Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Should non-bike units be able to take turbo boost in kill team?
View Poll Results: Should non-bike units be able to take turbo boost in kill team?
Yes 2 10.00%
No 16 80.00%
Not sure 2 10.00%
Voters: 20. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
Old 02 Apr 2010, 13:21   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: England
Posts: 2,731
Default Should non-bike units be able to take turbo boost in kill team?

This has recently come up in a discussion on the Tau board.

While the rule turbo-boost doesn't specifically say that it is exclusive to bikes and jetbikes it does sort of imply it and I was wondering what you guys thought, or indeed if anyone can conclusively answer it.

The guy who runs my local GW says they can't but I know a couple of people who he hasn't convinced.
__________________
This is a great community, thanks a million skylight!
Shas vre Tau kais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Apr 2010, 13:24   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,645
Default Re: Should non-bike units be able to take turbo boost in kill team?

When it comes to the USR I think common sense is the order of the day for Kill Team. Common sense says infantry can't turbo boost, a vehicle can't take the swarm rule, etc.
__________________
Thor{DoH} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Apr 2010, 13:28   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: England
Posts: 2,731
Default Re: Should non-bike units be able to take turbo boost in kill team?

Yeah, but with that logic the grey area comes with jump infantry, and thats where the problem I'm having lies.
__________________
This is a great community, thanks a million skylight!
Shas vre Tau kais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Apr 2010, 13:31   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,645
Default Re: Should non-bike units be able to take turbo boost in kill team?

Well, if it were me I'd argue that the only things that ever get turbo boost are bikes, jetbikes, or anything that moves like one of those and if they can find an exception to that rule then I'd allow it on something else.
__________________
Thor{DoH} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Apr 2010, 13:31   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 93
Default Re: Should non-bike units be able to take turbo boost in kill team?

Turbo-boosting Leman Russ 8D

Jokes aside, while any unit can be bestowed the Turbo-Boosters rule (in the same manner that you can give a Zoanthrope Rage if you wanted to for some reason), the rule itself specifies that only bikes and jetbikes can utilize the 24" movement.
Tetrino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Apr 2010, 13:39   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Should non-bike units be able to take turbo boost in kill team?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thor{DoH}
Well, if it were me I'd argue that the only things that ever get turbo boost are bikes, jetbikes, or anything that moves like one of those and if they can find an exception to that rule then I'd allow it on something else.
Maybe Ork trukk too, I could see that, and maybe and I do say maybe, viper and SM skimmer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr X
Yeah, but with that logic the grey area comes with jump infantry, and thats where the problem I'm having lies.
No, I really don't see it. They already have thier boost, by being able to move further, quicker...make them go faster and they will lose consciousness.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Apr 2010, 14:34   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,741
Default Re: Should non-bike units be able to take turbo boost in kill team?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tetrino
the rule itself specifies that only bikes and jetbikes can utilize the 24" movement.
/endthread

Tetrino's right. The first sentence of the Turbo-Boost rule singles out bikes and jetbikes. If you really want to put Turbo-Boost on your specialists, go for it, but don't expect to actually be able to use it unless you're on some form of bike.
Droids_Rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Apr 2010, 14:42   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NS Canada
Posts: 621
Default Re: Should non-bike units be able to take turbo boost in kill team?

Do try and remember there is no rule AGAINST fielding Marvin the Super Grot and retinue of rampaging hippies with 2+ invulnerable save and 1000 S D attacks. The reason you don't see this modest character used is because there is not rules stating you CAN. I mean really, they can't write all the things you can't do, so assume you cannot do them unless a rule says otherwise.
__________________
Alright Blood Angels, who wants to play pin the Tau on the carnifex!
Sau1us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Apr 2010, 15:37   #9 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 440
Default Re: Should non-bike units be able to take turbo boost in kill team?

Damn, I need to change my vote then. Sure, you can give them the rule, you just can't use it unless you're on a bike.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Anonymous
I can't believe games workshop are really that unorganised. The DE codex looks like it was made back in 1970 and yet they're more worried about making sure the space marines are walking around in diamond coated power armour and shooting tyranids with sequin covered bolters
Deris87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Apr 2010, 15:56   #10 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: England
Posts: 2,731
Default Re: Should non-bike units be able to take turbo boost in kill team?

Ok, glad we got this settled.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sau1us
Do try and remember there is no rule AGAINST fielding Marvin the Super Grot and retinue of rampaging hippies with 2+ invulnerable save and 1000 S D attacks. The reason you don't see this modest character used is because there is not rules stating you CAN. I mean really, they can't write all the things you can't do, so assume you cannot do them unless a rule says otherwise.
Thats not really a good example is it? The issue here was that there was a rule but some confusion in the wording as to whether or not it could be used in this situation, its not just making stuff up as you seem to be suggesting.
__________________
This is a great community, thanks a million skylight!
Shas vre Tau kais is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The K Team - a Kill Team Challenge Extartius House Rules 3 19 Mar 2010 09:21
Scout Move and Turbo Boost tyddlywink General 40K 7 28 Mar 2009 16:39
Death Watch Kill Team (for actual Kill Team) HELP. Gabriel666 The Inquisition 6 18 Dec 2007 19:26
Tau Civil Protection Team (for Kill-Team) khanaris House Rules 4 02 Mar 2006 23:51
can necron desroyers use turbo boost? chuckles Necrons 7 23 Aug 2005 21:26