Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

shooting casualties clarification
Closed Thread
Old 21 Aug 2005, 19:54   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

Default shooting casualties clarification

maybe its because im still pretty new to the game, and maybe everyone else already does this, but its a rules clarification thats got ME excited... and its something im gonna enforce at my Game Store (since its something NO ONE does that ive seen)

we've all seen it. a Tac Squad with a Missile Launcher is huddled behind a Rhino/Building.. BUT the Missile guy is peeking around the corner to still get shots off. you shoot at the unit (since one model IS visible), and after saves he takes a single Casualty. then the guy takes the meat-shield model away thats clear around the corner. uh UH! against the rules!!!

before you argue that the missile guy could have been the actual casualty, but some other marine picked up the heavy weapon, im not arguing about that: thats not the rule im talking about.

the rule im talking about is 'Torrent of Fire' (Pg 26). you know, that rule that says if you inflict more wounds than models, you get to single out a guy and make him make a saving roll there and then. no biggie i hear you say, but follow me on this:
look at "removing Casualties" on the same page: you can ONLY kill off models that are in line of sight. theres even a picture spelling it out.

i hear more argument forming up out there, so let me cut you off yet AGAIN ... when they say only units visible can take casualties.. then.. (da da dummmm!!!!! ) ONLY the visible models are considered when applying the 'Torrent of Fire' Rule!! this means that if only one model is visible (the missile peeker) and you inflict a wound...... ....... yup! it HAS to be on HIM!!