Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

LOS LOL?
Reply
Old 25 Nov 2008, 10:42   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,519
Default LOS LOL?

I have not yet played a game by the new 5th edition rules, but I have a question about the new Line Of Sight rules:

How strict are they? Can any part of the model that is seen make it a valid target? see the following examples...

- An assault marine is on a flight base making him taller then the terrain he is in front of. Is he a valid target?

- A character is standing on a customised base making him taller then the rest of his unit he is with, and the unit that is screening him. Is he a valid target?

- a model has a part of its arm exposed past the edge of a building, but the base isn't visible to the opponent. Is it a valid target?

- a banner on the back of a marine is seen over the top of a barricade. Can he be shot at?

- A model that could be assumed to be able to crouch behind cover, is instead standing tall as he is modeled. Is it tough luck and still be able to be shot at?

__________________
Col.Angus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Nov 2008, 12:08   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,961
Send a message via MSN to icer190
Default Re: LOS LOL?

1. Yes, I've had it happen to me and I've been meaning to go back and re-do my Assault Marine bases.

2. If he is attached to the unit, no. However, if he is behind them, then yes.

3. No, they included the same old bit about weapons, arms, and banners.

4. See above.

5. Yes, he would still be able to be shot at, as he is visible, but will get the cover save.

Does that help at all?
icer190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Nov 2008, 12:18   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,519
Default Re: LOS LOL?

So by the same logic that makes the example 1 be able to be shot as, does he get improvements to his own LOS being on a flight base?

What Im getting at is that its an anal rule thats not allowing for common sence. So if I put my same assault marine on a wire post that put him 5 feet off the table surface from his base, he would be invulnerable to enemy fire?
__________________
Col.Angus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Nov 2008, 12:37   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 3,435
Default Re: LOS LOL?

Note that the rulebook explicitely says that players should not be punished for cool bases. So, no.
If the only reason you see an infantry model is because it has a cool base (or is on a flying stand, as far as jump troops are concerned), then you can't shoot at them at all.

I'm afraid, Icer, that you've redone your Assault Squad because someone cheated on you..


Cheers,
-Bone
CmdrBonesaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Nov 2008, 12:51   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri
Posts: 8,838
Send a message via AIM to Sidstyler Send a message via MSN to Sidstyler
Default Re: LOS LOL?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Col.Angus
So by the same logic that makes the example 1 be able to be shot as, does he get improvements to his own LOS being on a flight base?
One would think. If your opponent insists he can shoot him then I'd insist on getting the improved LOS. He's a cheat otherwise.

Personally though the "right" thing to do would be to draw LOS to where the model "would" be normally. You shouldn't be penalized because you modelled them flying/kneeling and the book even says as much IIRC.
__________________

Warhams is serious business.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redbeard
Knowing the rules is not WAAC. Bringing tough lists is not WAAC. Acting within the scope of the rules is not WAAC.
Sidstyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Nov 2008, 12:53   #6 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: LOS LOL?

The rules do state you treat models as how they "should" be. Thus, a Crouched Marine can be shot at by firing at the empty space above his head, because he should be stood up. Likewise, you can track LoS for that model as if he were stood up.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Nov 2008, 13:15   #7 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hong Kong, China
Posts: 13
Send a message via MSN to KC The Greater
Default Re: LOS LOL?

The LOS rule takes account of the "standing height" of the model, both shooter and target, that's all, or else I wouldn't have my Farsight 100 mm above ground with his blade piercing through a warboss (sideways, imagine how big that is! )!

And Icer, unfortunately, I believe you are being cheated at.
__________________
"One of their light walkers carried a weapon of lethal effect. It fired a form of ultra-high velocity projectile. I saw one of our tanks after having been hit by it ... The tiny munition had passed through the vehicle with such speed that everything within the hull not welded down had been sucked out through the exit hole. Including the crew. We never identified their bodies, for all that remained of them was a red stain upon the ground, extending some twenty metres from the wreck."
-- Major Kane, Mordant 607th HAR
KC The Greater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Nov 2008, 13:18   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri
Posts: 8,838
Send a message via AIM to Sidstyler Send a message via MSN to Sidstyler
Default Re: LOS LOL?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
Thus, a Crouched Marine can be shot at by firing at the empty space above his head.
Just like Counter-Strike: Source!
__________________

Warhams is serious business.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redbeard
Knowing the rules is not WAAC. Bringing tough lists is not WAAC. Acting within the scope of the rules is not WAAC.
Sidstyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Nov 2008, 13:42   #9 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,961
Send a message via MSN to icer190
Default Re: LOS LOL?

Meh, its happened once, and the first game of 5th ed.

Plus I've only used them that one time in 5th ed, and have not redone the bases yet.
icer190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Nov 2008, 15:06   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,519
Default Re: LOS LOL?

thats all good news for me, thanks All. I too model the crap outta my guys so I didnt want to get pinched.

I actually got paranoid before the release of 5th and made my Shas 'O able to be swapped between an enhanced base and a vanilla base.
__________________
Col.Angus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On