Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online (http://forums.tauonline.org/)
-   General 40K (http://forums.tauonline.org/general-40k/)
-   -   CC attacks (http://forums.tauonline.org/general-40k/61959-cc-attacks.html)

cheaterbane 01 Dec 2008 18:52

CC attacks
 
Quick question as I cant find it in the rulebook (probably hidden somewhere and I don't have the time to search through the stupid thing in one go.....darn work getting in the way.


When in CC, do you have to take all the attacks to which you are entitled?

If I have 2 normal attacks and one for charging on my 10 models, can I just roll the 20? Or do I have to roll all 30?


In case you're asking 'why would you want to?' buddy of mine is trying to figure out how to keep himself locked in CC with a unit of Kroot to avoid getting shot long enough to deep strike his gene-stealers in and shut down my guns.

warriorchris 01 Dec 2008 19:02

Re: CC attacks
 
roll all of the attacks which are the same type of weapon at 1 time, then do a different weapons seperate, for example a squad of space marines attack, then the sergeant with a power sword attacks. It just makes keeping tallies of wounds easier.

Xanzar 01 Dec 2008 19:32

Re: CC attacks
 
page 37 of the rulebook says
Quote:

Originally Posted by page 37, core rulebook 5th edition
... models with that initiative who are still alive must attack.

Then it goes on the detail that
Quote:

Originally Posted by page 37, core rulebook 5th edition
Each engaged model strikes with the number of Attacks (A) on its characteristics profile, plus the following bonus attacks:

which include assaulting, weapons ,etc.

The only possible catch (which I would consider iffy) is that it says
Quote:

Originally Posted by page 37, core rulebook 5th edition
It does not matter if all the enemies that they were engaged with have been killed - if a model was engaged at the start [of] the fight ... it can still attack.

In case you haven't been reading the Tyranid Instinctive Behavior thread, I'm talking about the wording of "can still attack" rather than something like "must still attack". I'm not trying to start anything, like I mentioned I'm pretty sure you are still required to fight.

WintermuteSwarm 01 Dec 2008 20:19

Re: CC attacks
 
Eh, that portion is null because of the rule stating they must attack. The part saying "if a model was engaged at the start [of] the fight..." is only clarifying that even if the model is not engaged because the models he was engaged with had died he still gets to attack so long as he was engaged at the beginning of the fight.

However, I'm sure you could interpret the rule to mean that you have to attack if engaged, but if you become disengaged you can choose whether or not to attack. Guh, symantics :-P

I think realistically all models would be fighting as hard as they can; not necessarily to kill, but to not die and if that means wiping out the unit before they intended to then so it goes i suppose.

Xanzar 01 Dec 2008 20:24

Re: CC attacks
 
Now that you mention it, yeah, that part saying you must attack when it comes time for your initiative does settle that "can" part. Basically, if you can then you must.

cheaterbane 01 Dec 2008 21:04

Re: CC attacks
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Xanzar
In case you haven't been reading the Tyranid Instinctive Behavior thread, I'm talking about the wording of "can still attack" rather than something like "must still attack". I'm not trying to start anything, like I mentioned I'm pretty sure you are still required to fight.


Sweet, that's what I was hoping.

Possibly the 'can still attack' is if your opponent removes models in base contact first, then its possible if your slower initiative model was using the 'within 2 inches of a model in base contact' as eligible to fight rule, then maybe they couldn't fight anymore correct?


That would be the only thing that springs to mind is since you do model removal per initiative, then its possible that you aren't near and of the 'bad people' to hit when its your turn to swing.

Xanzar 01 Dec 2008 21:34

Re: CC attacks
 
That's what the whole sentence is about. It's saying that if the enemy picks off the front line engaged models first that when it comes to the lower initiative models that are no longer engaged with any enemy models they can still attack. Those attacks, like all others, still get allotted to the entire enemy unit. Plus, as WintermuteSwarm brought back into clarity, a previous sentence in the close combat rules says that when a model's initiative value is up to attack, if they are still alive they must attack. So if your enemy cleans out the front line, the lower initiatives are required to still attack. You can't choose not to.

FritzManstein 02 Dec 2008 20:32

Re: CC attacks
 
Perhaps it would be easiest to avoid arguing over the rules and simply arrange the models as to minimize the number of attacks that are dealt? Hitting a position with a column, with each model barely within coherency ensures that, even with the six inches of assault and two inches within base to base, only a small number of models are attacking.

It works, too. I rammed a column of Chaos Space Marines into a group of Fire Warriors, hoping to only kill one or two and force the combat to be resolved on the Tau player's turn, when my Champion with a Powerfist and the remaining Marines piled in. I hit him with only fifteen attacks on that charge, and he tested his leadership at only 7.

Of course, he failed it exactly because I wanted him to pass it, but that's life. The principle is still sound.

Darth_Fraggle 02 Dec 2008 20:55

Re: CC attacks
 
That really shouldn't work all that well, because you have to move a full 6" and he has to move a full 6" back in order to engage as many as possible. It's my personal opinion that any sort of "trying not to do you best in CC" is against the spirit and letter of the rules.


All times are GMT. The time now is 19:46.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
TauOnline.org is completely unofficial and is in no way endorsed by Games Workshop Limited.


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366