Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

A question on transports
Reply
Old 23 Oct 2008, 20:27   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 360
Default A question on transports

I have heard people mentioning that you can destroy a transport with say a dread and then charge the passengers after they have come out of the transport with the dread? I know you couldn't do this in 4th but they say that 5th has changed this.

My question is what page in the rule book does it say this on?
space wolf bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Oct 2008, 00:19   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Currently abord battlebarge terminus est.
Posts: 793
Default Re: A question on transports

Well it depends on how the dread destroys the transport, a squad or a dread may shoot (an assault weapon of course) that destroys a transport, then the squad inside the transport has to disembark allowing the squad shooting to charge them.
Now normally a squad shooting at a target cannot charge a different target. Now if the dread were to charge the transport, distroy it, then try to charge the passengers you would be making a mistake, allowing a unit to make multiple combats per turn.

My imperial guard and tau are very thankful for this..
__________________
"They shall be my finest Cannon Fodder, these men who give themselves to me. Like clay I will mold them and in the furnace of war they will become cracked and broken. They will be of tissue paper and whimpy muscle. In tissue paper armor I clad them and with the mightiest flashlights they will be armed. They will be touched by every sort of plauge or disease to help further make them unhappy, all sickness will blight them. They will have almost no tactics, strategies, but lots of machines so that they can atleast stand up to a foe in battle. They are my tar pit against the Terror. They are the bulk of Humanity. They are my Imperial Guard and they will know much fear!"

A fortress circumvented ceases to be an obstacle. A fortress destroyed ceases to be a threat. Do not forget the difference.
- Attributed to Leman Russ

My armies may sleep, but big guns never tire.


Surrender - or die.
Typhon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Oct 2008, 05:51   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 17
Default Re: A question on transports

Quote:
Originally Posted by space wolf bob
My question is what page in the rule book does it say this on?
Have a look at page 67 of the Rulebook. There's a 'Note' just under the 'Destroyed! - explodes' explanation that covers assaulting units that where forced to disembark a destroyed transport with the unit that destroyed the transport.
__________________

I'm better at L5R than I am at 40K.
PlaguedOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about non-dedicated transports Tetrino General 40K 14 28 Feb 2010 07:55
noob question regarding transports Guitardian Space Marines 9 05 Dec 2009 01:09
Question about transports megagnat1 General 40K 7 21 Mar 2009 18:11
Question Regarding Skimmer Transports and Shooting LOS Semaj7 General 40K 2 04 Mar 2009 00:35
Quick Rule Question - Markerlight and Transports Jonagon Tau 19 17 Nov 2008 06:20