Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Unit Cohesion question.
Closed Thread
Old 19 Aug 2005, 08:29   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 20
Default Unit Cohesion question.

Hi, I am new to W40k, well I'm new to it now, I used to play it when I was much younger and have started playing along with my kids (I just cant resist SMurfs).
Last night while playing my son had a untit of 2 landspeeders, one was damaged and crew stunned, meaning it was unable to move, but we could not find out if the other land speeder would have to linger about for it, we decided that until we could check with some guruesq types that we would say it did, but a couple of turns later the speeder was hit again and imobalised, still with the second land speeder, completly unharmed but hovering close by.
It seems strange that even though they were a unit one would be stuck by another in the unit being unable to move.
I was wondering if anyone could point me in the direction of an answer, or better yet know what happens in the situation?

Great site, been reading it for a week or so now, so much to digest!

Thanks.
Earlster is offline  
Old 19 Aug 2005, 08:35   #2 (permalink)
42
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Haddenham, Aylesbury, Bucks, England
Posts: 4,098
Send a message via MSN to 42
Default Re: Unit Cohesion question.

I am about 90% certain they still have to stay in coherency even if one cannot move for a turn as they should act like any other normal unit. However just remember, if a skimmer like a Landspeeder gets immobilised, it is blown up if it has moved over 6" the previous turn.

--42

Edit: I have found out what the exact ruling is now - page 73 of your rulebook will explain it - basically you can either stay in coherency with the damaged vehicle (4" rather than 2" for a squadron of vehicles) or you can leave it behind and it will automatically count as destroyed.
__________________
42 is offline  
Old 19 Aug 2005, 10:03   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 119
Default Re: Unit Cohesion question.

On a related note can 2 XV8s in a unit be on opposite sides of a wall but still within 2" and still count as being in unit coherancy ?

also if they can and 1 is hit with a blast type weapon will the other be protescted if the wall is higher than the model ?

the reason i ask is in a game a while back i had 2 XV8s in a hq squad in some ruins standing on eather side of a wall (2 stories high) and one was hit with a missile launcher (frag) and my opponent clamed that both were hit as both would be under the blast marker but i felt the one on the other side of the wall would be protected from the blast.

* This xv8 hit with missile
----------- 2 story wall
| * second XV8 - would this one be hit with blast

Thanks for any help
__________________
Is the boss 'cause Is the biggest
Wile E is offline  
Old 19 Aug 2005, 11:27   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Royal Leamington Spa, England
Posts: 2,510
Send a message via MSN to Hive Lord
Default Re: Unit Cohesion question.

I am pretty sure that

a) You can put them on both side of the wall

and

b) The blast marker ignores all scenery

Dont quote me on that, but I'm pretty sure that it is right
Hive Lord is offline  
Old 19 Aug 2005, 12:08   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: In my secret lair plotting forum domination....hehe
Posts: 3,804
Send a message via MSN to Tau-killer
Default Re: Unit Cohesion question.

Yep - I'm sure templates ignore scenery when working out what's hit...
__________________
I never bluff, TK.
Tau-killer is offline  
Old 19 Aug 2005, 12:11   #6 (permalink)
42
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Haddenham, Aylesbury, Bucks, England
Posts: 4,098
Send a message via MSN to 42
Default Re: Unit Cohesion question.

If the wall is of the size you desribe I don't think the suits are in coherency. The rulebook states that they must be in an 'imaginary chain', with each link of the chain no more than 2". Now if going over this wall and landing to where the other crisis suits is measures more than 2" they aren't in coherency. Tracing a line of the chain back round the wall will mean they are out of 2" coherency.

Do you get me? In my opinion it comes to common sense that coherency really requires LoS between models...although there is nothing to back up either opion to solid fact.

--42
__________________
42 is offline  
Old 19 Aug 2005, 14:59   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 119
Default Re: Unit Cohesion question.

but XV8s can jump over the wall so the distance is direct not round the wall i think - not totally sure though
__________________
Is the boss 'cause Is the biggest
Wile E is offline  
Old 19 Aug 2005, 15:03   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 876
Default Re: Unit Cohesion question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Earlster
Hi, I am new to W40k, well I'm new to it now, I used to play it when I was much younger and have started playing along with my kids (I just cant resist SMurfs).
Last night while playing my son had a untit of 2 landspeeders, one was damaged and crew stunned, meaning it was unable to move, but we could not find out if the other land speeder would have to linger about for it, we decided that until we could check with some guruesq types that we would say it did, but a couple of turns later the speeder was hit again and imobalised, still with the second land speeder, completly unharmed but hovering close by.
It seems strange that even though they were a unit one would be stuck by another in the unit being unable to move.
I was wondering if anyone could point me in the direction of an answer, or better yet know what happens in the situation?

Great site, been reading it for a week or so now, so much to digest!


Thanks.
Earlster, as a guard player I have encountered this a number of time with sentinels, the rules state that you DO NOT have to stay in coherency with a squadron just because one is immobilised... however, a unit with a crew stunned does have to wait. Think of it as though they are waiting to regroup the squardon before attacking again.

Of course with Land Speeders, an immobilised is a destroyed so no worries there.
__________________
.:Veteran of Agrippina, Cadia and Medusa:.

Hail Olianus Pious! Patron Saint of the Imperial Guard! Savior of the Emperor!
Trillian_1369 is offline  
Old 19 Aug 2005, 16:19   #9 (permalink)
42
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Haddenham, Aylesbury, Bucks, England
Posts: 4,098
Send a message via MSN to 42
Default Re: Unit Cohesion question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wile E
but XV8s can jump over the wall so the distance is direct not round the wall i think - not totally sure though
A two story wall is too big for a crisis suit to jump over in my opinion, as it would require movement of over 2" to get over it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trillian_1369
Earlster, as a guard player I have encountered this a number of time with sentinels, the rules state that you DO NOT have to stay in coherency with a squadron just because one is immobilised... however, a unit with a crew stunned does have to wait. Think of it as though they are waiting to regroup the squardon before attacking again.

Of course with Land Speeders, an immobilised is a destroyed so no worries there.
When a vehicle is either immobilised or stunned in the squadron there are two options (I am speaking from the rulebook here) - stay in coherency with it, or abandon it and it will be removed as a casualty instantly.

Oh and skimmers moving less than 6" per turn crash land when they are immobilised and do not blow up.

--42
__________________
42 is offline  
Old 19 Aug 2005, 20:12   #10 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, Ont.
Posts: 47
Send a message via MSN to Graendal
Default Re: Unit Cohesion question.

Land Speeders need to maintain unit cohersion even if one is crew stunned, however the crew stunned land Speeder will drift forward alittle allowing you to move a small amount.
as for the other questions, unit coherency is maintained by being within 2'' with another model of a unit. So the crisis suits will still be in coherency even through the wall.
__________________
Even Attila the Hun died of a nose bleed.
Graendal is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about Lashing while in a unit. Akaiyou Forces of Chaos 7 18 Apr 2009 03:53
Unit Cohesion Dangerman General 40K 3 20 Aug 2008 15:26
Command unit question Barbed Wind Craftworld Eldar 6 10 Nov 2007 17:27
Skimmer Unit Movement Question Shinsen General 40K 4 10 Apr 2006 22:55
Quick Unit Question ilyanep Necrons 1 17 Mar 2005 01:16