Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Power Fists and other Strength Bonuses
Reply
Old 16 May 2009, 07:33   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 310
Send a message via MSN to Zenith_XS
Default Power Fists and other Strength Bonuses

A friend and I were discussing the benefits of giving Black Templar Terminators furious charge. I have always played that strength bonuses do not stack with Power Fists, and am pretty sure last editions rulebook mentioned it. On closer inspection of the 5th edition rulebook I can't find anything about it.

Power Fists - Power weapon, doubles strength (max10), strike at I1
Furious Charge - +1I & S on the charge

How do they work together? Is the base Strength doubled then the Furious Charge modifier applied (in this case S9) or is the furious charge modifier applied first then doubled (S10)? Or was I right in my original assumption that they don't stack?
__________________
"This Dragon has been bled dry and is but a husk, empty and barren. Worthless. I shall make the Dragon bleed once more and let its blood taint the stars."

~Sybaris, High Archon of the Bleeding Dragon Kabal

[br]Click here to feed me a fruit!
Zenith_XS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2009, 07:57   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,933
Default Re: Power Fists and other Strength Bonuses

base str x2 +1

assume you still strike last.

its almost pointless besides monstorous creatures, and clinching a rear rape on a tank.
pepsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2009, 09:38   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
gil galed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 113
Default Re: Power Fists and other Strength Bonuses

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepsi
base str x2 +1

assume you still strike last.

its almost pointless besides monstorous creatures, and clinching a rear rape on a tank.
this, powerfists state you strike at I1 not any form of reduction so increasing your I makes no difference, and power fist double base strength so a marine hits at str 9
__________________
~ Commander Sunstorm reporting for duty - http://forums.tauonline.org/tau-army...-farsight.html ~
gil galed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2009, 10:40   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 674
Send a message via AIM to Wild
Default Re: Power Fists and other Strength Bonuses

One of the Black Templars special rules for the game allows them to gain a bonus in Strength but a loss in Initiative. It also has a clarification stating it doesn't stack with Furious Charge. That's also partially where the confusion lies.
__________________
Wild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2009, 22:58   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ota, Gunma Prefecture, Japan
Posts: 3,764
Default Re: Power Fists and other Strength Bonuses

A Strength 4 model with a power fist and furious charge charging into combat has an effective Strength of 9 for that turn. The box entitled 'Multiple Modifiers' on page 7 of the Rulebook specifies that "If a model has a combination of rules or wargear that both add to and multiply one of its characteristics, first multiply the basic value and then add the extra points".

With regards to Initiative, the rules for power fists on page 42 of the Rulebook state that "attacks with a power fist are always delivered at Initiative 1 (ignore Initiative bonuses from special rules, wargear, etc.)", emphasis mine. Ergo, even on a model with Furious Charge, a power first will still attack only at Initiative 1.

There is no specific rule disallowing power fists to be combined with the effects of furious charge, with the exception of those noted above.
__________________
[table][tr][td]Regards,
MT.[/td][td] [[/td][/tr][/table][hr]What's an abelian group with an associative, distributive secondary operator and the power to corrupt mortals?
[spoiler=Answer]The One Ring![/spoiler]
[hr]
Masked Thespian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2009, 05:38   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada, eh!
Posts: 1,191
Send a message via MSN to crazyguy832
Default Re: Power Fists and other Strength Bonuses

S9 powerfists rule. Being able to penetrate land raiders is not something to scoff at.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Odo The Brave
Crazy Guy, you are very disturbing...

Do It! ;D
5th edition stats (W/D/L)
Deathwing: 14/6/3
Tau: 5/0/3
Blood Angels (NEW): 10/1/3
Blood Angels (OLD): 27/5/10
Eldar: 10/0/1
Death Guard: 1/0/0
crazyguy832 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2009, 10:05   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,877
Send a message via AIM to HijiriOni Send a message via MSN to HijiriOni Send a message via Yahoo to HijiriOni
Default Re: Power Fists and other Strength Bonuses

Yep...one of the old Death Company rules I miss greatly. Rending doesn't equare anywhere near having 2 power fists...or even 1 for vehicle breaking, even with 7 Death Company. I'd rather have 4 S9 hits then 28 hits that only have a chance if someone rolls a 6 and then a 5 or 6.
__________________
[img width=650 height=136]http://i578.photobucket.com/albums/ss229/izardknight/BirdyBeakAssaultSquad.jpg[/img]
HijiriOni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 May 2009, 09:20   #8 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 310
Send a message via MSN to Zenith_XS
Default Re: Power Fists and other Strength Bonuses

Thanks for the speedy responses, this has cleared everything up nicely!
__________________
"This Dragon has been bled dry and is but a husk, empty and barren. Worthless. I shall make the Dragon bleed once more and let its blood taint the stars."

~Sybaris, High Archon of the Bleeding Dragon Kabal

[br]Click here to feed me a fruit!
Zenith_XS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 May 2009, 14:52   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 931
Default Re: Power Fists and other Strength Bonuses

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyguy832
S9 powerfists rule. Being able to penetrate land raiders is not something to scoff at.
chainfist anyone (+5 pts) ?
omegatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 May 2009, 15:14   #10 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: In my Killkrooza, headin' for Earth!
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Power Fists and other Strength Bonuses

Chainfists count as powerfists in all respects except that they roll 2D6 + stength for armour penetration.
e.g.
A S4 person with a chainfist and furious charge assaults a Vindicator; he will roll to hit as normal but will roll S9+2D6 for penetrating the Vindicators rear armour of 10 (which will automatically penetrate)
jimmy_mymail is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furious Charge and Power fists Angel of Death General 40K 14 08 Jun 2010 16:10
Chaos Power Fists and Power Weapon WNxMeteora Forces of Chaos 3 03 Oct 2009 20:12
Power Klaw charge strength skybronco Orks 4 22 Feb 2009 20:22
Power in squads: Fists or Blades? trex238 Space Marines 17 15 May 2008 18:54
power fists confuse me ??? dyk.themuffinman Space Marines 6 09 Nov 2007 01:04