Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

New Drop Troops Guard Army
Closed Thread
Old 27 Nov 2005, 21:34   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default New Drop Troops Guard Army

I've been reading some posts here and on other forums about Imperial Guard armies using the Drop Troops doctrine.* I have to say the idea sounds rather interesting, so I pulled out my copy of Army Builder and Codex: Imperial Guard to see what I could come up with.* I was trying to build a list that was all "drop-able" so no tanks or transports, just troops and Sentinels.* After a bit of thought this was the basic 1500 "starter" list I came up with.* At this point the only Doctrines I chose were Drop Troops and Special Weapons.* I was considering Light Infantry and Sharp Shooters, but since it costs points to implement either of those I thought I might wait until I decide to expand this list to the local 1850 standard.*

I've never done an IG army before, and this is certainly far from a "standard" IG style list, so if there are any little tricks or especially useful pieces of wargear I should consider, please let me know.* I obviously went for a really troops heavy list here and am relying on Plasma Guns, Meltaguns, and Grenade Launchers for most of my punch.* I'm not sure if I am making a big mistake by not including any lascannon or missile launcher teams, either attached to the HQ or to the Infantry Platoons but I thought the mobility of no heavy weapons might be a good thing for a list like this.* I'd be especially interested in hearing from people who have played with or against Drop Troop lists before.

Thanks!*

1500 Pts - Imperial Guard Roster - Drop Troops

Command Squad @ 179 Pts
* *1 Junior Officer
* * * Laspistol
* *4 Guardsmen
* * * Drop Troops; Vox Caster; Lasgun (x3); Grenade Launcher (x1)
* *6 Special Weapon Squad
* * * Drop Troops; Lasgun (x3); Flamer (x2); Demolition Charge (x1)
* *6 Special Weapon Squad