Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Armored Company
Closed Thread
Old 07 Jan 2006, 21:52   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default Armored Company

Im thinking of starting up an Armored Company IG army and ditching my Tau. I guess I just don't like needing to use their huge mobility to survive.

I read the rules for the Armored Company in the Astronomicon and have been fascinated by it since I love tanks.
Just wondering if there is anything I should know. Will I be able to play it at my local GW shop? Will it be legal for tournies? Whats the best makeup for an AC list? I haven't been able to find too much on them really. I am still fairly new to 40k itself. Ive played my friend with my 750pt tau list about 8 times and havent really liked them.

Thanks,
Simp
Old 07 Jan 2006, 22:00   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal

Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Armored Company

The list is pretty much tourny-legal.

The best way to make an AC force is to keep it cheap, but flexible. Give your HQ the Exterminator or Conqueror, so you have a use for that Bs 4 (Exterminator is best, as it is the most points-efficient tank). If you really want a Vanquisher, take it as an Elite (still Bs 4, but cheaper than when taken as a HQ).

Sponsons are vital. Always take Heavy Bolter sponsons, regardless of your hull weapon... which should be a Lascannon whenever possible. This means that even if you lose your main gun, your tanks can still take on anything the enemy throws at you.

Touch the Doctrines, and die. You cannot afford to waste points on some one-trick gimmick that you'll only need one game in twenty.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Old 07 Jan 2006, 22:25   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper