Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

tank shock IC question
Reply
Old 12 Aug 2008, 01:15   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via AIM to razgriz_cipher
Default tank shock IC question

If an independent character is pushed back form a tank shock into his own units does he join them or is he destroyed? I think it ends up being destroyed but that sounds weird and I wanted to check to see if i am reading this wrong. I doubt this is rules as intended.
__________________
Quote:
<Wargamer[TO]> - I figure it should go boom by spirit of the rules
razgriz_cipher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Aug 2008, 04:18   #2 (permalink)
lonely tau
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: tank shock IC question

Well, at first I was just going to say NO, but upon further reading...

Under 'Trapped!" on page 45, it says that if the unit cannot make a full fall back move, it is destroyed. Likewise, it says that it may move around any obstructions, enemy and friendly models.

So I guess that if the model cannot move however many inches in a certain direction that would be towards the the table edge (ie, if they had to move anywhere that wasn't backwards at any degree of an angle, they would be destroyed. I'm not sure of parenthesized bit, but I think otherwise it's pretty good.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12 Aug 2008, 04:23   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via AIM to razgriz_cipher
Default Re: tank shock IC question

No I meant sort of forced to move within 2" of the friendly unit.
__________________
Quote:
<Wargamer[TO]> - I figure it should go boom by spirit of the rules
razgriz_cipher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Aug 2008, 04:26   #4 (permalink)
lonely tau
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: tank shock IC question

Hmm...

Interesting question, I think fluffwise it'd be appropriate for the IC to join the unit, but in RAW it looks like the poor IC is dead...
  Reply With Quote
Old 12 Aug 2008, 04:34   #5 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,961
Send a message via MSN to icer190
Default Re: tank shock IC question

But also if he moves within 2" of a friendly unit he must join it Lonely.
icer190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Aug 2008, 05:28   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via AIM to razgriz_cipher
Default Re: tank shock IC question

Yes but can you join a unit in your enemy's turn? That could be a problem if you had to join because then the independent character cannot move any farther that turn and a unit always moves as fast as its slowest unit so what if the unit was then tankshocked. Would you die then. I scare myself with the situations i create sometimes.
__________________
Quote:
<Wargamer[TO]> - I figure it should go boom by spirit of the rules
razgriz_cipher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Aug 2008, 05:45   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8,901
Send a message via MSN to Jeff Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff
Default Re: tank shock IC question

the RAW for tank shock say he would die. However if an IC at any time comes within 2" of a friendly unit he automatically joins them. No matter the turn.

So no, he would not be destroyed.
__________________
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Aug 2008, 06:19   #8 (permalink)
lonely tau
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: tank shock IC question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icer
But also if he moves within 2" of a friendly unit he must join it Lonely.
Ah, forgot about that, Thanks Icee.

Now I have a question, when you're falling back to you have to try and avoid your own units if possible, or can you just straight join them? And does joining a unit whilst falling back make the unit fall back too, or negate the moraleless state of the IC?

And, what if the unit cannot be joined by an Independent character? My guess for this is the model would be killed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12 Aug 2008, 15:57   #9 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 94
Default Re: tank shock IC question

In the Independent Character section of the rulebook, it states that if a IC is within two inches of a unit at the end of its movement phase it must join the unit. Therefore running from a tank shock into a unit does not mean it joins the unit. It just runs around them. If it can't get around its trapped and dies.
asianavatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Aug 2008, 16:49   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: tank shock IC question

Interesting question, but the way I see it by RAW he is destroy becasue he joins at the end of his movement turn...in the enemy movement/'tank shock' phase ally troop constitute a deadly obstacle, if he can't go around them.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eldar Tank Problems - Tank Shock Faolin Tau 21 09 Apr 2008 03:11
Tank Shock / Fall Back Question Farseer_Emlyn General 40K 23 08 Dec 2007 14:36
Quick rules question about the meatgrinding tank shock tactic. enderwiggin General 40K 5 02 Aug 2007 18:52
When to tank-shock? stealth_cat_xv88 General 40K 22 16 Jul 2005 23:37
Tank Shock question Gim General 40K 3 10 Feb 2005 18:58