Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

New to 40k, couple of questions
Old 23 Apr 2011, 20:10   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Exclamation New to 40k, couple of questions

I'm relatively new to warhammer, and I've only played a couple of games with my Tau. I have some questions about the game.

1) How does "pinning" work? Not the modeling technique, the combat rule.

2) Can I shoot at targets that are locked in melee combat, assuming the unit(s) shooting are not in melee combat?

3) What's a good substitute for GW primer that isn't as expensive?

4) If a vehicle has multiple weapons systems on it, how can I find out how many I can fire each turn?
Liquid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Apr 2011, 05:57   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Send a message via AIM to Sneaky_Jester Send a message via Skype™ to Sneaky_Jester

All of these questions can be answered in the general 40k rulebook.

1) Pinning occurs when you or your enemy are fired upon by a weapon with the pinning ability. When unsaved wounds are suffered with said weapon, the unit must take a leadership test. If it fails, they go to ground. They receive a +1 to cover saves in this state but can't do anything like move, or attack. They can retaliate if assaulted and that's about it. They take morale checks normally as well. The next turn they're free to move again. This rule does not apply to vehicles.

2) There is only one exception to this rule, when you're playing with three or more players and neither of the two units locked in melee combat are on your team, you can fire at them. Other than that you can not fire on enemy units engaged in melee combat.

3) I don't know any specific brand names, but I shop at the local hobby shops. The Base Exchange at my location used to have a good brand of Testers, but they stopped carrying them.