Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Settle an argument
Closed Thread
Old 12 Sep 2005, 05:41   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: O'ahu, Hawaii Its pretty nice out here. The rent is something else, though.
Posts: 93
Default Settle an argument

Alright, so I know you have to shoot something you charge, but what is I waste whatever I was shooting, can I charge the dudes behind/right next to em?
Or if I pop a vehical, can I charge the dudes that just scrambled out of the detonating wreck?
__________________
'Conan, What is best in life?'
'To roll large rocks, stack them before you, and hear the exaltation of the hikers.'
Conan The Chaos Marine is offline  
Old 12 Sep 2005, 05:48   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,543
Default Re: Settle an argument

nope, you have to charge the target you shot at...and if you happen to wipe 'em out with shooting before you get to charge, well, that's just too bad
__________________
"Never trust a man who, when left alone in a room with a tea cozy, doesn't try it on" Billy Connolly

"Well, a gathering is brie, mellow song stylings; shindig, dip, less mellow song stylings, perhaps a large amount of malt beverage; and hootenanny, well, it's chock full of hoot, just a little bit of nanny." Oz (Buffy, episode 2, season 3)

"I don't like coke, i just like the way it smells" Unknown

"and in the words of our lord and saviour, jesus christ, **** you if you can't take a joke" The Glass House
BloodiedFangs is offline  
Old 12 Sep 2005, 07:08   #3 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Settle an argument

Quote:
Originally Posted by BloodiedFangs
nope, you have to charge the target you shot at...and if you happen to wipe 'em out with shooting before you get to charge, well, that's just too bad
That's not the rule I know... if you break/wipe out your target, you are free to assault another unit.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline  
Old 12 Sep 2005, 09:07   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,102
Default Re: Settle an argument

The Rulebook says no - if you shoot at a unit, you have to assault it. It does, however, say you can charge multiple squads as long as at least one model reaches that unit and the squad remains in coherency.

~Andromidius
__________________
Tactica Imperial Guard: Conscripts
http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=9751.0
Andromidius is offline  
Old 12 Sep 2005, 09:11   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,543
Default Re: Settle an argument

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
Quote:
Originally Posted by BloodiedFangs
nope, you have to charge the target you shot at...and if you happen to wipe 'em out with shooting before you get to charge, well, that's just too bad
That's not the rule I know... if you break/wipe out your target, you are free to assault another unit.
if you wipe a unit out in an assault, you can sweep into another unit...but if you obliterate it with shooting, then there's no such compensation...hence why its always worth considering whether or not you shoot
__________________
"Never trust a man who, when left alone in a room with a tea cozy, doesn't try it on" Billy Connolly

"Well, a gathering is brie, mellow song stylings; shindig, dip, less mellow song stylings, perhaps a large amount of malt beverage; and hootenanny, well, it's chock full of hoot, just a little bit of nanny." Oz (Buffy, episode 2, season 3)

"I don't like coke, i just like the way it smells" Unknown

"and in the words of our lord and saviour, jesus christ, **** you if you can't take a joke" The Glass House
BloodiedFangs is offline  
Old 12 Sep 2005, 15:16   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6,716
Send a message via MSN to Spiritbw
Default Re: Settle an argument

I have to go with BloodiedFangs on this one. If you wipe the unit you want to assualt out in shooting...oops.
Spiritbw is offline  
Old 12 Sep 2005, 19:57   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
Posts: 4,656
Send a message via MSN to Hunter
Default Re: Settle an argument

Agreed on that.
__________________
Do it for KJ


Hunter is offline  
Old 13 Sep 2005, 00:11   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Settle an argument

You could always just shoot one bolter... >
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubgum
Well, I dont just have a firewall, i have a warpwall, yep, anything bad in my internet connection that touches my warpwall is banished to the warp for eternity.
"Strive For Perfection
And Strike With Precision
Soon It Blows Up In Your Face
And The Smoke Blurs Your Vision"
-Mushroomhead

Formerly Andrew "Ender" Wiggen.
Deaths_Face is offline  
Old 13 Sep 2005, 03:29   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 8,194
Send a message via AIM to Vash113 Send a message via Yahoo to Vash113
Default Re: Settle an argument

Yes they are correct, you absolutely must charge what you shoot at, though you can in adition charge another unit next to them if some of your units can reach them but your initial charge must be at the unit you shot at, that goes for vehicles too. If you shoot and destroy a transport you do not get to assault the now ousted troops. This gives all the Blood Angels and Space Wolf players pause at my local hobby shope. They always have to stop and consider whether to shoot before assaulting.
__________________



Vash113 is offline  
Old 13 Sep 2005, 04:36   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 871
Default Re: Settle an argument

Page 36 of the rulebook:
Quote:
A unit that fired in the shooting phase of the current turn may only declare a charge against the unit it shot at.
Personally I don't understand how this ever came to be a debate in the first place.

And, yes, later on it talks about charging multiple units.
__________________
Man, that's the joy of Anime! To revel in the complete and utter wastefullness of making an unstoppable nuclear-powered combat andriod in the shape of a cute little girl, who has the ability to fall in love and wears an enormous bow in her hair.



Don't tell me that you fell for the MTV lie?
The MTV lie is that people who rebel against tradition are thnking for themselves, while those who follow tradition are just sheep who do not think.
It is, of course, completely untrue. The decision to follow tradition is just as much an exercize of free will as is the decision to depart from it.
Doctor Thunder is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Settle a bet - Lumbering Behemoth special rule Arnorath Imperial Guard 6 13 May 2009 08:20
Need to settle this once and for all. Sidstyler Painting 6 12 Nov 2008 00:09
The Morality Argument Genmotty Serious Debate and Discussion 12 11 Nov 2008 15:52
Can someone please help me with a rule argument? Trogdor The Warhammer World 7 10 May 2007 22:40
The never-ending argument. Yriel of Iyanden General 40K 15 18 Sep 2005 16:54