Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online (http://forums.tauonline.org/)
-   General 40K (http://forums.tauonline.org/general-40k/)
-   -   Got some rules questions... (http://forums.tauonline.org/general-40k/69142-got-some-rules-questions.html)

Inqui 29 May 2009 21:04

Got some rules questions...
 
...the last time i played against a friend he shook my Devilfish in which there was a Firewarrior squad embarked at that moment.
He then proceeded to claim that, since the BRB states that the vehicle and the passengers can't fire in the next turn, i couldn't shoot him with my Firewarriors after disembarking.

I however argued that this isn't the case, because after disembarking from the Fish the Firewarriors do not count as passengers anymore. The rule is just intended to keep mounted squads from firing through the firing hatches.

(1)Which one of us is right?



(2)Do Disruption pods work against ordnance barrage weapons?

My friend thinks that since the shot is assumed to have been fired from the center of the hole the distance would be 0" even if the shot was fired by a tank more than 12" away.

(3) When a vehicle is immobilized and has lost all of its weapons does it count as being destroyed or do you have to get one more immobilized/weapon destroyed result on top of it?



Clarifications would be very much appreciated ;)




Dezart Fox 29 May 2009 21:32

Re: Got some rules questions...
 
1/Unless the vehicle was STUNNED, then they can fire.

2/Yes disruption pods work.

3/Yes it's destroyed

Wild 29 May 2009 22:52

Re: Got some rules questions...
 
Um, I think you're off here Tim.

1) Shaken and stunned do the same thing to passengers, however Devilfishes have no firepoints, so this doesn't affect them at all.

2) Ordanance weapons you gain a cover save, BARRAGE however you do not, unless you're inside terrain.

3) BRB states that you must suffer one more immobilized or weapon destroyed to be wrecked. So losing all your weapons and then getting immobilized doesn't kill it. Getting another one does.

Dezart Fox 29 May 2009 23:21

Re: Got some rules questions...
 
AH I didn't read right to number 3. You need to lose everything then suffer another result.

1 I thought that if you were stunned you couldnt disembark? Or has that changed now?

2, you're not technically in cover, but it's a special rule, and the firer is more than 12" away. So I'd say you would.

Fish Ead 30 May 2009 00:12

Re: Got some rules questions...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Timjim
1 I thought that if you were stunned you couldnt disembark? Or has that changed now?

I think that may have been a rule in that early draft of the rulebook that leaked. I recall seeing something along those lines, but it didn't make it to the final book.

As for immobilized, weaponless vehicles, yes, it does take one more result to finally kill the darn thing. So you can indeed have a vehicle that is little more than an impromptu bunker.

Zen 30 May 2009 01:17

Re: Got some rules questions...
 
2) For Barrage Weapons (including Ordnance Barrage), you see whether the hole of the template is within 12" of the Devilfish. If it is, then no Cover Save unless you're in Area Terrain. If it's not, then you get a Cover Save.

Watchdog 30 May 2009 07:40

Re: Got some rules questions...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Zenai
2) For Barrage Weapons (including Ordnance Barrage), you see whether the hole of the template is within 12" of the Devilfish. If it is, then no Cover Save unless you're in Area Terrain. If it's not, then you get a Cover Save.

12 inches? :o

Did you mean "blast" or "template"?

HijiriOni 30 May 2009 10:53

Re: Got some rules questions...
 
Yeah the current rules for disembarking passengers are the "They moved before shooting" rules and that's all.

The rules regarding "Multiple weapon/immobilized" results are pretty lame when you play blood angels. Somehow the mechanics forgot to add doors and hatches to my rhinos, so the only way my troops can get out is if the vehicle gets destroyed...OH and the only way to get troops "in" the rhino is to start the game with them loaded into it.

Wild 31 May 2009 03:42

Re: Got some rules questions...
 
Seriously Hijiri, that wasn't really needed on the Blood Angels.

Atticus 31 May 2009 04:12

Re: Got some rules questions...
 
We get it, HijiriOni, you don't like the BA PDF. You don't need to bring it up in every topic you post in. On the subject, though, I've let to play an opponent who didn't let me get out of vehicles, and I allow it when I play against them. That said, I don't run transports except for drop pods in my current builds anyway.

Regarding the disruption pods, I don't know the exact wording of the rule, and I don't have my main rulebook with me, but my immediate thought, based on RAI, is that barrage is intended to avoid intervening terrain but wouldn't ignore area terrain, which I think the disruption pods would act as.


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:20.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
TauOnline.org is completely unofficial and is in no way endorsed by Games Workshop Limited.


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366