Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Assualt Question
Closed Thread
Old 12 Sep 2005, 19:13   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 83
Default Assualt Question

Does everyone have to charge at once. Cause im playing dark eldar and i first charge with my jetbikes and then my groteques. Another question is if their are multiple assualts and one squad causes them to fall back (grotesques) can I then use my Jetbikes to I think its called sweeping advance
__________________
Caboose: YOUR TOAST HAS BEEN BURNT, AND NO AMOUNT OF SCRAPING WILL REMOVE THE BLACK PARTS!

Caboose: MY NAME IS MICHAEL J. CABOOSE... AND I HATE BABIES!
Aunshi is offline  
Old 12 Sep 2005, 19:45   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 494
Default Re: Assualt Question

Everyone charges at the same time. You move everything up to 6 inches (or more if special rules) against the opponent. Then after you move all the models in combat, you then fight the combat. So the answer to your question is no. (Unless I'm wrong? Am i, someone?)
__________________
A Massively Multi-Player Web-Based Zombie Apocalypse <Very Fun.
Click Here to get your brain eaten... For FREE!!!!
This statement is false.
[color=Green] How Abbadon got his hax.
[COLOR=DarkOrange]I wish my grass was emo... then it would cut itself.
ZombieKiller is offline  
Old 12 Sep 2005, 20:02   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Yriel of Iyanden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 3,180
Default Re: Assualt Question

In terms of the Assault Phase, everything does charge at once, though in actualilty you move one squad in at a time. So you could declare the charge moves and then physically move the jetbikes in first, if you are worried about exact positioning (such as optimizing contact once the closest models are moved).

If a more than one unit is in combat with a one unit that falls back, then each unit that was "involved in the combat" has the opportunity to pursue. "Involved in the combat" means that the unit has caused/suffered wounds that contribute to the resulting combat score. So if both your grotesques and jetbikes were involved, they both get a chance to pursue (unless your opponent has other units in the combat that did not fall back, then you may not pursue with one of your units that is 'tied up' fighting your opponent's other unit).

Ask Ork/Nid players. It can get awful messy. ;D

__________________
Yriel of Iyanden is offline  
Old 12 Sep 2005, 20:04   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
Posts: 4,656
Send a message via MSN to Hunter
Default Re: Assualt Question

Correct.

Details on the multiple combat part may be found on page 45 of the 4th ed rulebook.
__________________
Do it for KJ


Hunter is offline  
Old 13 Sep 2005, 19:20   #5 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Assualt Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yriel of Iyanden

If a more than one unit is in combat with a one unit that falls back, then each unit that was "involved in the combat" has the opportunity to pursue. "Involved in the combat" means that the unit has caused/suffered wounds that contribute to the resulting combat score. So if both your grotesques and jetbikes were involved, they both get a chance to pursue (unless your opponent has other units in the combat that did not fall back, then you may not pursue with one of your units that is 'tied up' fighting your opponent's other unit).
Partly correct. A unit does not actually have to cause or receive any wounds to be allowed to perform a sweeping advance. It just has to have a model in base-to-base with a fleeing unit it wants to pursue (and the losers must be fleeing with every model that was locked with the unit in question).
khanaris is offline  
Old 13 Sep 2005, 19:35   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
Posts: 4,656
Send a message via MSN to Hunter
Default Re: Assualt Question

And of course, there must be no enemy units left behind to hold your units back. It's not easy to go chasing down those Scouts if the marines fighting alongside them don't let you run.
__________________
Do it for KJ


Hunter is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What can you assualt terminators with? Chapter champion Orks 20 20 Jun 2009 01:19
Hey Drop Pod Assualt anyone!!! Kharvol Space Marines 12 27 Aug 2008 16:15
Assualt suits OVladimir House Rules 7 13 Jan 2006 23:52
assualt team. wonderboy Imperial Guard 3 03 Sep 2005 02:14