Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Skimmer Tanks Tank Shocking Question.
Reply
Old 20 Mar 2010, 04:49   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Akaiyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,023
Send a message via AIM to Akaiyou Send a message via MSN to Akaiyou Send a message via Yahoo to Akaiyou
Default Skimmer Tanks Tank Shocking Question.

Ok here's a question

If a skimmer pivots and declares that it is tank shocking moving flat out

In it's path there's a Land Raider and behind the Land Raider there's a Space Marine Unit.

Can the Skimmer 'skip over' the Land Raider and only tank shock the marines? Or must it 'tank shock' everything in it's path and thus has to ram the Raider first?
__________________
Back to 40k.
Akaiyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Mar 2010, 04:52   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: That bitter taste in the back of your throat, the one kinda wrapped around your uvula that is all that's left of your Pride.
Posts: 5,841
Default Re: Skimmer Tanks Tank Shocking Question.

To my understanding, the tank hits everything along the line to the target.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circus
It is (and this is an objective statement, looking at examples over the last century) really ****ing hard to terrorise the British.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shas'o Ahab
In parting, I've discovered why Farsight started his breakaway faction...
*Farsight looks at Dawn Blade* "Shiny..."*Farsight picks up Dawn Blade and looks around* "... let's be bad guys."
Quote:
Originally Posted by The man they call Waffles
Jayne you y'xa'uuk legend
The Man They Call Jayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Mar 2010, 04:55   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Akaiyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,023
Send a message via AIM to Akaiyou Send a message via MSN to Akaiyou Send a message via Yahoo to Akaiyou
Default Re: Skimmer Tanks Tank Shocking Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Man They Call Jayne
To my understanding, the tank hits everything along the line to the target.
That would be my understanding as well. That you can't 'skip' over things if the move is a tank shock.
__________________
Back to 40k.
Akaiyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Mar 2010, 20:23   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,958
Default Re: Skimmer Tanks Tank Shocking Question.

RAW is not clear on this at all. In the rules for Ramming and Tank Shocking, the book says that the vehicle must move in a straight line. Clearly, a normal vehicle would have to tank shock everything in its way. The rules for skimmers come later in the book and modify the vehicle movement rules to say that they can move over terrain and units that are in the way. Unfortunately, the book does NOT make it clear whether that ability applies in normal movement only or in all movement including tank shocks. The rules for tank shocking say the vehicle must move in a straight line, but the skimmer rules never make clear whether that is a straight line in 2 dimensions as viewed from the top of the board or whether that is a straight line in all 3 of the dimensions that a skimmer uses.

In my opinion, a skimmer should be able to choose when during its movement it is skimming over something and when it is trying to plow through it. Of course, if it choose to ram / tank shock something that is in terrain it must take a Dangerous Terrain test. Of course, this is my opinion and interpretation; not absolute, canonical truth.
knightperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Mar 2010, 13:20   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 160
Default Re: Skimmer Tanks Tank Shocking Question.

The way I have always seen it is you could choose to pass over the land raider and tank shock the marines.
__________________
There are some who call me.......Tim.
Kalshinko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Mar 2010, 13:45   #6 (permalink)
Zen
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12,937
Send a message via MSN to Zen
Default Re: Skimmer Tanks Tank Shocking Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenai
I got a reply from GW Canada:

[quote Author=Zenai]In a 40K forum I'm in, we have this interesting debate about skimmer and tank shocking.

One member asked this:
My opponent wants to Tank Shock one of my Infantry Squads with one of his Falcons/Wave Serpent BUT one of my Leman Russes were in the way. So, I thought he has to Ram the Leman Russ but he, supported by C_V *shakes fist*, argued that the Skimmer can go OVER the Leman Russ so it can Tank Shock the Infantry Squad. In the BOB, it says it has to go STRAIGHT but since it's endorse by C_V, I didn't want to argue.

For the whole discussion it sparked you can follow this link:
http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=75608.0

But in a nutshell some argue that: Yes he can ignore the Tank becasue it is a skimmer and it can pass over enemy unit (as long as it doesn't stop over them); other argue: No he can't, because tank shock force him to fly low to the ground and he must first ram the Russ and if he survive then ram the infantry squad.

Both sides present good arguments, but I was wondering what in GW ruling on this.

Regards,
Zenai
Quote:
Originally Posted by GW
Wow, that’s the second email I’ve gotten today from the very same topic of that forum.



From reading (and re-reading) the wording of the rulebook, A skimmer may pass over enemy units while moving and since the ramming rules require a vehicle to “contact” the target this does not have to happen. Since there is no specific exception to the “pass over” anywhere in ramming of tank shock that is the only way to interpret the rules.



That said, whenever a rules question is answered it is our interpretation of the rules AS WRITTEN, and not in any way what we feel the “spirit” of the rules are.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenai
That's because I know the guy and you haven't replied him yet. So, since you're services is kinda speedy today, I thought I ask the question.......again.

OK, so even though the Tank Shock Rules say you can't ram through friendly units EVER, Skimmer are an exception to this because they're Skimmers?
Quote:
Originally Posted by GW
Correct, because again, they don’t come in contact.
[/quote]
Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Mar 2010, 13:57   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,741
Default Re: Skimmer Tanks Tank Shocking Question.

I'd agree with GW's team's interpretation. It never says it circumvents the normal rules for movement for that vehicle, just that it must be in a straight line. I'm only a bit worried that this is an odd rule to spring on someone and might lead to irritated opponents, even though it seems pretty solid RAW-wise.
Droids_Rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Mar 2010, 14:03   #8 (permalink)
Zen
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12,937
Send a message via MSN to Zen
Default Re: Skimmer Tanks Tank Shocking Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chapter Master Seth
I'm only a bit worried that this is an odd rule to spring on someone and might lead to irritated opponents, even though it seems pretty solid RAW-wise.
Though a good reason to make Skimmer Tanks more expensive point-wise than conventional Tanks.
Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Mar 2010, 19:52   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,958
Default Re: Skimmer Tanks Tank Shocking Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenai
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chapter Master Seth
I'm only a bit worried that this is an odd rule to spring on someone and might lead to irritated opponents, even though it seems pretty solid RAW-wise.
Though a good reason to make Skimmer Tanks more expensive point-wise than conventional Tanks.
Ask any Tau or Eldar about the price of their skimmer tanks! I think they'll argue that skimmer tanks ARE more expensive than conventional ones.
knightperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Mar 2010, 06:51   #10 (permalink)
Zen
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12,937
Send a message via MSN to Zen
Default Re: Skimmer Tanks Tank Shocking Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by knightperson
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenai
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chapter Master Seth
I'm only a bit worried that this is an odd rule to spring on someone and might lead to irritated opponents, even though it seems pretty solid RAW-wise.
Though a good reason to keep Skimmer Tanks more expensive point-wise than conventional Tanks.
Ask any Tau or Eldar about the price of their skimmer tanks! I think they'll argue that skimmer tanks ARE more expensive than conventional ones.
Fixed :P
Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank Shocking units that just wont move - Question Lord Zambia General 40K 29 26 Mar 2010 19:49
Tank Shocking skimmers question cruton Tau 3 29 Mar 2008 02:26
Tank Shocking other Tanks BurntEskimo General 40K 45 10 Jul 2007 15:16
Tank shocking spacecooky General 40K 3 14 Nov 2006 23:31
Tank shocking tanks Tom Norman General 40K 14 25 Jun 2006 15:44