Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

GenCon and the state of Warhammer
Old 22 Aug 2005, 00:10   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default GenCon and the state of Warhammer

Ok so im very very new to 40k. I fell in love with the models, despite the complexity of the game.
I made the drive to go to gencon for a day, saturday, having found out about it on thursday. I figured there would be everything magic, DnD, youname it. I expected to see warhammer 40k and watch a few agmes, politely, to try and get a firmer grasp of the rules. There were three games. Thats it. There was one booth selling warhammer 40k stuff.

I was shocked. No admitedly there wasnt a Games wrokshop respresentation at the event. But still. I had a disscussion with someone at the formerly mentioned vendors booth about warhammer 40k being in a decline in mass popularity with all the other miniature games flooding the market.

Add on top of this the exorbinant(sp?) prices of being a geek in today's time. The price of 40k being a deterent has been disscssed time and agian. But how does the game as a community seem to you? Is everything ok?I worry that it isnt. I havn't even gotten to play a game yet do to a lack of local players.

Just thought I would get some feedback. I don't mean to offend.
Ci-Lain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Aug 2005, 00:13   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui

Default Re: GenCon and the state of Warhammer

We are doing fine in my area. We get tons of new players all playing SMurfs

When children goto bed they check their bedrooms for the boogie man. When the boogie man goes to bed he checks his bedroom for Chuck Norris
dog face is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Aug 2005, 00:24   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O

Send a message via MSN to arguleon-veq

GenCon and conventions like that don't have much in the way of GW there because quite frankly, GW doesn't need to be there.