Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Question about drop pods
Reply
Old 04 Feb 2011, 08:57   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Question Question about drop pods

So I was reading the FAQ for space marines and noticed something that perked my interest.

Directly from the FAQ
"Q: Can you use a Drop Pod on its own, with no squad
inside? (p69)
A: Yes you can."

Now I regularly run a 10 man sterngard who come in on turn 1 with combi-meltas and blast 2 tanks (combat squads) from the drop pod. It has worked awesome so far. But I have noticed that this tactic does not always suite me, and sometimes I would prefer to have them deploy with my regular army.

Can I for instance according to what the faq says, deploy my sterngard (who are dedicated to the the drop pod) with my regular army and then shoot down an empty pod to block LOS from something threatening, or perhaps contest an objective?

If I cannot, then would I have purchase an empty pod to do such a thing. And if so what slot on the FOC would it use?
kalanbennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Feb 2011, 18:20   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
maddosammo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Greater Manchester,England,Great Britain
Posts: 661
Default

kalanbennett;1389459]"So I was reading the FAQ for space marines and noticed something that perked my interest.

Directly from the FAQ
"Q: Can you use a Drop Pod on its own, with no squad
inside? (p69)
A: Yes you can."

Now I regularly run a 10 man sterngard who come in on turn 1 with combi-meltas and blast 2 tanks (combat squads) from the drop pod. It has worked awesome so far. But I have noticed that this tactic does not always suite me, and sometimes I would prefer to have them deploy with my regular army.


Quite possibly but don't count me on it, as there are deathstrike pods.

Can I for instance according to what the faq says, deploy my sterngard (who are dedicated to the the drop pod) with my regular army and then shoot down an empty pod to block LOS from something threatening, or perhaps contest an objective?

probably a pod on it's own.

If I cannot, then would I have purchase an empty pod to do such a thing. And if so what slot on the FOC would it use?

I have no idea really.
__________________
Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and Im not sure about the the universe.
Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

If you're going through hell, keep going.
Sir winston Churchill

maddosammo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Feb 2011, 07:35   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Irtehdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 180
Default

On one side the rules does state a squad does not have to deploy inside a transport even though it is dedicated to them.

On the other hand I believe they must deploy at the same time.
So the real question is: Can drop pods deploy any other way than deepstrike? Theres no SM'ers in my regular group so Im unsure about the rules in that regard. If the Drop Pod must deepstrike then the squad must deepstrike with it I suppose.
__________________
It is supposedly a big deal... Chokolate or vanilla icecream... I say ''Who Cares? Free Icecream!''
Irtehdar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Feb 2011, 19:55   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default

You can deploy the pod via deepstrike and walk the squad that would have been on from the board edge as per normal deployment rules. As for the Force Org spot, it doesn't technically have one, as it's a Dedicated Transport, so it occupies the same one a Rhino or Razorback would.

So, for example, if you wanted to drop the pod on an objective to contest it, (as it obviously cannot capture it) and walk the Sternguard on normally, that's perfectly fine.
VeiledMalice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Feb 2011, 20:42   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Default

I believe that yes, you could easily do such a thing.
But i'm almost 99% sure I read somewhere that you cannot split a squad into 2 teams of 5(combat teams) when they're deepstirking via drop pod.

Can anyone confirm this?
Cannuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
clarification, drop pod, newbie help, tactics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On