Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Warhammer 40k 2nd Edition
Old 04 Oct 2008, 22:02   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui

Send a message via MSN to Adam Baker
Default Warhammer 40k 2nd Edition

Hello, my fellows.

Last night, I acquired the 2nd Edition Rulebook of the Warhammer 40k game... And the rules, being a little similar to Fantasy, are really nice in my opinion (I gave the rulebook a quick look, nothing too detailed).

The point of the post, is to ask more veterans players, if they could give me more information about playing on 2nd Edition, if it is more difficult, or if it is not worthy of time.

Thanks.
Adam Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Oct 2008, 22:28   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O

Default Re: Warhammer 40k 2nd Edition

2nd Edition was great. Rules like Overwatch changed the dynamic of the game entirely. The problem was that the rules incorporated so many "neat" little rules toys that the game became cumbersome. I started playing in 2nd edition and really enjoyed it (obviously, because I'm still playing). But there is a reason why they eliminated most of the specialty rules from the game.
Farseer_Emlyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Oct 2008, 23:49   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui

Thanks, Lord Apothecarius Aureus.

Yes, I knew about the abuse of the overwatch that went on in 2nd Edition. Is it also too "Herohammer"? Or it is not?
Old 04 Oct 2008, 23:57   #4 (permalink)
Shas'O

Send a message via AIM to deraj Send a message via MSN to deraj

I think the thing about 2nd ed was that with all the rules, it almost forced you into much smaller games. That was part of the reason I loved it so much, every battle felt epic, no matter how small. Bigger games got long and agravating though.
deraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Oct 2008, 00:05   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexander
Yes, I knew about the abuse of the overwatch that went on in 2nd Edition. Is it also too "Herohammer"? Or it is not?