Asperger, asrai and proud!

My blog: http://mattiknife.wordpress.com
Ra´Meses is offline  
Old 10 Mar 2006, 14:43   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Can you fire a mortar from a chimera?

It does have a top-hatch... and the rules say you can fire a heavy weapon from the back so long as it's stationary... so volley away, Captain!
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline  
Old 10 Mar 2006, 14:57   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,246
Default Re: Can you fire a mortar from a chimera?

Just remember, your Chimera counts as being open topped for the rest of the turn!

Although, you'd be banging away a lot of firepower from a chimera then.

A multilaser, heavy bolter, 6 lasguns and a Mortar- That's a lot of guns for an inexpensive chimera.
__________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act, but a habit.
-Will Durant
Aftercresent is offline  
Old 10 Mar 2006, 15:15   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 159
Default Re: Can you fire a mortar from a chimera?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AfterCresent
Just remember, your Chimera counts as being open topped for the rest of the turn!
striclty speaking, it is actually your opponents next turn. basically the next time he goes shooting!
in any case, it is legal. just remember also that the unit inside the vehicle does not have to target the same enemy unit as their transport.
as a note, that also goes for the lasguns... which, because they are fired by the men inside rather than the tank/crew, can fire at a different target to the tanks weapons. the downside is that you will rarely be able to fire all 6 of them and they have different firing arcs.
oink is offline  
Old 10 Mar 2006, 16:19   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York U.S.A.
Posts: 185
Default Re: Can you fire a mortar from a chimera?

Of course you can. Look at the model, It has a big ol' hole in the back where gunners can open the hatch and poke their heads out. Personally I wouldn't suggest it. Mortars work well in teams but not as isolated units, and you would have a nice clump of points in a light tank better used elsewear (like MELTA charging!) babysitting a fairly weak gun.
__________________
million worlds, unnumbered souls, and a lasgun for every one of them.
squigs for dinner is offline  
Old 10 Mar 2006, 18:36   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: BlackBurn, Lancashire, England
Posts: 3,060
Send a message via MSN to Elessar
Default Re: Can you fire a mortar from a chimera?

if your going to have your command squad sitting around behind a hill dont get them a chimera. or if you do dont keep it with them. its great for mowing down infantry, so dont waste its potential by having it sitting around. go cruising!
__________________
http://world2.monstersgame.co.uk/?ac=vid&vid=31118495
go to the above to help me on a browser game
Download my codex! http://www.box.net/public/d6c1ki0iah Click on the .pub file and hit Save to Disk.

Elessar is offline  
Old 10 Mar 2006, 18:39   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 980
Default Re: Can you fire a mortar from a chimera?

It is for fluff. Every real army has a command vehicles that certainly does not expose themselves to much.
I know it is a waste, gamewise, but I feel it is compensated fluffwise. I think it is worth the risk getting a good excuse to make a special made HQ vehicle.

Now, should I use the Chimera or the Basilisk as a base for the convertion?
__________________
Asperger, asrai and proud!

My blog: http://mattiknife.wordpress.com
Ra´Meses is offline  
Old 10 Mar 2006, 18:44   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: BlackBurn, Lancashire, England
Posts: 3,060
Send a message via MSN to Elessar
Default Re: Can you fire a mortar from a chimera?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ra´Meses
Now, should I use the Chimera or the Basilisk as a base for the convertion?
you could get a griffon, and add a turret. then attach some crazy guys with lasguns and say they are the hull mounted lasguns.
__________________
http://world2.monstersgame.co.uk/?ac=vid&vid=31118495
go to the above to help me on a browser game
Download my codex! http://www.box.net/public/d6c1ki0iah Click on the .pub file and hit Save to Disk.

Elessar is offline  
Old 10 Mar 2006, 18:48   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,915
Default Re: Can you fire a mortar from a chimera?

Well, Fluffwise, yes, its feasible, but the accuracy [if there is any with mortars] would be terrible. Seeing as it is a top hatch, it will be placed on the floor of the transport compartment, and it will fire through the open hatch.

Never really thought about it, so kudos for the idea!
Stankov
__________________
"The common soldier must fear his officer more than his enemy." King Frederick the Great, Prussia

[img width=650 height=288]http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a99/GeneralStankov/finalcopy.jpg[/img]
Ge. Stankov is offline  
Old 10 Mar 2006, 18:58   #10 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: BlackBurn, Lancashire, England
Posts: 3,060
Send a message via MSN to Elessar
Default Re: Can you fire a mortar from a chimera?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lt. Cmdr. Stankov
Well, Fluffwise, yes, its feasible, but the accuracy [if there is any with mortars] would be terrible.
i dont see how the accuracy will be affected. mortars work on a basis of co-ordinates, not seeing the enemy. so fireing out of a chimera will be the same as fireing from outside.
__________________
http://world2.monstersgame.co.uk/?ac=vid&vid=31118495
go to the above to help me on a browser game
Download my codex! http://www.box.net/public/d6c1ki0iah Click on the .pub file and hit Save to Disk.

Elessar is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chimera and the 5 fire points chicop76 Imperial Guard 17 02 Feb 2010 19:24
Chimera with 5 fire points! chicop76 Imperial Guard 11 31 May 2009 04:05
why in gods name take a mortar? Amaliel Imperial Guard 32 26 Mar 2007 16:42
Heavy Mortar Elessar Imperial Guard 13 20 Dec 2005 03:41