Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Shop honor vs. Discount sellers
Old 21 Sep 2008, 21:56   #1 (permalink)
Shas'O

Default Shop honor vs. Discount sellers

Admittedly, I am new to the whole in-store gaming scene. I've never had a store where I could go game, meet gamers and shop at. I'm used to purchasing my figures from one of two 20% off dealers with whom I've developed good business relationships.

This brings me to a sort of conundrum. My shop offers no such discount. This bothers me because I can readily get models (typically within a week) for 20% off with no shipping from another dealer. For purchases of 1-2 items, this isn't a big deal. But when I purchase a pile of models, well, it can add up quickly.

Take last night for instance. I dropped $200.00 at my shop on various Eldar goodies. Had I bought these from a discount dealer, I would have saved $40.00. That's a couple date nights with my wife or even another Wave Serpent.

So why should I continue to buy from my local store? My reason for this purchase was simply to consider that $40.00 as "rent" for being able to game there. In the grand scheme of things, it's not a huge deal, I suppose. But my wife is a cheapskate and I think I might be getting it second hand. :P

In all seriousness. What is the protocol here? Do I go back to buying from the discount vendor? Do I talk to my store owner and ask for a discount? Do I simply buckle down and pay the higher price as a sort of "tribute" for invading his store every Saturday and using his tables & terrain?
Farseer_Emlyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Sep 2008, 22:03   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Send a message via AIM to Sinsparagon
Default Re: Shop honor vs. Discount sellers

You should have to buy things at a store to feel welcome, I don't buy things at the local games stores around me because of the discount I get online.