Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

2 Honorifica queries.
Closed Thread
Old 31 Dec 2005, 00:58   #1 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8,901
Send a message via MSN to Jeff Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff
Default 2 Honorifica queries.

1- If given to a Tech presit does he still keep the 3+ save?

2- Why not give a JO the honorifica and save 5pts over what your HSO would cost? It makes sense and the only draw back is you can't give it to another model. But in small lists the 5pts extra that you save would come in handy and you probly wouldn't give another model the medal anyway.
__________________
Jeff is offline  
Old 31 Dec 2005, 01:42   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,915
Default Re: 2 Honorifica queries.

1. Yes. The medal technically represents training, experience, and skill. Rewarding someone for valour and skill wouldn't decrease thier armour, unless I am missing something...

2. I think the reason is... you technically cannot have a JO lead 2 platoons with a command section in each with a JO. According to 3rd, a platoon is led by a Lietenent [Junior Officer] and a company, by a Captain [SO]. If it was a COmmand Company, it would be led by a Colonel, because he is the leader of the Reggie. He would be an [HSO] by Statline.

The reason they are all on the same page is because GW conserved space. You can't have a lietenent leading a Regiment...

I'm not sure if the above really is official, as I couldn't find a direct reference, but logically, for your Command HQ, you need a SO or a HSO.
__________________
"The common soldier must fear his officer more than his enemy." King Frederick the Great, Prussia

[img width=650 height=288]http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a99/GeneralStankov/finalcopy.jpg[/img]
Ge. Stankov is offline  
Old 31 Dec 2005, 03:16   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seattle Washington
Posts: 43
Default Re: 2 Honorifica queries.

In GW's faq for 4th edition IG they answer the question you had that yes they keep there armor saves. As for equipping the JO with a Honorific Imperialis, the only drawback is that you can't give it to someone else, so yes rejoice you save five points. If you are worried fluff wise just say that the captain was killed in action and there was no time to replace him so because that JO was the most decorated he was put in charge.
__________________
My Army roster

500 pts Radical Daemonhunters (3 years)
wins 2 losses 4 draws 0

Black Templars (Retired @ 5 years)
wins 52 losses 21 draws 19

Dark Angles (Retired @ 2 years)
wins 7 losses 34 draws 0

Mech Eldar(2 years)
wins 13 losses 3 draws 11 2nd Jahxan Heavy Siege Regiment (1 month) wins 1 losses 0 draws 0 ~ A moment of laxity spawns a lifetime of heresy, never forget never forgive.
Jahxius is offline  
Old 31 Dec 2005, 14:41   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Home
Posts: 1,492
Default Re: 2 Honorifica queries.

Precisely. It's cheesy, but legal, to use an honorifica lieutenant as your army commander. Me, I'd rather have two colonels in the same squad, so I take an HSO and an honorifica psycher.
__________________
Due to an error in translation, the isolated colony of T'ves'kal'dai mistakenly worshiped the greater goose for seven generations. Reeducation efforts continue.

Quote:
"Cheese for the cheese god! More wins for Pwn!"
march10k is offline  
Old 31 Dec 2005, 16:46   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Boondocks
Posts: 148
Default Re: 2 Honorifica queries.

Regarding the five points saved giving it to a Junior Officer, I've heard people complain that it can cause problems running into a wargear limit, the idea being that a given model can only have so much extra stuff on him. Of course, the HI is the only piece of wargear I ever give my commander (well, maybe that and a Bolter), so it's not an issue for me.

As to the cheeze/fluff of putting an HI on a JO, I'm all for it, and don't ever use HSOs. The five points do come in handy elsewhere. And there's all manner of heroic fluff that can be used to explain it.
__________________
Captain Austin
2nd Antonian Irregulars (The Lone Stars)
"There's nothin' like a good piece o' hickory."
Captain Austin is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honorifica Imperialis Cal Imperial Guard 14 01 Nov 2008 21:48
A few queries I have elflord9d Dark Heresy 18 12 Apr 2008 00:51
Honorifica shas ek denekai eart Imperial Guard 9 04 Dec 2007 01:35
Honorifica Imperialis? The Lost Waywatcher Imperial Guard 22 20 Jan 2007 12:11
Honorifica questions Commissar_Will Imperial Guard 11 18 Jan 2007 19:24