Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

FNP question???
Reply
Old 29 Nov 2008, 23:36   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,399
Default FNP question???

FNP states that you do not get to use FNP for anything that does not allow an armour save. So with that in mind if the shot that hits your FNP unit has an AP that can punch, ignore your armour, do you get FNP?
Hyena031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Nov 2008, 23:38   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,961
Send a message via MSN to icer190
Default Re: FNP question???

Correction, FNP is ignored at Double toughness or more, AP1 or 2, or a weapon that ignores Armor Saves in CC.

So, you dont get FNP for the ONE wound that is caused by one of the above weapons.
icer190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Nov 2008, 23:42   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,399
Default Re: FNP question???

The rule does not meantion anything about close cbt weapons which leads me back to my question. I will give an example this time though. If a 1kson marine shoots at a Plague Marine with his Ap3 bolter and causes a wound does the plague marine get feel no pain. The way I read FNP rule is that the Plague Marine would not get his FNP.
Hyena031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Nov 2008, 23:57   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ont, Canada
Posts: 307
Default Re: FNP question???

I would assume as you don't get a save then you don't get FNP. :-\
__________________
We are all but a weapon in the right hand of the Emperor.

But you don't want to know what he does with his left...
Twiggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Nov 2008, 00:09   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Greensboro, MD
Posts: 46
Default Re: FNP question???

You would definitely get your FNP. The rule states "This ability cannot be used against wounds from weapons that inflict instant death (by having a high enough strenth or a spcial rule to that effect; even if the model is an eternal warrior). Neither can it be used against wounds from AP1 and AP2 weapons, power weapons, and any other wound against which no armour save can ever be taken" and then goes on to list some weapons which never allow saves. If the attack does allow armor saves, even if they don't allow yours specifically from being AP3 then you still get your FNP.

Think about it. Otherwise they wouldn't include the AP1 and AP2 weapons part :-P

__________________
Hive Fleet Aku
WintermuteSwarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Nov 2008, 00:13   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Inside Your Head
Posts: 562
Default Re: FNP question???

Wrong. the rule explicitly states that the ability is only ignored by AP1 and 2 weapons, power weapons and other wounds against which the model would NEVER get a save. AP3 still allows saves, though only 2+ saves, so the Nurgle marine would get his FNP in that situation.

quote from the universal special rules page:
"this ability cannot be used against wounds from weapons that inflict instant death... Neither can it be used against wounds from AP1 and AP2 weapons, power weapons, and any other wound against which no armour save may ever be taken (like wounds from power fists...rending weapons that roll a 6, Perils of the Warp, failed dangerous terrain tests etc)"

hope this helps.

==Arn==

*edit* damnit, you ninja'd me!
__________________
Quote:
I'm the voice inside your head
That you refuse to hear
I'm the face that you have to face
Mirrored in your stare
I'm what's left, I'm what's right
I'm the enemy
I'm the hand that'll take you down,
Bring you to your knees.
Arnorath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Nov 2008, 00:19   #7 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Greensboro, MD
Posts: 46
Default Re: FNP question???

Haha, sorry. I had ta say something. I lost the first round of GT to the lash army I explained in the topic 'what can be done about double lash armies?' because of this very rule. He ended up with a single plague marine holding one objective and another single plague marine holding another :-/
__________________
Hive Fleet Aku
WintermuteSwarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Nov 2008, 00:28   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 7,663
Default Re: FNP question???

Just to concur for consensus sake. A Plague Marine getting hit with a AP3 weapon would still get his FNP roll. An Ork Nob with Painboy getting hit with an AP4 weapon would still get his FNP rule. The only exemptions are the ones in the FNP rule.
Farseer_Emlyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Nov 2008, 02:07   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,933
Default Re: FNP question???

Feel no pain is for the machoest of warriors. Just because the armor wears, the body can either feel nothing, or even dismembered keep fighting.

For a funny demonstration watch this Monty Python Black Knight fight

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjEcj8KpuJw

USUALLY ap 3 is associated to bigger guns, but as a result of say thousands sons, youll have nothing to fall back on besides feel no pain in this case. Its handy to have, not to be relied on though, people learn how to kill these.

curious however, if you fail a cover save, can you use feel no pain permitted it doesnt instakill you, and its not ap 2-1?
pepsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Nov 2008, 02:11   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,830
Default Re: FNP question???

i think you would, a cover save is still a type of save and FNP is rolled after failed saves
__________________
Kansas city club at frostreaver.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by USAFTACP
You're playing the wrong game if you're concerned with things looking look like toys...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Steel (Aun Leketh)
I have a response to that... it involves a dreadsock... :P
steck_638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tzeentch Lord Question and Daemone weapon question. majonga Forces of Chaos 2 12 Apr 2008 00:32
Rules Question. (possible noob question) TheLetterV Tau 8 22 Dec 2006 23:34