Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Dawn of War Deployment Question
Reply
Old 22 Sep 2008, 20:35   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Default Dawn of War Deployment Question

I had a question regarding the Dawn of War deployment, on page 93 or the rulebook it states
Quote:
"...He then can deploy up to two units from his Troops selections and up to one unit from his HQ selections..."
So does this mean you can choose to not delopy any troops or a HQ? This is the way I interpret the rules and it seems a little weird.
killmaimburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2008, 20:48   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,345
Default Re: Dawn of War Deployment Question

Yes, this was mentioned a little in an earlier topic. So I take it as, you can deploy up to what it says, but you can deploy less. However, I also believe that you must deploy something aswell (it was debated as to whether you could deploy nothing).
__________________


-By Timjim
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord-General Thunder
If you want durability, you play Space Marines. If you want strength, you play Tyranids.

If you want to dump firepower into your enemy until not even dental records will be enough to identify them, you play Imperial Guard.
Dan_teal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Sep 2008, 20:49   #3 (permalink)
Zen
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12,937
Send a message via MSN to Zen
Default Re: Dawn of War Deployment Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by killmaimburn
Quote:
"...He then can deploy up to two units from his Troops selections and up to one unit from his HQ selections..."
The Bold words are the magic words Your opponent may deploy up to 2 Troops and 1 HQ or 1 HQ and 1 Troop or 2 Troops or none at all and they come in Reserves

EDIT: Ninja'd. Damn you, Solar :P
Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Sep 2008, 14:55   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 500
Default Re: Dawn of War Deployment Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Solar, Master of Armour
I also believe that you must deploy something aswell (it was debated as to whether you could deploy nothing).
I believe you have to have at least one unit present on the table or the game is finished... in this case, before it began.
__________________
DarthIbis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Sep 2008, 16:34   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Brampton Ont. Canada
Posts: 6,441
Default Re: Dawn of War Deployment Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthIbis
I believe you have to have at least one unit present on the table or the game is finished... in this case, before it began.
I don't believe there is such a rule. If there were, armies like Daemons, Drop Troopers and Drop Pod Marines would lose half their games before they even began!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch: the noob
Is it just me, or does Fish Ead really love to use a Dreadsock?...
I'd hate to get on his bad side... >
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiwaz
Fishy has just proved to me that Canadians CAN be scary...
Fish Ead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Sep 2008, 19:18   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 500
Default Re: Dawn of War Deployment Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish Ead
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthIbis
I believe you have to have at least one unit present on the table or the game is finished... in this case, before it began.
I don't believe there is such a rule. If there were, armies like Daemons, Drop Troopers and Drop Pod Marines would lose half their games before they even began!
Sorry. I should clarify.
In Dawn of War, it seems that you may start with the table clean, but you bring in your non-reserve units during your movement phase of the first turn.

The rule I was thinking of says that if you end any turn with no units, you lose. (p. 90: Wipeout! rule)
So, you have to deploy either in the set-up, infiltrate, scouts, or during the first turn.
__________________
DarthIbis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Sep 2008, 22:33   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Records Expunged
Posts: 623
Default Re: Dawn of War Deployment Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthIbis
Sorry. I should clarify.
In Dawn of War, it seems that you may start with the table clean, but you bring in your non-reserve units during your movement phase of the first turn.

The rule I was thinking of says that if you end any turn with no units, you lose. (p. 90: Wipeout! rule)
So, you have to deploy either in the set-up, infiltrate, scouts, or during the first turn.
Actually the rule is talking about ending any mission with no units left. In that case, you loose. I believe that is to prevent someone who got wiped out (but scored more kill points) from claiming victory from beyond the grave. :P
TB
__________________
Dirac Angestun Gesept calls. You know where.
TopBanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Sep 2008, 04:29   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via AIM to razgriz_cipher
Default Re: Dawn of War Deployment Question

Actually Top banana is right in that sense. Also it make it so you do not have to calculate victory points if everyone is dead on one side and the other side has no scoring units left. This is at the end of the game it does not matter in the beginning.
__________________
Quote:
<Wargamer[TO]> - I figure it should go boom by spirit of the rules
razgriz_cipher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Sep 2008, 13:49   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 500
Default Re: Dawn of War Deployment Question

Ugh... sorry guys. I totally misread the sentence. It does say mission.
__________________
DarthIbis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Concerning Dedicated Transports and Dawn of War deployment. MDRedeemer General 40K 22 26 Feb 2010 18:26
Quick question on dawn of war deployment? rotwiler General 40K 9 15 Aug 2009 00:21
Dawn of war deployment issues gas19d Imperial Guard 18 30 Dec 2008 02:40
IG Command Squad Deployment - Dawn of War Akaiyou Imperial Guard 19 22 Dec 2008 11:32
Dawn of War Deployment and Devilfish Transports RockoRobotics Tau 20 17 Aug 2008 02:25