Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Shooting at transports and assaulting the unit within.
Reply
Old 10 Mar 2010, 18:08   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 742
Default Shooting at transports and assaulting the unit within.

I've heard all over how if a unit shoots at a transport and destroys it, it cannot then charge the now disembarked unit because they may only charge at the unit they shoot at.
So when I saw this video on Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AeUQVF234Co&feature=sub I felt I'd have to correct thier mistake but I was alerted in the comments below to a certain paragraph in the big orange book, page 67, just above the box talking about dedicated transports.

It turns out you can then assault a unit if you blow up their vehicle with shooting. Just thought I'd make people aware of this as I have heard many on this forum declare otherwise.
__________________
cammerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Mar 2010, 18:20   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada, eh!
Posts: 1,191
Send a message via MSN to crazyguy832
Default Re: Shooting at transports and assaulting the unit within.

Yup. Assaulting units from within their asploded transports is downright necessary for some armies. I thought it was a fairly commonly known rule, but there have been a few people at my LGS who wanted to double check it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Odo The Brave
Crazy Guy, you are very disturbing...

Do It! ;D
5th edition stats (W/D/L)
Deathwing: 14/6/3
Tau: 5/0/3
Blood Angels (NEW): 10/1/3
Blood Angels (OLD): 27/5/10
Eldar: 10/0/1
Death Guard: 1/0/0
crazyguy832 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Mar 2010, 19:08   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
greatmaju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The Great U.K!
Posts: 1,383
Send a message via MSN to greatmaju
Default Re: Shooting at transports and assaulting the unit within.

It makes sense. It also made my Dreadnought very dangerous when he exploded a Tau transport, then killed the fire warriors inside it. This was in a 500 Pnt game.

Well, I didn't know, but it seems the GW guy got it right. :P
__________________
My Blog. Its great Fun!*

*Note: may not be fun. contact your Apothecary before visiting.

Armies:
  • 6800 Pnts Templar Guardians (SM)
  • 1500 Pnts Necrons Deathguard.
  • 1000 Pnts Ork SKulGratz
  • ??? Imperial Guard/Inquisition.
greatmaju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Mar 2010, 03:18   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,877
Send a message via AIM to HijiriOni Send a message via MSN to HijiriOni Send a message via Yahoo to HijiriOni
Default Re: Shooting at transports and assaulting the unit within.

I'm with crazy on this one, I've known it for awhile. Because a transport and a unit inside are technically considered one unit, if a transport carrying troops gets near an objective it's still scoring, if a transport suffers an explosion result the crew inside still take damage. It'd be very farfetch'd to say they couldn't assault something after popping it's ride and allowing some of the other rules.
__________________
[img width=650 height=136]http://i578.photobucket.com/albums/ss229/izardknight/BirdyBeakAssaultSquad.jpg[/img]
HijiriOni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Mar 2010, 03:27   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,741
Default Re: Shooting at transports and assaulting the unit within.

I was the first person to comment citing page 67, waaaay early this morning, on that same video. Lookie, it's me, DroidsRule! :P

I've known this for sometime but it's extremely surprising how many people don't. A frequent opponent of mine said I couldn't, then asked the redshirt at our store whom I normally respect, who backed him up, and I had to stick my rulebook in the face of both of them. :
Droids_Rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Mar 2010, 03:52   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,920
Default Re: Shooting at transports and assaulting the unit within.

This was probably one of the biggest rule changes from 4th to 5th and you'd be surprised how many people don't know about it. It will only happen once before they learn though.
scoutfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Mar 2010, 06:29   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 2,182
Send a message via AIM to Jedibean
Default Re: Shooting at transports and assaulting the unit within.

This was actually a bit of confusion that I had a little bit ago. I was always under the impression that the vehicle and the unit inside counted as 2 different units and as such you couldn't assault a unit that was held within a transport. However, this is not the case. It makes those assault oriented armies with melta-guns that much more dangerous now that I know this.
Jedibean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Mar 2010, 06:33   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,741
Default Re: Shooting at transports and assaulting the unit within.

It used to be the case, Jedibean, back in 4th. It's changed since then.
Droids_Rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Mar 2010, 17:09   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,877
Send a message via AIM to HijiriOni Send a message via MSN to HijiriOni Send a message via Yahoo to HijiriOni
Default Re: Shooting at transports and assaulting the unit within.

Of course 4th allowed your units to declare the meltagun shooting the tank, and then everyone else could shoot the troops inside, and then you did shoot that unit so you could assault them. Unless my memory is very bad.
__________________
[img width=650 height=136]http://i578.photobucket.com/albums/ss229/izardknight/BirdyBeakAssaultSquad.jpg[/img]
HijiriOni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Mar 2010, 17:53   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,741
Default Re: Shooting at transports and assaulting the unit within.

I don't recall splitting your fire as such to ever be the case in 4th ed, Oni, and certainly not with the possibility of assaulting the unit afterwards.
Droids_Rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assaulting a unit and a vehicle at the same time. Turok117 General 40K 2 18 May 2009 20:14
Assaulting a long unit from both flanks question Commander_Vimes General 40K 3 05 Mar 2009 12:55
Question Regarding Skimmer Transports and Shooting LOS Semaj7 General 40K 2 04 Mar 2009 00:35
Shooting, with a side of shooting, and cc for dessert. BloodHawk Imperial Guard Army Lists 0 09 Jan 2008 19:16
Shooting and Transports canderous General 40K 4 19 Jul 2006 22:14