Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Skimmers Shooting Over Line-of-Sight Blocking Terrain?
Reply
Old 22 Aug 2008, 21:37   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,431
Default Skimmers Shooting Over Line-of-Sight Blocking Terrain?

Hello.

I recently played a battle against my father who was playing Eldar and fielding a Fire Prism. He decided to place his Prism behind a block of woods which blocked line of sight from me to him but he claimed that the skimmer could shoot over the terrain because it came back down to land (after hovering) at the end of the turn.

I found this rather unfair and so did my Tyranid Warriors and we checked the rules. They state that the skimmer comes down to land at the end of it's move.

I am arguing that once the skimmer has finished moving (in the movement phase) it comes back down to land and is not hovering (thus giving it line of sight over the terrain) during the shooting phase because of the italicized quote above. It seems to me as though once the skimmer has finished moving it cannot then hover in the air and shoot over terrain during the shooting phase.

He is arguing that landing takes place at the end of the turn rather than the end of the shooting phase.

Can anyone clarify this in any way? An FAQ article entry would be best but clarification in any other way would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

-Lord of the Pit
Frosty05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Aug 2008, 21:41   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 930
Default Re: Skimmers Shooting Over Line-of-Sight Blocking Terrain?

You use true line of sight. If you can see the tank, you can shoot it. Conversely, if the tank can't see you, the tank can't shoot you. Remember that it has to be on a flier base. It should be noted, then, that this will often give the skimmer line of sight to things which other tanks would not see, and vice versa.

However, there is no imaginary 'floating' going on, except during the movement phase.
__________________


"In the nightmare future of the far future there is only war." - Apocalypse
O Y Montyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Aug 2008, 21:44   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ummmmm...
Posts: 45
Default Re: Skimmers Shooting Over Line-of-Sight Blocking Terrain?

The rule clearly states, at the end of it's move, I would take that to mean when it stops moving, which is at the end of the movement phase. (unless skimmers can move during the shooting phase now... :) So it would have landed before shooting. However, I do not know what the 5th ed rules say on skimmers landing and true LOS, I still need to get my own rulebook
__________________
The Enrichment Center reminds you that the weighted companion cube will never threaten to stab you, and in fact, cannot speak.

(\_/) this is bunny
(0.o) please copy and paste this into your sig and
'(__)' help him achieve world domination

Hoi, hoi, u embleer hrair
m'saion ule hraka vair
woogmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Aug 2008, 04:02   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 526
Default Re: Skimmers Shooting Over Line-of-Sight Blocking Terrain?

Seems I overlooked this rule before but now that it's been brought to my attention, it's fair to say it's fishy and has to be a mistake. I'm sure this game wasn't made to be played like this. 3 Armor Piercing wounds kills only one character? Ludicrous.
ct_drummer_boi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Aug 2008, 05:58   #5 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Skimmers Shooting Over Line-of-Sight Blocking Terrain?

As stated, you use the exact position of the vehicle to draw line-of-sight. You can not lift the vehicle to fire over intervening terrain during the shooting phase, and skimmers must be mounted on standard flying bases, or to an equivalent height on scenic bases.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Aug 2008, 06:14   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bonn, Germany
Posts: 2,725
Send a message via MSN to legio mortis
Default Re: Skimmers Shooting Over Line-of-Sight Blocking Terrain?

I would use common sense in this. If he moves it so it's hovering above the trees, let him shoot. But that means that you can shoot him back as well. He can't move during the assault phase.
__________________
But seriously, a Guardsman, I'm willing to bet, could a) outshoot me, b) give me the beating of my life, and c) shove more squad-based tactics down my throat than I'd ever care to digest. Guard are hard, hard men. Whether or not GW's inconsistent, Marine-worshipping fluff keeps with that, mkay?

Real men fight in tanks!


sig by Kais

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nox
Legio why do I always imagine you shouting when I read your posts? :P
legio mortis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
line of sight Super heavy gunner General 40K 8 13 Dec 2007 02:50
Line of Sight and Terrain? Rule clearification wanted. Chton General 40K 7 13 Feb 2007 21:10
Line of Sight from WYSIWYG terrain across Area Terrain (question) Gramlin General 40K 15 11 Oct 2006 15:23
Devilfish blocking assault but not LOS for shooting BugHunter65 Tau 4 18 Sep 2005 23:44
Skimmers and line of sight. Hunter General 40K 6 17 Dec 2004 21:07