Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Unit Cohesion question.
Closed Thread
Old 19 Aug 2005, 08:29   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Unit Cohesion question.

Hi, I am new to W40k, well I'm new to it now, I used to play it when I was much younger and have started playing along with my kids (I just cant resist SMurfs).
Last night while playing my son had a untit of 2 landspeeders, one was damaged and crew stunned, meaning it was unable to move, but we could not find out if the other land speeder would have to linger about for it, we decided that until we could check with some guruesq types that we would say it did, but a couple of turns later the speeder was hit again and imobalised, still with the second land speeder, completly unharmed but hovering close by.
It seems strange that even though they were a unit one would be stuck by another in the unit being unable to move.
I was wondering if anyone could point me in the direction of an answer, or better yet know what happens in the situation?

Great site, been reading it for a week or so now, so much to digest!

Thanks.
Old 19 Aug 2005, 08:35   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El

Send a message via MSN to 42
Default Re: Unit Cohesion question.

I am about 90% certain they still have to stay in coherency even if one cannot move for a turn as they should act like any other normal unit. However just remember, if a skimmer like a Landspeeder gets immobilised, it is blown up if it has moved over 6" the previous turn.

Edit: I have found out what the exact ruling is now - page 73 of your rulebook will explain it - basically you can either stay in coherency with the damaged vehicle (4" rather than 2" for a squadron of vehicles) or you can leave it behind and it will automatically count as destroyed.
Old 19 Aug 2005, 10:03   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

On a related note can 2 XV8s in a unit be on opposite sides of a wall but still within 2" and still count as being in unit coherancy ?